Tags

, , ,

Sumary courtesy of Goodreads:

With peace finally descending on the Romanian Grey Wolves, longtime fae ambassador to the wolves, Perizada, has been given a new mission by the Great Luna. But Peri’s desire for revenge against her sister, Lorelle, burns in her heart. Further complicating matters, the great white wolf, Lucian Lupei, has been returned to the pack after centuries trapped in the Dark Forest, and it appears he is destined to be with Peri. Can she put aside her thoughts of vengeance long enough to accept Lucian’s love and complete her mission?

 

 

 

 

 

3.5 stars out of 5

Minimal spoilers ahead!

So this was a buddy read with mah gurl, Becca!
We’ve been really obsessed with these wolves from the very first book because… admit it, they’re just too swoon worthy to ignore them.

This book was about Peri and Lucien’s relationship. Now, now, if you don’t remember, Lucian is Vasille’s brother who lived for many years in the ‘Dark Forest,’ and Peri is our kick-ass high fae who has been with us from the previous books. Peri was her usual self while Lucian was perfect because yes.
Alpha old-fashioned romantic werewolf?
Maybe some of you will think that in this book there wasn’t enough Peri and Lucien, but I consider that the scenes were balanced really well. We had romance, action, and the start of a good plot that will lead to many more books about the wonderful world Quinn has created.

Maybe is a little too soon for me to have an opinion about the healers, but I can say right away that Anna, Heather and Jewel (specially Jewel) are going to be my favorites because they’re really down earth, believe in themselves, and are smart. Plus, Heather and Jewel like books so they’re like my spirit animals

I know at this point everything sounds pretty nice and peachy, so why am I giving 3.5 starts to the book instead of the usual 5?
Well, I really liked the story and characters. I didn’t even know I miss Sally until I read her first lines. I think Sally and Costin’s involvement to this installment was really nice because they didn’t get as much attention in their own books as the rest of the characters. Then Sally mentions, once again, the inner Jen stuff that makes me think of the ‘inner goddess’ in 50 shades of wanna-be-plot grey

The thing about the book is that is kind of weird the way they adress the word… Sex
Even Vasile who’s been alive for 91829171 years blushes when speaking about ‘doing the deed.’ For me, it seems pretty out of character not only because I believe Vasile and Alina have been together for many, many years but because he’s an adult and there’s nothing to really be ashamed of. If you can write bitch and ass, sex shouldn’t be difficult. My opinion, mine, is that the book would have been better without the several attempts the characters try to speak about sex because it becomes annoying and too childish.

I know Quinn’s books have humor and I loved that in the firsts four books, but there are times that jokes doesn’t function. An example could be the way Peri’s sister (who was supposed to be very evil and stuff) joked. Yeah, I know, she’s only a fae and they can joke just like any human but I just couldn’t take her seriously when she said stuff like that. Plus, sometimes too many jokes can become too overwhelming to the point it makes characters unbearable and reading tedious.

Lastly, there was a scene about a riddle and I honestly didn’t know if to cry or laugh because it was… Well, let’s just say I didn’t like it.

Other than that, I’m hoping to read more books about this author. Quinn really is a wonderful person, and I will always consider her the Wolf Queen. I’m really excited about the next one and I can’t wait to read it 🙂