25129878

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Thanks to the greed of man, Earth is dying. Climate change and human greed has wrought mass destruction over the planet, and a fraction of the population remains.

The Company Store controls the last civilization, known as the Single Nation Circle. Those outside the Circle are Outliers, outcasts and gangsters who do whatever it takes to survive.

Samuel Poe is the 18-year-old leader of the Poe Boys, the Northern Outlier gang. With resources ever dwindling, Sam knows he must be the toughest of the dogs fighting over the scraps if he hopes to keep himself and his people alive.

When Sam meets Anna Rose, daughter of Mr. Company, the most powerful man in the dying world, he finds himself in a deadly race toward resources and a new life.

Much like those of their ancestors, the choices of the two star-crossed teenagers will echo through the ages, the fate of the human race resting on their shoulders.

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)


Wow. Seriously

There are some things that are scarier than the mythical beast under the bed that will – and i truly mean this – take you into some parallel world if you leave your feet hanging off the bed – yeah good luck sleeping tonight ๐Ÿ˜‰ kay sorry being serious. The real fear is what will happen in the generations to come with the world.
H. D. Gordon paints a pretty scary sight for us. But its also a warning. A beautifully woven warning within an fantastic book.

Alright so the book ๐Ÿ˜€

First thoughts: I had never been so scared to keep reading a book, a mixture of what will happen not only to the characters but the world too. I was entranced and in awe over Samuel Poe. What a wonderful character. And such an easily, flawed man to fall in love with *.* It is rare to see a book mostly written in the man’s pov, and ever rarer in my experience to find a YA that is. BUT THIS….this was freaking fantastic! Seriously holy crap…. kay sorry i will get over the gushing – haha no i wont

Plot: This was wonderfully unique in the world of dystopian novels. For once it felt separate from classic ideas that we usually see. It felt like unique book in general. The outside world from the “structured world” was dirty, nasty and really, really, real. All and all this book wasn’t quite what i was suspecting. I am not sure what i was suspecting really but this exceeded all expectations and then some. My heart was racing out of my chest, while I was sitting on the edge of my seat just waiting to see what would happen next. I think i might have potentially injured myself swooning as much as I did because – wow. I think half my e-book was just highlights. What beautiful writing, and wonderful sweet scenes between all the characters.

Speaking of Characters…

I think I have mentioned the star of this book – Samuel Poe – OMG im in love. if it wasn’t sort of creepy but im going to pretend he is my age and i can love him without it being super creepy ๐Ÿ˜‰ okay, ill stop being weird for a moment. He truly had the soul of poet and I think that he was an astounding character. He had flaws and he was quite aware of the fact he was not the hero of the end of the story. But to me he was the greatest human being in this entire book besides perhaps, Liem and Anna Rose.

All these characters were quite amazing with their own ticks and traits that made them all come alive on the pages. I found that these characters worked well together and I loved all ranges of them. Anna Rose was quite a sweet, truly kind hearted person. She saw the beauty in saving the world, and knew the power that she could hold.

The ending:

This will keep you reading up until the very last word and scared of the outcome. Trust me keep with it! I understand the utter fear you will face but it will all good promise

or will it …..

In the end this was a masterpiece, and another winner by the very talented HD Gordon in my opinion.

