18349596

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Surah Stormsong is one of the most powerful Sorceresses in the world. She is a princess who is next in line for the throne. As someone who has lost almost everything to this world, she only wants to pull away from it and live a normal life, but when Highborn ladies start being murdered and the Black Stone-a weapon that is capable of great destruction-goes missing, she is called upon to solve the issues and return her people to a state of safety. But danger lurks inside the castle walls as well, and when she runs into Charlie Redmine, a common Sorcerer Surah met once as a child, things grow complicated very quickly. He is the main suspect of the murders, but Surah is powerless against the connection she feels to him. Time is ticking, and if she doesn’t figure out what’s going on things will go from bad to worse, and an entire kingdom will suffer for it. From the author of the bestselling series, The Alexa Montgomery Saga, comes a tale of star-crossed lovers and magic, of hope and love and loss. The greatest question is, can love overcome all?

My Review: (5 stars)

well then


Plan: Read one book, then get back to work
Whats really going to happen: Now got to go back re-read the Alexa Series, finish it – oh god the horror *not in that way but i hate ending series, HATE IT, i don;t like reading the last one if i can help it* Then come back and finish this series

Song Choice: Haven’t done this in a while but because this book does revolve a little around music here we go, “Soft Skin” by Mountain Man, “I’ll Never Forget You” by Birdy

First thoughts: Fudge. Okay I originally read the first two theBlood Warrior <– series I stopped because I was upset where it was going so yeah I am a child threw a tantrum πŸ˜„ but make no mistake, this woman’s writing is an addiction and I can’t help but come back. I came back first with Joe, now this one. I wish I had known that these books were in the same universe as the Alexa Series. I don’t think its necessary to read those before reading this but I don’t think it would hurt, and I am not sure why you wouldn’t want to. So there is that πŸ˜‰ Overall those for this book – wonderfully unique, an interesting compelling read that will keep you up late and wake you up early just nudging the back of your head.

Overall thoughts I guess?

*i was going to do this like my other reviews but i am not sure i will*

So Plot: Loved it. Again I thought it was very creative interesting read. At first I wasn’t quite sure what universe we were in because of the jeans and t-shirt reference along with cloak references within the first few pages but the story develops ad unfolds in a way that you are no way overwhelmed or completely lost. Again if you read the Alexa series first I think it would greatly help develop the universe they are in, but I also don’t think its necessary. If you are an old time paranormal/fantasy reader you will do just fine. I found this story as intriguing as HD’s other books. I loved the twist that we didn’t really want to see coming, come. I loved the relationships, the characters. The overall feelings that they give you without really needing to say anything. I thought it was beautifully vocalized. HD is certainly a master with words and creative a vivid imagine for the readers to live in.

Characters:

There were a quite a few so I will say this, I am very eager to keep reading about Charlie, Sam and Surah. Even Bassil he is a mystery to me and I look forward to what he will do in the future. All characters were amazingly constructed and seemed to develop on their own. They still have so much left in them though so I can’t wait to see where all the characters end up.

I eagerly await to read the next book
Though like I said, I started with the Alexa Series so I feel I must return to those then come back here πŸ˜‰
which is okay cause I stalked and saw that hopefully the third of this will be out maybe this year.
Sooooo plenty of time for me to get caught up

