unnamed (6)
unnamed (6)
Synopsis:
Ava has spent her life running from the monsters that lurk in the shadows, always the prey. She finally thinks she can settle down, have a normal life, and work on not being so scared of the world around her. That is until she runs into her worst fear.

He has finally found the potential family he has always wanted. All he has to do is make his little bird sing. Will Ava escape with her humanity intact?

unnamed (7)
My Review:
“He let go of her hand, shaking slightly. This girl was not magical in any way. She could not prevent him from leaving like Michael could, but she had bewitched him. Completely. “
 Do ever just feel heavy while reading a book?
A good kind of heavy where you know that if you stop the crushing weight on sitting on your chest, the feeling of just utter doom won’t go away but get worse?
Yeah
Thats how this went.


When i started this i couldn’t breath. It was like if i breathed, if i made to much noise i would disturb the book. Crazy I know, but it was so enthralling, all-consuming that I lost myself completely to the book. I didn’t know where it began and i ended. The heavy emotions evoked through the book threaten to drown you. In the best possible way of course. If you are looking for something to reach into your chest, hold your heart and decide when you would really feel pain, this is the book for you.

I am a pretty happy go-lucky kinda of person, its one of those things I like about myself 😉 and I usually like books that are going to have the classic happy ending, and books that aren’t going to consume and destroy me. For Nikki I will though, every single fucking time. I have to admit I think this is her best work so far. I don’t think this for someone with the faint of heart, or looking for a happy little tale about vampires (or you know semi-happy, or you know…happy XD) If you know the background on this book *as its a spin-off/prequel sort of thing* from the Sunshine Series you know how this is going to end. I knew how it was going to end but yet it didn’t stop me from hoping, it certainly didn’t stop me from going: omigod, omigod, omigod they’re all going to die.

Animal will force you to the darkest part of your being, it will twist, gut, and maim you. It will own you until you have finished and even then you will be captured in its story.

There is so much I want to say about this, but there is so little to say as well because I can’t give away the story and I won’t. This isn’t a happy tale, and its about finding the beginnings of love in the darkest of places. This isn’t a book you will start reading and fall for the anti-hero-hero, you will hate him, you will want to run from the deep dark mind that is Michael. It was more about surviving then it was about anything else, the hope of a life that would never really be Ava’s again. Its about breaking someone so completely that they are owned even when they don’t realize it.

So I think if that is the type of read you are looking for, look no further. This is the dark paranormal read you have been searching for. If you want to experience so deeply that you will be barely holding on, i implore you to read this.

I am seriously Nikki Rae really out done herself this time around and im still reeling from this book no joke. I will probably be for awhile now.

Overall I thought this was a fantastic read. But please be aware this isn’t some happy story about how a girl survives a traumatic experience because its dark, its harsh, and it will darken your soul

Giveaway code:
<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e29656348/” rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”e29656348″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_0xgxmmdo”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src=”//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js“></script>
Book Trailer (private now but will go live February 16):
Author Links:
