a82cd-fracturedglasssfw

Synopsis via Goodreads:

What if other worlds existed alongside your own? What if you could travel through them and truly escape reality?

Sloan and Harley Glass were born moments apart; but, despite their differences, the sixteen-year-old twins couldn’t be closer. They’ve held their tongues each and every time their mother has uprooted them—often moving across the country with little notice. They’ve learned to accept change. But what is Mom running from?

They discover they’re travelers—half-descendants of those who can traverse an entire universe of parallel worlds known as fractals. When the past catches up, Harley is kidnapped and taken to one of those distant worlds. Now, Sloan must garner her courage and find a way to rescue her sister. Traversing the worlds isn’t the hard part; it’s surviving the elements and the creatures lying in wait to destroy everything in their path.

Will the Glass sisters be able to save the fractal worlds from the kidnapper, or will everything fracture and crumble around them?

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting

Warning One: I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review and honest is what I do. Cool? Cool.

Song Choice: “Murder in the City” by The Avett Brothers, “Forgive Me” by City and Colour, “Madison House” by Christ Bathgate

First Thoughts: So honestly truly going into this I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, five different authors coming together to write one book?! Was this going to be like a co-authored book? Nah they each wrote their own section and continued on with the story being told. Well this worried me too, would the characters suddenly become a lot different from point a to point b to c to you get the point right? I think that each one of these authors did a fantastic job maintaining the same characters and continuing the plot.

Thoughts on Plot: This was totally unique, interesting, intriguing and damn this needs to be a series! Hahaha i know that is a lot to go ask but there was a lot that was pointing to there could be more, but not only that it was such a BIG idea that it needs more books! I loved the creativity here, i have never read quite anything like it. I want to say its scifi but its not quite that, and i want to call it paranormal but its not quite that either. So Sci-para that is what i am going to call it ^.^ I am so curious to the writing process of this book, it felt cohesive but it also felt like the author who was writing a certain section got free reign and took the book there they wanted to see it go from where the first author left off. I think it really made the feeling of unpredictability come through. i didn’t even try to guess what was going to happen – granted there were a few things that i figured out but for the most part I think the switching of authors made it hard to say what one or another is going to do. Alright getting away from that, this was full of adventure, betrayal, secrets, and a little romance *wiggly eyebrows* but it is a YA which is fine with me ^.^ I quite enjoyed the whole thing. So overall great adventure, unique, and fun read.

Characters:

Sloan: She was pretty awesome. I like the unrealizing hero, the one who doesn’t realize how awesome they really are. I really like how she handled situations and that obviously she was very mature for her age. I was happy to see that she wasn’t ready to rush in head first, but thought things through. I think that a twins relationship is hard to do it without it sounding cliche to an actual twin (which I am) and I had to say these authors did a pretty good job. I would probably do all these things for my twin and then some, but I was also like Harley in a sense too, i don’t tell my twin everything – there is a difference i see that – because of their upbringing but all twins have secrets even from each other 😉 I think that her character stayed pretty consistent throughout the book and through the different authors

Harley: I felt like that she was slightly immature compared to her sister but its okay 😉 I think that was a bit harder to connect with her because of the role she played in the book im not upset by this in the least because there were a lot of other characters and trying to push in a little more with Harley probably would have been character overload O.o

Diego: Ummm….uhhhhh mmmm I have mixed feelings I liked him in that he is a geeky sweet boy way but then sometimes he got on my nerves, i appreciate the uniqueness of him, he was definitely a character that you don’t see very often. Which is awesome yeah but there were times i wanted to yell at him and be like – come on!!! He got better by the end of the book truly i didn’t hate him but i am not sure how much i love him. and he has a few little secrets of discover of his own

Calix: I liked him. I was also a little off put by him for a bit of the book when we find out one of his secrets. I think he was a really good character though, he was the sexy, brooding, i am the warrior type which we all love i think 😉

So there were a few other (a lot) of other characters and they were all great. stayed consistent through the book and i would be eager to learn more about Elba that is for sure. Anyways!

The Ending: A very great ending, and while this could be read as a standalone i think the idea of this book paired with the characters just makes you want more.

