6b624-bbd

Synopsis via Goodreads:

After months of searching, Ember and her friends have finally located the Sword of Light, the only weapon capable of destroying Queen Aneira and ending her rule. This is Ember’s destiny. Or so she thought. Now a pact to save the man she loves changes everything.

In this final installment in the Darkness Series, when the truth comes to light, Ember will learn some things are better left in the dark as her world is ripped even further apart. It is no longer a rabbit hole, but a never-ending black void full of endless lies, betrayals, and secrets.

The fight for Earth has begun, and Ember will have to make the ultimate sacrifice to save millions of innocent lives and those she loves.

But this price may be too high—even for her.

My Review: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS


Let me first off saying this: This is the final in the Darkness Series. There will not be spoilers for this book but possibly – most likely – for the first three books please keep that in mind.

I hate ending series. I had having to say goodbye to characters that I have grown to love and cannot wait to see what happens next, there are some series that seem endless and we all want them to end. Then there are those books you know if the author decide to write for those characters, for that world, forever, you wouldn’t care. You would be ecstatic even. Well reader of this review, Stacey Marie Brown did that for me in this series. I NEVER wanted to see the light at the end of the tunnel, I never wanted this to end. So true to myself I refused to read this for a very long time. I can’t say that i am upset with my decision because while it might be hard for me to say good bye, i know its a 1000 times harder for the author. I just still needed to come to terms.

I needed this book like air but I was terrified. Stacey breaks the bounds and goes against the grain in her books, she doesn’t write want you want, what you expect. She gets here characters right down in the dirty, nasty, how the fuck are you going to get out of this situations. So yes I Was terrified, I needed, NEEDED a happy ending for these characters, but I know that Stacey could never give us an easy ending – and truthfully I am glad she didn’t. This is what I love about her, and her writing. I was terrified and now I am at peace.

So onto this review? Right. *nods* *and cries*

Song Choice: “I Will Be There” by Odessa, “You’re All I Have” by Snow Patrol, “Hold Me” By Weezer (i think that is more for me 😉 ) “My Love” by Sia

First Thoughts: What a fantastic ending to a even more fantastic series. You know how some series kinda flop on the end book? Not this one, this one excels, not only that but it wraps up nicely with also giving the potential for the world/universe to be used again. 😉 *wink wink* I was on the edge of my seat for most of this book, honestly if I could have I would have devoured it in one sitting but I needed to take my time, and I had a bit of a crying fest, i realize how insane I sound trust me I do. But this easily became of my all time favorite series, ever. Seriously. Stacey is one of my all-time-go-to-authors. I would read her grocery list if she would let me I am sure they would be just as thrilling 😀

Thoughts on Plot: Oh so much that has yet to come but we have to build up to it right? And Stacey never makes it super easy on her characters which i admire and adore. This is what makes good writing, fucking fantastic. I loved every twist, and turn and round-about. While I saw a few things coming there were still some I was like, what the what the what?!?!?! And the sacrifice and love in this book – shit man. I can’t even describe. The romance and love between Eli and Ember isn’t flowers and butterflies, its raw, its gritty, its real. I just could drown in this, this was unglamoured, unleashed and just truly amazing. There was so much going on but never to the point you were overwhelmed or going, like slow down ma’am. The pacing was amazing. I was wondering for so long what was going on with Kennedy, she had quickly became one of my favorite characters from the beginning I am not sure why I latched on her so tightly but I did and all I can say is wow. There is are some shockers there. Read the book you will see 😉 So overall with the amazing talent of this woman coupled with just everything this was a finale you will never forget. It will tattoo itself on your heart, and steal your breath away every time. Let me just say this one more time I was so scared, but I can honestly truly say you will be happy. While Stacey wasn’t afraid to rip out our hearts more than a few times, its bearable to what it could have been.

Characters:

Ember: As always she is this amazingly strong, feisty woman, with the greatest sense of humor, but sense of reality that she just makes you want to be her, but also be her best friend at the same time. She is a hard one to tell what to do with her stubbornness, and she does what she needs to do. She will ask for forgiveness before permission. I love her she will remain I am sure to me one of the greatest female MCs i have ever read. (i gush i know but I just freaking love these books) The characters always make the book so much more, but these characters elevate this amazingly complex and intriguing plot to a whole new dimension. So amazing alright sorry. Ill stop for a bit 😉

Eli: *Swoon – fuck-me – worthy* This man is raw, he is gritty. He is who is he and he will not accept anyone who will not accept him for all of him. He is a beast, he is loyal, he is Eli. There is no one like him, I don’t think there could ever be a match. He makes bad look good, and he makes any girl wanna squirm just a little 😉

Kennedy: Wow … I can’t go much into her because of spoilers but her time with Lorcan kind of changes here. I am still trying to decide who I Feel about certain things… :/

Lorcan: Prepare to be confused and just ripped apart

Lars: I actually really liked him in this book i mean i liked him in the last book but this idk something really changed me in this one with him.

The ending: Prepare for the tears, both happy and sad. But I promise you HEA ❤ I am sad to see this series come to an end, but I know there will be more for this universe and I am honestly excited to see what else Stacey will have for us ❤

