22931260

Summary via Goodreads:

The Elder Race was a story told around campfires. Aliens, monsters, mad men. Those who believed were called insane, but they were right. They came from space, the seas, and below the earth. Turns out they were waiting, patiently waiting all this time. For what, no one knew, until now. They’re coming for what they think is rightfully theirs, the half-breeds that are part human, part Elder.

Once The Rising began, those who were different were gathered. Separated from the life they knew, those they loved, and moved into camps where they were tested and given the choice. But for Elizabeth, there was no choice at all. They meant to make super soldiers out of them. What they discovered instead was something that no one ever expected.

Sometimes monsters aren’t the things you can’t see, but rather, they’re the weapons of your own creation. When you’re part Elder, and part human, it’s hard to see which side of you is the true hero, and which side is the monster. Everything Elizabeth thought she knew about herself and the world around her is changing, but will she be able to get through The Rising alive? Or will she become what the Government wants her to be: The ultimate weapon.

Add it here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22931260-generation-x

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)


And endings like that is how author’s get kidnapped and forced to write the next one 😉

WARNING: I was given this book in exchange for an honest review, honesty is what I do Kay? Kay.

Song Choice: “Ill With Want” by the Avett Brothers, “White Blank Page” by Mumford and Sons, “Hold On To What You Believe” by Mumford and Sons, “Drunk Again” by Reel Big Fish

First thoughts: So this was my first Desiree DeOrto book….it will not be my last


I was in awe when I started this, not only is the writing immersive, but the story is unique, engaging and heart-stopping good. The twist and turns you are sure she wouldn’t do to us, will keep you on the edge of your seat, biting your nails, and practically ripping your hair out when you have 10% left in the book and you have to leave for work…yeah totally didn’t happen…..nope….not at all. Anyhoops. I encourage any sci-fi enthusiast, nah, any reader who loves a little suspense (okay alot), a little bit of romance, a little bit (okay…a ton) of action – combat style kiddios, and not your cookie-cutter book, here you go.

Thoughts on Plot: So this I think while many Alien books have to deal with the government i think this was a book that wasn’t afraid to go real dark, and real fast. I loved the movement of the book in general, it starts out fast and when we have two different groups coming after one “Race” its automatically set up for who is going to get them first and when we move in this book, we move fast. I don’t think there was a point in this book I was thinking to myself, “Get on with it” it just moved at the speed I like. I didn’t feel overwhelmed with new information i think it was given at an even pace. The writing itself as i mentioned was immersive, I think I saw another review on how it felt like it was a movie, and I totally agree with that. I think that we are given enough descriptions that its easy to build but its not overly descriptive where you are just like..okay, okay i get it the floor has white tiles, that are made out of some type of tile ……awkward…. I enjoyed the entire book itself. It was just an overall great, fantastic read that will make you feel the feels and hope that things couldn’t get any worse then they already are….but they do. They so do. I really respect the hell out of the decisions that Desiree makes, but this isn’t a cookie-cutter book that is going to make you feel like nothing bad can never happen.


Characters:

Elizabeth: She…wow. She was kinda all sorts of awesome. I liked that this wasn’t a kinda of character that wasn’t real….does that make sense? She is handed this crazy amount of responsibility, she is young, and most of all she feels the feels. She is loyal to a fault but she loves who she loves and she will not betray them. In fact she will do almost – well no will do anything for the people she loves. And this gets her into a sticky situation. I like that she did break, we could see it, totally understand it and sympathize with her, while she broke she didn’t give up she kept going, and I think that was totally awesome. I love that she wasn’t this character that was hard as stone, just shoved everything down and would deal with it later, no that isn’t how it worked and i found it incredibly refreshing.

Micah: So I have this theory, when a book is told in third point of view, or even first and there is alternating POVs that is the guy that the girl is going to end up with, is this the most scientific/accurate theory, hell to the no. this being one of those cases. Micah was the star football player that all the girls wanted, but was friends with Lizzie first. He was sweet but I feel he is slippery. I don’t know how loyal he would remain if he loses all hope of ever getting the girl he has loved for years.

Brian: aka Brain too smart, and detached. Again he is another character that i feel is just a little to slippery for me. I think that he could go either way, which every way he deems the safest and more probable. Though i know he has emotions i think it comes down to what is safest.

Zander: oooh, when we first meet him i feel the heat, instantly. I wish that this was explored a little more, I wish that his and Liz’s relationship was expanded on, obviously i realize there is more than love at first sight, but I want to know more about it. I am curious and I am dying to know what happens. I am not sure whether to trust this kiddie cat or not. Originally I didn’t. Then I did. Now…I honestly don’t know.

The Doctor: FUCKING GOD, I wanted to murder him myself O.O evil evil bastard

