Tags

,

21740595

Summary Via Goodreads:

Vegas Hart is walking a thin line between fact and fiction, only she doesn’t know it yet. A star-gazing freak, musician and songwriter, a typical day in Vegas’ life revolves around her music, her perfect boyfriend, Gage and trying hard not to take her mother’s lack of parenting skills personally. But when a sexy professor subs for her astronomy class, the facts of Vegas’ life turn into a twisted work of fiction, as sultry visions of him and her lead her to uncover she’s not who she thought she was…not even close.

Vegas is forced to embrace her hidden identity as the physical embodiment of the Vega star, an immortal constellation and granddaughter of the gods. And although that would have been spectacular, especially considering that totally explained why she’d always felt spiritually connected to the stars, she discovers her destiny is to imprison a sinister predator threatening the immortal family she never knew existed.

If that isn’t enough, add in an undying and passionate past love that threatens her current relationship, a serious bout with memory loss, three wicked sisters spinning a future Vegas yearns to change, and a moody Oracle and you’ve got a twisted romantic tale of epic proportions. In order to save her family, Vegas must accept her divinity and make gut-wrenching sacrifices that leave her questioning everything she’s ever known.

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

 


Holy wow.

This was…


How could I possibly explain the awesome-ness that is this book?

Not sure. But I will try!!

Song Choice: “The Perfect Space” by the Avett Brothers, “True Affection” by the Blow, “Skinny Love” by Bon Iver

First thoughts: This was nothing like anything I have ever experienced. It was mythology, it was zodiacs, it was the stars all rolled into this creative, complex, and utterly stunning story. I feel almost like for us the beginning was years away, we were moving in the character’s time almost. Things we experienced in the beginning feel so far away. When the reader is moved from our world to the more fantasy, mythology world, you are immersed. Seriously…wow. If you are looking for something completely unique and beautifully written.

Thoughts on Plot: So this started out…interesting. Plagued by a dream, and the emerging of a new suspicious male…*wiggles eyebrows*, anyways. The story starts off not really slow, but it takes a bit to really get to the whole new world (yeah I sang that), and I wouldn’t say i didn’t enjoy the beginning because I did. I really did. I think overall this book was well paced, well planned, and prepare yourself for twist and turns you won’t see coming. I liked the whole idea behind this, I can’t say too much because I don’t want to give anything away. I have never once in my whole reading loving life (yes there was a life before this aspect of me – long story), have I come across the idea of stars. I LOVED IT. I wanted more of it! Now I am thrilled to see something so unique, and so amazing. The whole mystery revolving around Vegas is heartbreaking but totally amazing. It was shocking and surprising. Seriously…WOW. There is a lot that happens in this book and I think you should buckle up and get ready for an awesome, emotional ride!

Romance: I don’t normally go over this like in this aspect BUT because I am not always the biggest fans of love triangles I felt the need to address this. This was a heart-breaking love triangle. Usually it seems like the MC always leans towards one guy more than the other, and most of the time I am sitting here going…stop string male b around like an asshole. This was not the case in this book. I honestly, truly felt she loved them both, and she even admits to her faults. I appreciated that, and goddammit I would be lying if I said I wasn’t torn, because I am, I totally am.

Characters:
I am going to do a casting but I don’t do these often

Vegas:

Gage:

Leo:

Vegas: She was an interesting mix of strong, and vulnerable. She had a mischievous side to her. I liked how she seemed wise beyond her years in the earthly realm, but in the realm she belongs to be but doesn’t remember she is like a fish out of water. She takes things in stride, but also just acts like a normal human being. I really loved the many sides of her. I do so appreciate that she acknowledged her problem with her boys. I am looking forward to what holds in store for her next. I think for the most part she was a wonderful character. I didn’t agree with a few things at the beginning like her friendship with Tab, it was fine and all but I guess I was upset she didn’t try to actually help her friend from her very, VERY destructive lifestyle. Anyways, she is protective of the people she loves and she would do anything in her power to keep them safe, and she does.

Gage: I really liked in the beginning, but then he was getting a little too jealous for my likings I think. I kept i guess waiting for him to really mess up. I don’t know why. Anyways I really did think he was super sexy and, my god this man had the words.

Leo: Hmmmm…yeah i think that I am inclined to lean towards him. He was damned sexy, a warrior, and I can’t wait to see more of him. I personally think, Gage was someone separate from Vegas while Leo was a little more mixed with Vegas which once you read the book you will understand isn’t a completely bad thing, and I think was slightly intentional, but I do hope to idk see more him. I know that sounds really, really weird.

Alright other characters: they were good, I enjoyed their presence. I am little curious about two someones story but we shall see what the future holds.

The ending:

I need the next one thank you very much

