Tags

, , , ,

22431318

Summary via Goodreads:

Independent and feisty Terra Heegan is on the verge of sacrificing everything to save her family’s struggling trucking company. But, she wants one last hoorah before settling into a loveless marriage. With her sister, Lanni, Terra takes a trip into the Mountains of Wyoming to explore one of the few places left on Earth where adrenaline and wit are the only things that can keep her out of trouble…

Dragon King, Draven Taraxus, never wanted the crown. Born to a dying breed of Rulers, Draven has sat on the throne for the last 100 years, thanks to his father’s impeachment. Boredom and stagnation have left his kingdom, and his heart, ripe for the picking by a power hungry evil that has spent the same amount of time plotting and scheming to take over.

Everything is in place. The pieces have all been set and all Evil needs is one last ingredient to rule everything. The love of a human with fire-red hair and silvery eyes that will…Light The Dragon’s Fire.

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

 


This was amazing.

I can’t even begin to describe how pleasantly surprised and pleased I was with this book.

One more cryptic gif that you won’t understand how funny it really is until you read the book. Cause you should totally read this book. So amazing.

Song Choice: “Murder in the City” by The Avett Brothers, “Latch” by Disclosure, “You Are the Moon” by the Hush Sound

First thoughts: Okay, okay let me say this first and foremost. I am terrified to read Shifter books anymore, I LOVE THEM, I LOVE LOVE LOVE SHIFTERS, weres whatever. I love them. But whenever I seem to come across them its a book that is paranormal erotica, which is fine, once in awhile, but dammit I want a book thick with plot, and adventure, and yes some romance. THANK YOU MARGARET TAYLOR!! THANK YOU!!! Uhhhh I am not even going to lie going in this my first thoughts were, alright its going to be dragon-shifter “erotica” without the erotica title, it wasn’t. It was adventure, action, mystery, intrigue, it was FUCKing FANTASTIC! I loved every moment of this. I started it and had to be pried away from it. Pried. Seriously.

Thoughts on Plot: So not going to lie again, starting this out, I was pretty sure I was going to be scared out of my mind. Why? Because the first dragon we come across is literally two football fields big, and doesn’t seem to have a human form. I was like oh no….oh noooo, not please….So thank god, call me weird but I am not into seeing animals and humans getting it on, no matter if the said “animal” is as intelligent and human-istic, just no. So yeah I was a little (a lot) worried. And they were in another world!! ANOTHER WORLD!! It was insane!! I was thrown off with the fact this was more of a Fantasy Paranormal novel, I loved it! Took me awhile to get the termology down, but i got it, and I soared right through this book. I loved how it wasn’t conventionally set up where it is, lets sit and build up to the “conflict” and “problems” it was like lets do this thing, and lets do it now. Right off the bat we are thrown into action, and the whole book keeps up this way, I don’t even know how I managed to stop reading it to be perfectly honest. I was so set on reading this until the bitter end… BWHAHAHAHA but alas i couldn’t. I had to get up in the morning to go to work (and not 😉 😉 secretly finish reading it there) and I am not one of those people that is just like screw it, i will just be tired at work. So anyways UGHHH SOOOOO MUCCH LOVE!!! I can’t get over how amazing this was!! Not only does she have dragon-shifters (YUMMY) but she brought in a wide variety of new paranormals, that range from unicorns to chimera and if you don’t know what that is look it up 😉 OR better yet read this book 😉 And if you know me, you know I love my unusual paranormals! So the writing? Fantastic! Okay so I do have to say this, at first i thought the villain species choice was a little cheesy, but i grew to really respect the hell out of her decision, and now I am so in love with it, its not even funny.

Characters:

Terra: So originally, I thought this book going got be for her and her beau, and I was pleasantly surprised when it included Arin, and Lanni. I will get to them soon. But Terra was the “older” twin, in all senses of the word, really. I mean Lanni had her moments and i will get to her in a moment, but Terra was strong willed, feisty and all around an awesome character. She was willing to give up everything in order to save her family, so when she goes on one last trip with the sis, she gets everything she deserves, in a good way. I liked her a lot and I thought she was a very interesting character. For some reason though as I tend to do, I “fall” for the side/underdog. To me Terra was no the underdog in this situation, Lanni was and therefore, she almost automatically became my favorite twin.

Lanni: So she is the younger one, she parents dotted, and loved on Terra more, she got it better. Which surprised me to learn because it always seemed almost like Terra was resentful for the role Lanni got so i was expecting to be the other way around. Lanni is the reader, and she has a hot tempter but I really liked her. While she has a hot tempter i saw her as more of the “gentle” twin, and I really like gentle characters, I don’t know why i do, but i usually always side with them. I am very excited to see where she is headed, in the book 😀

Draven: Big Alpha male type, who is a dragon shifter, what isn’t there to like? I really enjoyed him and I am excited to learn more about him ^.^

Arin: Now he is VERY interesting to me. I really liked the idea of him, and i am interested in his past, (of course i am super interested in him, how could I not be, he is interested in Lanni XD) anyways. I look forward to continuing his story as well. ^.^

So the ending: I can’t even recall how many times I saw people were pissed off with the cliffhanger at the end of this. I mean yeah it wasn’t nice, but it also was NOT the worst i had ever seen, seriously it was pretty tame. And if i wasn’t so infatuated with this series anyways, I could wait if I had to. Luckily I don’t have to the second off is out, and I bought it half way through this one 😄 hahaha NOW im off to read more 😀

 

