22374874

Summary Via Goodreads:

A Sweet New Adult Paranormal Romance series, featured in USA Today.
Kristia Tostenson prefers Earl Grey to Grey Goose and book clubs to nightclubs, but when she transfers from her one-stoplight town to Cardiff University in Wales she falls in love with Ull Myhr. Her new boyfriend isn’t exactly what she was expecting. He’s an honest-to-goodness Norse God — an immortal assassin fated to die at Ragnarok, the battle destined to destroy Asgard and Earth. Kristia’s crazy visions are the only thing that can save their realms. Her orderly life just got very messy.

My Review:

4.5 really…im on the fence… ughh yeah 4.5 

Song Choice: “I and love and you” by the Avett Brothers, “The Girl” by City and Colour, “Tisbury Lane” by Mae

First Thoughts: When I started this I couldn’t read it fast enough, I powered right through probably the first good 3/4s of the book, then I started to lose some momentum. *sigh* I should explain, I like when things are always in motion. I like my books to be heavy, heavy on the action. Unfortunately for me this book didn’t have quite the type of action I was so desperately looking for. I get it, I get it, I do that this is the first in the series, that it is okay to start a series a little slower, but when we have pending doom hanging over our heads, and you introduce, fairly early on this “dark” character I want more of them. So while I lost some of my momentum, I thought this was a fantastic read and I cannot wait to continue on. Right so there is my condensed review, lets move on the to “big gunsss….”

Thoughts on Plot:
So I really liked the idea of this plot when I read the summary, of course I kind did a skim over, so I just read “Norse God Boyfriend” or something like that and I was like GIMMIE. I love mythology, while my heart lies mostly with Greek, I will take Norse any day. So imagine my great surprise on this. It was the telling of how two peoples fall in love. They both have their own little secrets, and time will reveal them, but I enjoyed the development of their relationship and the learning of the secrets (even though we already know ;)). I think that for a beginning of a series it really sets up the “saga” all and all which its supposed to do. I am definitely interested in seeing what might happening next. Like i mentioned above really I think the book moved amazingly well in the beginning, I couldn’t stop my addiction to this book. I just wanted to gobble it right up, but near the end I was wondering a little where it was going? Where was the main conflict going to be, and there was conflict along with some new surprises so I HIGHLY recommend you keep going to the end, totally worth it.

Characters:

Kristia: She was our MC, she was the outcast in her very, very small town, her parents felt very breezed over and I sort of wished we had known a little more about them. Kristia made it pretty clear though that she was raised by her grandmother who had died a couple years before this book starts I enjoyed that it started off running, that we weren’t waiting to learn about all these minute details but we were practically on a plane to Wales. I thought that Kristia was a beautiful mixture of youth and wisdom. She was young that was obvious, but she was also wise, and brave. She went to another country on her own for 9 months (well that was the plan 😉 ) anyways I found that she was willing to stand up for what she believed in. She didn’t swoon over Ull when he made a mistake and be like, well its okay. I enjoyed that she stood up for herself, and really did fight for what she believed in… i said that okay. So overall good character, really enjoyed her.

Ull: Sometimes he seemed older for his “age” because of the way he talked, other times he seemed so innocent that I was like…*giggles* I think that there is a lot more that we have yet to see from this scarred warrior. I really am interested in all sides of him and I feel like in this book we only got one side of him, the loving and caring side. For me i felt that he honestly, truly felt love for Kristia, yeah sometimes i think he was more into it than she was. Part of me wondered though for a bit if this love was more for what was “supposed to be” I dk, Like i said I think they have a lot of growing to do together. I really hope more of Ull is exposed ^.^

So there were side-characters but I don’t do them as individually as I use to. I really did enjoy them and I thought they were unique in their own ways.

The ending: I wants more!! (good thing the next one is out…right? I think so.

