Tags

, ,

20890250

Summary Via Goodreads:

The remnants of the United States of America have been divided. From five enormous, technologically-advanced cities, the Greaters rule over the Lessers.

In the Lesser village of Orchard, things are not as perfect as Abby Kelley thinks they are. When the apple harvest draws near and the Greaters’ engineered fruits become too much for one village to handle alone, reinforcements from neighboring villages are called upon.

Having to choose between her best friend, whom she has no romantic feelings for, and mysterious newcomer Crew, Abby finds herself in the middle of a harvest that she had no intention of becoming a part of. She becomes involved in a situation that threatens the strict rule of the Greaters, and just might give the Lessers hope for a better tomorrow. But, can she help the Lessers without losing Crew?

 

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars (more even)




It’s been a long, long time, since I have read a book in one day, even probably longer still that I stayed fully awake until 2am reading said book. I can’t even began to tell you how much you NEED to read this book. Do yourself a favor, and do it. Seriously. Just DOOOO ITTTT

Song Choice: “We Might Be Dead by Tomorrow” Soko, “The Way That I Am” by Ingrid Michaelson

First thoughts: Holymygoodness, okay so honestly going into this, I knew a little bit about it, cough i knew it was a dystopia cough that was it. I was never expecting this. This was…fantastic. Not only was the story beyond engaging, fast-paced, never a dull moment here, but the writing, OMGOD THE WRITING, fabulous. Did you know that Casey Bond is a ridiculously amazing writer?! She is. This was my first from her, and definitely will NOT be my last. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Back to the book though, yeah I got hints of Hunger Games with the different cities, and the main city, sure but it was twisted and done in a Casey fashion that I didn’t care. I was so engrossed in the tale that she was spinning (which I might add, I did not see coming!!! <— seriously if you know me that is HUGE, a lot of times I call things miles before the book even gets there).

Thoughts on Plot: Alright so dystopia. The world is pretty much wiped out by a plague, there is the Lessers and there are the Greaters. And me being me, is disgusted by the system and I want to destroy it myself, the whole time I am thinking, why does it matter? You aren’t really living, living the way you are, but must separate myself, this is all they know. Alright moving on. I loved the world-building in this book, it was wonderful, it felt so right. Like okay how do I describe this without sounding insane. It was seamless, there was none that moment you are like wait what? Like you can’t quite get a grip on the world the people are living in. None of that, to me the WRITING, OMGOD THE WRITING WAS AMAZING, I am not getting over that, ever!! Anyways I enjoyed the *wiggles eyebrows* romance. I really bought that for Abby she didn’t love Ky like he did her. (whoops!) Though really you find that out on page on. Anyways I really loved the pace of this book, when I thought I had things figured out I was wrong. When I thought i finally had it, I was still surprised to find out how wrong I was!! Silly me!! I think this will keep you in suspense, and keep you gripping onto your kindle, e-reader, paperback, whatever format you have it in until the very end, then cursing Casey for not having the next one out NOW, BECAUSE I NEED IT NOW…. i mean… no seriously, Casey give it to me now. please and thank you. All in all, I can’t get over how much I loved this book. It was the perfect mixture of adventure, of kickass heroine, romance, dystopia, and just fantastic writing.

Characters:
(i don’t do this all the time)

Casting!! (these are my picks!!)

Abby:

Kyan:


Crew:


Gray:

About them!!

Abby: So wow, what an awesome female lead. She was amazing, really strong, really kickass. The best thing about her though that I really liked was that she at first was worried about her little world. Then it evolved, she was beyond mature, and I suppose in the world she lived in she would have to be. She was selfless, so very selfless how she was not a hero in her little village earlier was a surprise to me to be perfectly honest. In the end it was for the greater good, for even better for someone else. Her selfish desires came second. I really loved her spirit, and her just, her. I think you need to read the book too really experience Abby but she is totally, totally worth it!!

Kyan: See he was nice, sweet, and a fun character to banter with, but I feel like there is more for him that we still need to see. I think he will be an interesting person, but I feel like he has the heart of a rebel in him. A man who wants to do good because its what needs to be done.

Crew: What a little mystery. I can honestly say at first I was head over heels for this man, and damn if he doesn’t same some super swoony worthy things, but for reasons i cannot discuss in public he is on probation with me.

Gray: I can’t really go into depth about him unfortunately as he arrives at the end of the book, but he is very protective of Abby and that means to much to me. And I would be a liar if I didn’t say I was in love with him and totally on Team Gray. Seriously.

There were a lot of other characters, the villains (yes plural) were amazingly written, I couldn’t be more disgusted with them!! And ohh just amazing, amazing characters.

The ending: Cliffie? Maybe a tad. Does it leave you wanting more? HELL YES IT DOES. I highly recommend this book. HIGHLY recommend it. So sosososo amazing

