Tags

, ,

21957948

Summary via Goodreads:

COMING JULY 24!

Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and she doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky Southern girl and to fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is and not what she’ll be.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head or her heart win the battle?

 

My Review: (4 out of 5 stars)

I quite enjoyed this. A new idea, and very intriguing ^.^

First off: I was given this in exchange for an honest review (thank you so very much for asking me Stormy) but with that said I am going to be completely honest, and yeah 🙂

Song Choice: “Without You” by Dillon Francis, “Joy” by Ellie Goulding, “Beautiful Lie” by 30 Seconds to Mars, “Steal His Heart” by Emily and the Woods

First thoughts: So I really enjoyed the concept of this book, when Stormy messaged me about the ARC review, I saw the synopsis and I was like, hell yes!!! Let’s do it! And I am so in love with the idea, it was so awesome, i thinks he did a wonderful job of creating a new “universe” with such interesting paranormals as I am going to call them, as a general term, but they are Magis (magii? whats the plural form here 😉 okay whatever moving on) I enjoyed that it was a CLEAN NA (when i say that i mean no funny business ;), but its got characters that are in college hence NA). I thought for a debut author, this was very, very amazing ^.^ so before I get carried away in first thoughts as I do lets move on!!!

Thoughts on Plot:
Original, definitely. While I felt that the ideas were a little out of order…um how do I say this right. All the information was there but i feel like we were missing a lot it too. That doesn’t make sense let me try again. Okay so I was under the impression that Amelia mostly knew what was going on, but she didn’t. So she knew a little and what she knew, we know (obviously Becca, jeez). The point was that we learn with her, but things are so messed up, people are lying all the time its hard to know who is telling the truth, who we are supposed to trust. I think there were a lot, alot of players brought into this book but we still didn’t get a clear view of who the real good guys are, maybe that was what Stormy was going for, which would be awesome, but usually in things like this there is a group that we are hoping to root for. I think with this being the first in a series that we are just being introduced to everything so there is time to expand on it which I am eagerly looking forward too, so yeah Stormy *cracks whip* get working on book two ;). Alright now that i am done torturing the author, back to the plot. I thought the pace was a little off for the beginning but it got into the right swing after a while and damn, damn, damn I want more. I so want more. I liked the ideas that were presented, I liked that Stormy went in different directions then i would think the book would go.

Characters:

First I am going to do something I haven’t done in a while and don’t do very often….CASTING!!! YAY!!

Amelia:

Micah:


Aiden:

Now onto them!! (there were other characters but I felt this were the “main” players

Amelia:
Unfortunately I think for me this is where I had a hard time. :/ I wouldn’t say she is a bad character at all, but her and my personalities clashed….alot. She is one of those people they don’t really seem to have a filter, and I don’t know in very character form, it was almost like she didn’t realize what she was saying until she had already said it. Does that make any sense? Yeah so while she is allowed tantrums because hell she is having a lot dropped on her, but I think that I was in disbelief how quickly she got mad sometimes, it was just too soon in my opinion, but hey she had a lot on her shoulders. I think though she is a very loyal character, that is very completely selfless.

Micah:
So I don’t trust the blonde men in books. Why? Because im psycho that is pretty much why. I didn’t quite trust Micah throughout the book but I did start accepting his presence, much i think like Amelia did. In the end though I think he did truly care about Amelia and especially Bethany.

Aiden:
Damn, holy hot damn. I really, really liked him. He has a few secrets of his own, his past isn’t happy but he falls and falls hard for Amelia. I liked that he had moments where he was all like, “me, man, you, woman, rrawwww” (aka alpha male-ish), but he was also very sensitive and lays it all out on the line for Amelia, I think to be honest he was my favorite character ❤

I should admit I have a weird (VERY WEIRD) sort of …crush on Rhi….please don’t judge me.

There are side characters, like Cole, Bethany, Julia, I don’t want to get into them specifically but i think they were really well developed characters with their own personalities and traits. Though I am a little suspicious of Cole, still. I realize that i am weird. I know.

The ending: 😐 <– thats my, cliffies aren’t nice and I want more now. like now, now. (so yes i will continue on with this series.

Add it to your Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21957948-bound-by-duty?ac=1

