21529488

Summary Via Goodreads:

PMS is no fun for werewolves.

Forget the full moon, female werewolves shift uncontrollably at that time of the month. But after years of practice, teenaged Terra learns to squash her wolf, which allows her to flee the repressive village where she grew up.

A decade later, Terra realizes she has an even worse problem. After hiding from her wolf for so long, she is now shiftless, unable to change back into canine form.

When her father shows up with an ultimatum, Terra knows she’ll have to learn to shift or return to her place in her family’s pack. Will Wolfie, a nearby alpha who’s more wolf than man, be a stumbling block in Terra’s quest to maintain her freedom?

As Terra struggles to escape two werewolf packs that seem poised to suck her back in, the real question becomes — does she really want to stay away?

 

My Review: 4 out of 5 stars



Still trying to figure out that epilogue

hmmm…

Song Choice: “Something in my Heart” by Royksopp

First thoughts: So while I did enjoy this, and THANK FREAKING GOD, I have been dying to read a werewolf book forever – seriously I am like an addict if i don’t get them every so often i go through withdraws, there were somethings that were just…odd? I will get to that, while I felt that way, you might not. And considering it seems most werewolf books I have come across (and there are many) they mostly fall into the erotica section. Which is fine, but after awhile a girl wants more plot then sex. And thank you so much for this book. Overall though i thought this was a fun, light read, perfect for werewolf/paranormal lovers a like ❤

Thoughts on Plot: So I suppose this was my biggest problem, there were things I thought were plot holes, they weren’t it comes together in the end, so before you stop look up into space, narrow your eyes, going…wait, what? No that’s not right, its okay keep reading on. So there is that, and I guess maybe I was put off by the title, and a little bit by the summary, I thought she was ALREADY shiftless, but that is not the case, she is sort of transitioning into it. I thought that the big twist at the end, was like WOW, WHAT THE WHAT!!! And I wish it had been expanded on, even brought into the book earlier so it could have been intertwined with the story more. The action was all building to the end which i thought was going to be…so much more. Unfortunately I had my biggest issues with that. And it would spoil if it i went into detail but I will saying this: anti-climatic, which maybe I would have been okay with if the beginning was more action-y, or even the father wasn’t portrayed as “horrible” as he was. I am going to put this in a spoiler for those who are just dying to know what i am talking about (view spoiler) I wish though, as well versed I am in werewolves, and I am have i read from werewolves, that are the very traditional werewolves, – half man half wolf, changing on a full moon – to weres like these, there were a few terms thrown out there that I wish was better explained when they were first introduced. I wanted more background on bloodlies? (is that right?).

Characters:

Terra: I liked her for the most part, I understand all of her reasonings for things, but I guess I was really confused on her reactions to Wolf. The book was in her POV, so we saw things how she saw them, and I never once saw anything that – as Terr claimed – or tried to convince herself – that Wolf was more wolf than man. I didn’t see it… I still don’t to be perfectly honest. So i don’t understand why she wanted to believe that so much. But otherwise I enjoyed her character. She was strong, very strong, but she also had another side to her. A side that was considering the worst, but i mean who doesn’t once and awhile, its the actions we follow through that matter. So anyways moving on from that, she had a hard childhood, and i think she grew up well despite her childhood.

Wolf – sorry i just calling him Wolfie makes me think of calling my dog by a cutesy name. Anyways i really liked him. He was an Alpha wolf, but he wasn’t overbearing in fact he was really sweet. It was sort of strange at first but he really grew on me. I really do like him ^.^

The father: I was expecting more from what we get from her memories…especially at the end…I just feel like nvm spoilers(view spoiler)

The ending: I’m still really confused (view spoiler)

