21684808

Summary via Goodreads:

The second book in the Holy Trinity Trilogy:

When Trinity escaped a worldwide apocalyptic plague in the arms of Gerik, a Scandinavian Gypsy, she never imagined they would be soul mates . . . or what that even meant. Xan showed Trinity that love could save her from the seemingly unbreakable ties she had to Gerik . . . or so she thought.

After a brutal attack on camp and being abandoned outside of the wards, Trinity, now possessing her own – and very unstable – magical powers, is left to her own devices surrounded by Skin Eaters and all other dangers of the unknown.

Now, Trinity is alone. Having no idea where her husband, her soul mate, or the Popa Clan are, Trinity is forced to discover her powers on her own.

On a journey full of self-discovery, chance encounters, unwelcome news, and enlightenment, Trinity is fighting for survival in a world where the only thing certain is death.

 

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

 

I’m not sure I want to continue. I am happy, and content.

but…..

Okay yeah i am just going to leave you hanging like that.

Warning: This is the second in a series, there will not be spoilers for this book but there may be spoilers from the first book that i will not be able to skip over. Cool? cool.

Song Choice: “I Don’t Love You” by My Chemical Romance, “Ghost of You” also by My Chemical Romance, and for funnizes: “Drunk Again” by Reel Big Fish

First thoughts: I wanted to say that I loved this as much as I loved the first book, which for the most part that is true but I had such a problem with the characters in this one that I couldn’t bring myself to honestly say that I was completely in love with them. I respect the hell out of the fact that they aren’t cookie-cutter, flawless characters, but at the same time there were many qualities that forced me to hate them as well. *shrugs* So with that said I will go into further depth about that later. This was fast pace read, and I started this morning and I didn’t want to put it down until I finished, so obviously it was addicting 😉

Thoughts on Plot: So this book answers my when did this world become apocalyptic, but it seemed like the world went to hell pretty damn fast, but alright i am still curious where the Skins (yes we have changed their nicknames) came from. And that prologue, and epilogue WTF?!?! ughhhh come on! i need more than that. *rolls eyes* Honestly the more i think about it the more it makes me want to go ahead and read book three. Here is where my biggest problems lie though, characters, not only that, but the situations everyone was in. I am all for novels that don’t make things easy for the characters, i get it, i love it, but this was hard for me. Last book I had fallen head over heels for Xan, you can check I was in love with him. He was hurting me in this book but i never stopped loving him, not once. But it was hard seeing how he had to live, and then how Trin was living. Honest to god, these books have becoming about Xan for me, but I don’t want to go in to depth about that yet since I will in characters. So this book was in both Xan and Trin’s pov, it had a bit of action in it, most of it to be honest i felt was like them coming to terms with the situations they were in. I am still left with a lot of the same questions I had in the first book, which doesn’t bother me because i was enjoying the rest of the story.

On to the characters!!!

Characters:

Trin: um…what? okay I get it she doesn’t know the whole story on what happened to Xan, this is communications at its worst because i mean they can’t really call each other up and ask what the hell is going on. I get that. I get that she was trying to move on with her life as she wasn’t sure she would ever see him again. I am not sure there were a lot of things in this book that really, really had me pissed off. A lot of it is stuff I can’t talk about because of spoilers. But here is the thing, she was separated on her own for awhile, and I get it I do. okay i can’t do this (view spoiler)

Xan: okay again I get it. He didn’t know, he doesn’t know the whole story and i totally understand, but damn man did you have to go and break my heart every possible way but I still loved him. I still love him. I can’t let him go. For some reason this book has formed its way around my heart, and its his story, its becoming all about Xan for me which is such a problem I know, but my poor beautiful Xan. And the way he grows from the beginning to the end of his book, I forgive him for what he had done because he didn’t know, but at the same time it hurts… (view spoiler) Xan was everything.

Gerik: You want me to be honest? I hated him in book one, I found that he was kind of like a child. He sure said some pretty things in this book but I can’t bring myself to care. I can’t find myself falling for him even thinking about to everything he had said. Actions for me speak louder than words, and his actions proved to me that he did care as much as he claimed to. In book one all we get is him trying to claim Trin but never tries to learn about her, never tries to make her more than she was, like Xan (*swoons*) In this book? Honestly I had to remind myself that he was 30.years.old. to me i kept thinking of his actions as more like a 17 year old. I just couldn’t wrap my head around his age and how he acted. I don’t know maybe its just me but I reallly, realllly don’t like Gerik. I don’t. I don’t think i ever will.

The ending: Well the epilogue was cruel. But I am also content and I don’t want anything to ruin the bubble I am living in so I just don’t know. And there are so many unanswered questions….

