Tags

, ,

20982578

Summary via Goodreads:

Art student, Olivia Banks, was living her dream at an exclusive school when everything came crashing down around her. Now back in the small town she grew up in, she’s forced to spend her senior year at her old school where she’s known as the ‘freak’, all because she’d rather focus on her painting than the trivial drama of high school. But things aren’t the same as they were when she left. And the one thing that is turning her life upside down the most just happens to be the resident bad boy, Colt Morgan. Her senior year was supposed to fly by so she could pack up and leave again, but what happens when there’s suddenly a reason to want to stay?

*This book contains strong language and some sexual content. For mature audiences.

My Review (5 out 5 stars):

I don’t think my heart will stop racing….I don’t think this is healthy.

First warning: I was given this in exchange for an honest review, as an ARC and all that ness ❤ And I gotta be honest in my reviews ^.^

Song Choice: “Done All Wrong” by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, “Sail” by AWOLNATION, “All of Me” John Legend, “I miss you” Blink 182

First thoughts: Okay so i should warn everyone that I am not a big contemporary fiction reader, and to be honest it takes authors like Janelle who I love everything they have produced in the past, to get to me even read an ARC contemp. I don’t accept them because I fear that I will get bored and then i will feel like an ass for not finishing. That was not the case here, far from it. I practically read this in a day and i loved every moment of it. This was amazing. Janelle made me fall head over heels for all of her characters, as she always does, and haha its good to know she can write a completely just bad, gross character like Reagan, for reals. I shudder just thinking about her.

Thoughts on Plot: I loved this. So I thought it was going to be college, I was wrong it was high school, please don’t let that turn you off from the book, when Janelle Stalder writes main characters that are so immature that make me want to punch someone in the face, I am sure that hell will freeze over. There are characters that are the embodiment of high school but its needed, and only furthers to make the story better. Okay stop with characters becca that comes later! The story, so while I don’t read a lot of contemporary fiction i think this was brilliantly original. I enjoyed that it was a story about two people trying to figure things out, they were trying to find themselves, and figure out their first loves. I mean they were passionate, they fought, they didn’t just give up. Ahh so awesome. I was really excited it wasn’t lets start them right off the bat dating and dealing with the landmines of high school. I really enjoyed how this was a really character driven book. I do enjoy action, i do but this was so amazing because it was an action love story. It wasn’t lets fall in love because we have to, its because we chose too, and lets show the progression. This was unbelievably sexy, and not in the lets just shove sex in your face, nah, it was the little things, the words that were said.

Characters:

I love Janelle’s characters always.

Olivia: I really liked her. I liked her because she felt real to me. She had all the thoughts, and self-conscious issues all women have had once in their life- and don’t you DARE give me those rolly eyes and say, well i never did because you would be down right lying! its okay, its a part of life, its when you over come them and realize how kickass you really are that matters. And I think that Olivia while lived in self-conscious land with us, she also never wanted to validate herself to be accepted, she was happy enough with who she was, she grew, and she was a totally amazing MC.

Colt: Honestly? I felt this was more of his story than it was Olivia’s. I think Olivia was the supporter here and that wasn’t a bad thing at all. I think Colt had the most growing to do in this book, I think he saw himself in a way that only degraded himself. He wasn’t a bad guy, he just had tough choices and a life that wasn’t so easy. Everyone was so alright with seeing his tattoos, and oh so sexy piercings that they didn’t see him. Well someone did 😉 Olivia. Everyone was okay with just judging him, and only pounding into him that is who he always would be. But there is so much more to him. LOVED. LOVED HIM. and talk about knowing how to treat a woman ^.^ 😉 Alright I’ll stop being gross.

Ella: Adored her. She was all sass and i cannot wait to see what she has in store for us. For reals ^.^ hehehe I feel like she a tornado that can’t be stopped.

The ending: 😐 beautiful. ^.^

