18242939

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

Tessa McCaide has a unique talent for getting into trouble. Then again, it isn’t easy for a girl with visions to ignore what she sees. Luckily Tessa and her family are leaving California and moving halfway across the country, giving her the perfect opportunity to leave her reputation as “Freaky Tessa” behind.

But Tessa doesn’t realize that kissing the wrong guy in her new Texas town could land her in far more trouble than she ever imagined. Like being forced to attend St. Ailbe’s Academy, a secret boarding school for werewolves.

Even if the wrong guy did accidentally turn her into one of “them” and doom her to attending the weirdest high school ever, Tessa can’t help her growing attraction to the mysterious Dastien Laurent.

When vampires attack St. Alibe’s and her visions pinpoint an enemy in their midst, Tessa realizes that boy drama and her newfound canine tendencies might just be the least of her problems.

My Review (4.5 out of 5 stars):

I love me some good werewolf bookness

First and foremost this for me is more 4.5 ❤

Song Choice: “You are the Moon” by the Hush Sound, “The Mating Game” by Bitter:Sweet

First thoughts: So I really loved this, its been awhile since i got to enjoy a prominently werewolf book that wasn’t um….very adult ;), don’t get me wrong I enjoy that once and awhile but I mean come on, just sometimes I want to enjoy the budding love, the adventure of the story. Anyways so this was a pleasant reprieve. The writing was superb, very smart, very entertaining, I guess I don’t know I think that there was just something that was bothering me, I haven’t quite figured it out but I think i know. I really that was a super personal thing, and I think this book was fantastic.

Thoughts on Plot: Okay so one HUGE worry I had when i started this was the synopsis, I was very, very, concerned that when it said because a kiss her life was turned upside down, that, a were kissed her and she become one that way – yes there was a book that I can’t remember the title of, is how it could happen and, personally i don’t like that because it limits the story before it begins, you can’t have a “human” MC, and a werewolf “mate” together if they can never kiss without fear the “human” MC would turn. So I am beyond glad that was not the case here. It was almost same rules apply, you get deeply scratched, or bitten you are turned, YAY! I really enjoyed the originality of how the situations were dealt with in this book. Don’t know what I mean? What I mean is the MC didn’t automatically accept the guy as her “fated” mate, and was all good with it. There was adjustment periods, though things moved “slowly” as we read them, not that the pacing was slow, not at all, what i mean is… *sigh* im not doing this right okay. She has a week at her new school before all shit breaks loose, I thought it was a little fast but since this was setting up for a series i am okay with it, but there was a lot covered, but there was never a dull moment. I enjoyed every twist and turn. I really did think this was original, and the way things were presented were completely original. So back to the writing, very smart, I enjoyed the voices of the characters – which i will get to soon. I just enjoyed this book a ton. I would HIGHLY recommend it for paranormal readers.

Characters:

Tessa: She was awesome. A really smart, very likable character. She is an introvert, rightly so as she gets visions when touching things or people (anyone read the Mythos Academy books, yeah like Gwen). So anyways moving to a new place is a blessing sort of… and everything is about to change, she deals with as i would expect someone could, as well as she could. I admired her and i liked how she dealt with a lot of things. She was the underdog that had a hard enough life and it never gets easier for her and she deals with everything i think beautifully, I really enjoy that she didn’t just melt for the guy like *snaps fingers* like that. She was a very strong MC and i really did like her.

Dastien: I don’t know how to feel about him. He is missing through half the book and when he is there, he is hot and cold, he is sexy, he is bossy, he is annoying, he is stupid. I started off really not liking him which i think was the point, was for us to grow with Tessa and her liking of him. I think we are still growing which i appreciate because this is a series and I hate when we hit the climax (not that one) of a relationship in the first book.

Meredith: I really, really liked her, I honestly want more from her. I wouldn’t mind a spin-off series for her and I know something is going to happen between her and Dono – I wanna see that. Someone needs to make that happen.

That is all I am going to talk about, there were a lot of characters, i really did enjoy them all. but i am being somewhat lazy.

