Tags

,

18845233

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

All she wants is a home, but can she find one…UNDER DIFFERENT STARS

Kricket Hollowell is normally not one to wish upon stars; she believes they’re rarely in her favor. Well versed at dodging caseworkers from Chicago’s foster care system, the past few years on her own have made Kricket an expert at the art of survival and blending in. With her 18th birthday fast approaching, she dreams of the day when she can stop running and find what her heart needs most: a home.

Trey Allairis hates Earth and doubts that anyone from his world can thrive here. What he’s learning of Kricket and her existence away from her true home only confirms his theory. But, when he and Kricket lie together under the stars of Ethar, counting them all may be easier than letting her go.

Kyon Ensin’s secrets number the stars; he knows more about Kricket’s gifts than anyone and plans to possess her because of them. He also knows she’s more valuable than any fire in the night sky. He’ll move the heavens and align them all in order to make her his own.

When everything in their world can be broken, will Kricket rely upon love to save her under different stars?

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

Baw-da-Baw

Amy Bartol you never cease to amaze me. Seriously.

As one of my favorite authors, this book was just…wow. I wish I hadn’t taken so long to read it but. Wow.

Song Choice: “All of Me” by John Legend (yeah totally didn’t listen to this song the entire time I read this book….but I totally did), “No Sound but the Wind” by the Editors.

First Thoughts: I LOVE everything Amy puts out – so there is my disclaimer, and this book was not a disappointment. Actually I kept expecting to see parallels to the Premonition Series only because well I am psycho, and this was a whole another thing all its own, like its not unnatural to see some similarities with author’s stuff, and I was so excited that this wasn’t a love triangle, or in the premonition series’ case a love…pentagon? That’s five right? Anyways but the point is I loved this book. I didn’t even want to go to bed last night – not even like pretend not want to, I had to force myself to sleep, all the while thinking about this book, and my first thought this was morning was: Let’s get back to it!

Thoughts on Plot: I thought this was insanely imaginative, I think that sci-fi is a wonderful genre but people seem to steer away from it a bit more because you have to get into either new alien worlds, which you have to create from scratch verses, using just Earth as a base, or you have to come up with technology, but not only did Amy do all these things, aka create a whole new world (yes take a moment to live in the Aladdin moment I just created), but she made new words, and whole new culture, it was fabulous. The pace as always was spot on, and beautifully done, I was just in awe, going like hey jaw get back here! I loved every moment of this book, i was on the edge of my seat, i was swooning, i was in complete just awe, seriously i am not going to get over it. It was definitely a book that keeps you up all hours of the night and you aren’t even sorry about it the next day, I mean how can you be, when you have such an amazing MC female, and male. ^.^ i will get to them in just a moment. This was action-packed, this was adventured filled, it was interesting to the core. Just wonderful writing, wonderful story, AMAZING CHARACTERS ❤

Characters:

Kricket: Might be my new love. She is coming a close second to Ember from Stacey Marie Brown’s books, which I think i said I would turn for her. OF course i would have to convince her to turn for me as well but i think I could do it. Anyways Kricket, by no means had an easy life, and while it has harden her some, i found her hope for a better life awesome, it was great she wasn’t one of those characters with a dark past but also have a chip on their shoulder that they refuse to let go. Kricket takes things as they come to her, she is a Chameleon – you will get the reference if you read the book. And while she claims she is stone, she is so much more. There is love in her, and friendship, she is all sass, with the smartest mouth ever. I love her witty remarks, and again it comes right now to showing it as well, never once does she call herself, sassy or witty, its implied and I LOVE IT. so much. SOOOOOOOO MUCH.

Trey: TALK.ABOUT.SWOON.WORTHY. holy my goodness. just wowizers. Get your fanning hand ready ladies you will need it 😉 This is one sexy cookie and I just wanted to gobble him right up. He is quiet, static, all about getting the job done, but there is so much more to him. I think out of everyone he really starts to see Kricket, there are times I don’t think he does see her properly. I think if you look closely enough you get to see Trey fall in love with her and if that isn’t the coolest thing in the world I don’t know what is.

Jax and Warya? (am i spelling that right? im too lazy to check): LOVED THEM, SERIOUSLY LOVED THEM ❤

Kyon: Dangerous little boy isn’t he. I say never trust the blonde, but that is me and my weird ass philosophy.
So the ending: Pretty good, no real cliff-hangery thing here, but I definitely want the next one. ❤

