Tags

, ,

14759015

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

From the author of the Alexa Montgomery Saga, comes a book that will take you into the mind of a genuine psychopath, the lives of six ordinary people, and the world of a very special girl named Joe.

Joe is seemingly an ordinary college student. She works, studies and reads. But in between these activities Joe has a gift that promises to add a dose of color to her life at any given moment. Joe sees things before they happen. Bad things, and the worst thing she has ever faced is just around the corner. Someone is planning a massacre at the college university that Joe attends, and the only person with a hope of stopping the psychopath is her.

Oh, the beauty of foresight. More like a curse. Joe has four days to figure out the mystery, make plans to take down the psycho, and save the lives of people. People like you and me. Ordinary people.

 

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Yeah I went Adele on your asses.

Anyways…..

Song Choice: “The Ghost Of You” by My Chemical Romance, (cause I think i am funny) “Bang Bang” by Nancy Sinatra, “Dumb” by Nirvana

First thoughts: So here is the thing, this is my second HD book, and damn did she hook me with the Alexa Series and I still need to finish that saga, and part of the reason i am not is because i know its over and I don’t like that….im weird what can I say? Anyways she didn’t disappoint, though i definitely didn’t think she would. Ahhh this was so good. I will admit though that I think she took a big risk with this book, the content may not offend someone, but it also might. for some reason i feel like I have to state that. I didn’t mind I knew what i was going into. But it might be hard for peoples to read.

Thoughts on Plot: I really enjoyed the style of this book, i thought it was very original and well crafted. While I am usually the one screaming how dare you use so many different POVs this worked, PERFECTLY. Not only did HD do it well, just craft wise, but in general, I see what she was doing with the story and I LOVED IT. Seriously, i think it evokes a lot more emotion for the readers, suddenly its not just people being shot up, its Eric, Joe, Mina, John, etc, etc, etc. I personally really enjoyed reading from the Decider’s POV and i thought it was both the creepiest thing ever, and the most brilliant. Alright so not only that but the plot, there is so much more that can be done with these books, and I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOO happy that HD decided to make it a series, because I thought i read somewhere (maybe not) that this was supposed to be a standalone. Which i suppose you could read it that way, but there is so much that can be done with it. I am glad that HD is continuing with Joe’s story. Kay as a soon to be graduating college student i am not going to lie this book freaked the hell out of me. I mean we all have to think about it at least once, there has been shootings at schools, they happen, college campuses? Yeah that is scary shit. And this book takes place over a weekend, and that is really hard to wrap my head around sometimes, but again so well done that it didn’t feel like we were rushing, or dragging so much in one day that it couldn’t possibly actually be what the 16 (18-19 😉 ) hours that we are awake? Anyways, while the mystery shouldn’t really be there, because i mean we know what is going to happen, there are hints of mystery and all that jazz. This book i guarantee will keep you on your toes

Characters:

So here is the thing I mentioned there are A LOT of POV changes, I am NOT going to go through each character, why? Slightly because i am lazy, slightly because it is 1 am, slightly because I don’t want to giveaway certain aspects of the book. Cool? Cool.

Joe: I am not a hero. That is what Joe tells us, constantly, and she always – yes SHE – tries to sway me otherwise but I don’t believe her. A hero isn’t always someone who runs head first into save people, sometimes they are the people who stand up when its really needed, when they do what needs to be done even though its not pretty. And I think Joe would hate me for believing she was some type of hero, but i can’t help it. I LOVED her as a character, well rounded, interesting, and flawed. I love, LOVE, LOVE, flawed characters, why? Because they are more real, they are more relatable. Anyways I really, really liked her and i can’t wait to see what more adventures we get to see from her ^.^ OH OH i loved reading about her history and I am interested in seeing if anything else happens with her parents.

The Decider: I mentioned before I thought reading from his POV was both creepy and awesome. It was. Its rare we get to read from the “villain”‘s POV. this was really well done and yeah i kinda wanna stop talking about him because i am sort of freaked out by him…

Michael: Well, well, well I am interested in what might happen here *suggestive eyebrows* *wink, wink*

Kay the ending: So i suppose if you wanted to call it quits on the Joe Knowe Series you can. I don’t suggest it. I think this is totally awesome. It was more leaning towards contemporary with hints of “magic” or “powers” which makes it more magical realism to me. *shrugs* but if you are looking to dip your toes into the paranorm i think this is for you

