Tags

, ,

19332798

 

Summary via Goodreads:

You must betray your heart and walk amongst the darkness in order to find the truest light. Opening her eyes to an imposing prison of complete darkness, Kasha is accused of possessing powers and abilities she had no previous knowledge of until the moment she comes face to face with herself while meditating. Haunted by memories strung together by lies and deceit, she soon discovers that maybe her beloved grandmother kept a few secrets she hadn’t been aware of. Secrets that could be her salvation… or her undoing. As she struggles to control her newfound powers, only time will tell if they will be enough to help her decipher who has imprisoned her or what they want from her. She must search for the answers and the freedom she so desperately desires. Could a handsome guy who vows to help her get away prove to be the man of her dreams… or perhaps her worst nightmare? Not knowing who to trust, she must find a way to escape before she pays the ultimate price and finds herself taken by the darkness.

 

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

 

oh see this?

That is my face right now.

Yup i even turned into a crab that is how crazed i am right now.

The saying, “I NEED THE NEXT ONE RIGHT NOW” comes to mind. But for reals. I need the next one now”

*screams gibberish for about fifteen minutes*

Alright. Okay, I am cool. I’m cool, yo calm down.

Song Choice: “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)” by My Chemical Romance, “Come As You Are” by Nirvana, “Sigh No More” by Mumford and Sons

First Thoughts: I thought this was excellent. I think that it did a very interesting twist on the idea of telling a story. Its one thing calling the book Taken, but since it was the running theme, i really just enjoyed the whole thing. It was interesting seeing a book that starts with someone already captive, and ohhh it was just so freaking good. All of it. When i started this book I wanted to stay up all night reading it but since i worked in the morning, i had to put it down, and it was stupid enough not to download it before i left for work so i was DYING to get my hands on as soon as i could. And damn, damn, damn it did not disappoint.

Thoughts on Plot: so i already made some mention on how i thought this was original. I – if you know me at all, you know that i LOVE LOVE LOVE when books start off running. Well this did, and it started in the oddest way and i loved it. It captured me right away and i had to know how it ended. And god freaking *breaths in, breaths out* I need the next one *eye twitching* now. There are still so many things left to be told, so much left in this series that i am DYING to get my hands on the rest and i cannot wait to see where Felicia takes this but I think i have a few ideas on what might happen and DAMN I NEED TO KNOW IF I AM RIGHT! (i am totally convinced that i am right). Anyways so i don’t really remember the summary to this book, so i am going to say this and hope that i am not giving away anything. This book is about Kasha and her time as she is being held captive. While you think this book will be all torture and that fun-ness there are ways around it and I loved it. I really really was excited to learn new stuff but I feel like we are still in the dark which gives the other books more to build upon as well. So anyways just awesomeness

Characters:

Kasha: She was while a strong character she did have her weaknesses which i didn’t mind because i think it made her a well rounded character, a more believable character. While i understood there were certain reasons her emotions weren’t everywhere i guess i was expecting more a stinking feeling from her more often. anyways, for the most part though she was a really smart character if that makes sense, she really thinks things through. i think she could have been a little more demanding but i think she also realized the more she knew the more danger she would be in so that would be counter-productive so maybe it was mostly me wanting to know more. Either way good character, and i enjoyed her POV.

Kaden: *narrows eyes* i know your secret. I know it. Anyways soldering, sexy god….and now i want to watch Angus, Thongs, and the Perfect Snogging…..yeah my brain is odd


anyways yeah there wasn’t a whole lot on him only because i think we are going to be finding out a lot more about him as we go along in the series.

Graven: Sexy… he is a bit of a mystery but all will be revealed. I felt like out of all the characters we could and couldn’t trust he was the most straight forward and i was willing to trust him the most. Anyways yeahhhhh i don’t want to say much about him because i don’t want to give anything away

There are a bunch of other characters but i don’t want to again give anything away so i am not going to talk about them separately, but all good characters, same with Kasha, well rounded, and good separate personalities.

That ending: are you? *breaths in and out* lets not talk about that.

