Tags

, ,

unnamed

unnamed (1)

 

Sun Damage Synopsis:
Life wasn’t what Sophie was expecting, so why should death be any different?
She’s come back from swimming between the two, and every problem she left is still there. And then some.
There’s the human world, where she has a brother on the verge of ruins, band mates all set to go on tour, and people she thought she wouldn’t be seeing for a long time showing up.
Then there’s her new world, where she’s seeing and hearing things that should not be heard or seen. Where Myles knows more about her than she could have ever guessed. She still doesn’t know exactly why Michael is tormenting her, but somehow, everything is connected.
The monsters are closing in on all sides and the question is, will Sophie be able to defeat them before it all ends?
Raffle Copter:
My Review: 5 out of 5 stars


I’ve decided goodbyes are harder on readers than they will ever be for the authors. I am allowed to say this. Because we have to say goodbye to these characters for potentially ever, we can revisit them in the pages that were written, and join them on the same adventure. The author though, she/he has all the answers, all the time to revisit and join her/his characters on “one last adventure” in dreams or so be it. So let us prepare to say goodbye to Sophie and Myles, an uncommon, intriguing, couple that will leaving you remembering what it is to really love. It’s not pretty, it’s not all rainbows and butterflies and some really good sex, it’s so much more. No allow me to step off my soapbox it’s pretty high up there so give me a minute. \

“The last son of the night is “Colorblind” and we get to it too fast. It’s harder than I thought it would be. Most of the tour I was either distracted by my own problems or just didn’t remember shows we played. Not that I’m here, back in my own world, only thinking about the words, only concentrating on moving my hands against the keys, I don’t ever want to leave again. I make every note count.” 
To me this is Nikki’s goodbye and its beautiful.


So Now that I’ve done all that lets start this review – BECCASTYLE, yes I am making that a word, don’t judge me. Okay judge me.
Nikki Rae has a tantalizing seductive way of writing. Making you so twisted when you step back you have wonder…Am I the monster?

First Warning: This ARC was given to me in exchange for an honest review from the author and that is what I am going to do, be honest. I would also like to point out that it was stated that things were subject to change.

Second Warning: This was a final in a series. If you haven’t read book one and two, please don’t read this review, I promise not to spoil this book, but there are no guarantees to book one and two they are fair game :p

Song choice: “Falling” by Florence + Machine, “My Love” by Sia, “All Our Endless Love” by The Bird and the Bee

First thoughts: So…wow. I guess that is one way to end a series. There was a lot that we still have yet to have learned in this book, surprises that I am not even going to pretend I knew that they were going to happen. Oh also that thing you call a heart – go ahead and dump that bitch right now, she is will just break a couple hundred times 😉 probably by the end it will be mended though 😉

Thoughts on Plot: So both books same thing, Michael. How is he going to ruin our lives again, I mean Myles and Sophie’s lives….anyways….There is a lot of dealing with Sophie and Myles’ issues, and like I said we are going to find out quite a bit in this book. Like what? I can’t really say but we are going to learn why Michael is so scared of the beautiful Sophie. So the pace was pretty good, I was trying to slow my own need to finish because I knew when I finished I would be “finished”. I wasn’t ready for that shit. I did almost cry at work… woman not cool, I rarely cry at home, but making a girl cry at work…not cool, not cool 😉 Anyways I guess the best thing I can say is, be prepared to learn lots, be prepared to say goodbye, and be prepared to feel alllll the feeelllllss.

Characters:

Sophie: We leave book two…at *eye twitches* a horrible spot. Sophie is about to go through a huge huge huge huge huge huge change. In this book I think she takes three steps back at first, then near the end she runs about 10 miles ahead. She does in the end grow into herself again, and I think it was beautiful. I really love that Nikki never takes the easy route; I mean it would be easy for her to forgive and forget, the past is the past, until it’s not anymore though. I think that a big part of this though was she was starting to walk, truly on her own.
Never Fear Myles is there here!

Myles: Oh my god. Never have I read in a guy’s POV and felt so comfortable, and just thought: YES. I loved reading as Myles in the few scenes that we get for him. It was always apparent how much he loved Sophie but I don’t know this just really solidifies how awesome he really is. Wow. Such a fantastic character that I just adore.

Jade: Poor Jade :(. He had so much he had to deal with in this book as well. I am though glad he wasn’t the brother that made one appearance then disappeared, he had some of his own growing to do in this book and I think in the end he will get there. ❤

The ending:
What’s important is that it goes on. 

Update: Nikki e-mail the ARCers and told them there was a slight change in the end…all remains the same for me, my heart broke into a million pieces, and i am not crying right now, and it was a beyond beautiful ending. It was their ending ❤ 

So I want to put down every quote that I highlighted but then I would be giving you more than half the book so that isn’t possible.

Read on my friends, you are going to have a book hangover after this.

Book Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcVb_cZXswk

