18162472

 

While most seventeen-year-old American girls would refuse to let their parents marry them off to a stranger, Robyn Mason dreams of the mysterious McKale in Ireland, wondering how he’ll look and imagining his cute Irish accent. Prearranged bindings are common for magical families like her own, however when she travels to the whimsical Emerald Isle she discovers there’s more to her betrothal and McKale’s clan than she was led to believe.

What starts as an obligatory pairing between Robyn and McKale morphs over time into something they both need. But one giant obstacle stands in the way of their budding romance: a seductive and deadly Fae princess accustomed to getting what she wants—and what she wants is McKale as her plaything. Love, desire, and jealousies collide as Robyn’s family and McKale’s clan must work together to outsmart the powerful Faeries and preserve the only hope left for their people.

(YA Urban Fantasy, Romance, Magical Realism, Irish Folklore)

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

This was delightfully refreshing ❤

Song Choice: because I have to, “If I Ever Leave This World Alive” by Flogging Molly, “Don’t Find Another Love” by Tegan and Sara

First thoughts: Well I am a Wendy fan – I love the Sweet Series and I was THRILLED to hear about her indie release, and I have to admit when I first started it I was a little cautious, an arranged marriage? One that the girl wasn’t bitter about – Becca-ethics say: What the hell, man? But then I stepped back took a bit of break and had a chat with myself – no i am not crazy…well not too crazy I suppose 😉 anyways – I looked at from this perspective: This is all Robyn knows, her parents had an arranged-ish sort of marriage and they were beyond happy with each other. So all and all I got over that, and quickly found myself loving all the quirky, new, original parts of this plot. It was WONDERFUL. I high recommend this get on your to read list, and just get right under whats up next to read.

Thoughts on Plot: So I mean who reads a book about Leprechauns – I should say who writes books about Leprechauns because I mean, their short? We (and yeah i am going to totally stereotype all of us booknerds together – deal with it) want tall, bulky guys, who have more abs than they know what to do with right? Leprechauns are wee little folk, with pot’o’gold right? Right? Sort of. There is a little twist here, and I can honestly say you will be pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed the way the fey was portrayed in this book – sure I love the romantic, aka new take people have been taking on the fey, but Wendy stuck with the original folklore, and there is nothing wrong with that, in fact, it felt more original to me than anything else. Because this wasn’t a story about the Fey, it was the story about who they effect, no not the humans, but the humans that have magic, the Churn? (i hope i spelled that right), and the Leprechauns (Chauns). I found it sort of degrading at the end, on how submissive the humans with magic, and Chauns had to be, but I also totally understood it, and I respected the hell out of it. See it (TEEHEE PUN) this way, life isn’t perfect, we don’t get everything exactly the way we want it. That is the same in this book it doesn’t sugarcoat or try to make things perfect. I loved the sense of “realness” it brings to the actual plot. All in all, I found myself reading this non-stop loving the pace, loving the characters – don’t worry i am getting there – and loving the ending. Part of me feels like there could be more. The other part is very content with the way it ended. Very content.

Warning: You won’t find insta love here, we see them grow together, we see them fall and it is BEAUTIFUL.

Characters:

This is where the book had some of the most refreshing moments, and some of my favorite aspects.

Robyn: She was our MC and not quite the dainty delicate flower, who is really a badass underneath, nah she is an Amazon of a woman 😉 teehee i feel I have the right to say that as I was always the tall girl as well ;), anyways Robyn if I remember correctly is almost hitting 6 feet here, its a daunting thing being so much taller than all guys, its bad enough we all have deal with insecurities but having to think your man will be literally half your size O.O well damn. Hahaha, I actually really loved Robyn, she was very mature for her age, and in all reality she was doing duty but also trying to make the best of the situation given to her, while others *cough me cough* might have tried to rebel this idea of a arranged marriage she takes in stride knowing all the consequences if she doesn’t. But again she doesn’t do anything bitterly she tries to make the best out of the situation. She is such a funny, awkward girl that I can’t help but love her. She is unbelievably brave, and doesn’t let anything hold her back. She proves herself over and over again, she is not just a woman. She is a woman… I hope you are getting the difference between the two otherwise this was an awkward moment for us all 😉

McKale: He was the most refreshing thing ever I think. Here was the reaction I was suspecting from Robyn, he wasn’t all gun ho for the arrangement and seems to fight it in his own way for it a bit. It was obvious that he wasn’t too happy with the idea, and can’t honestly believe that Robyn was. I was kinda all sorts of excited to see a male MC who wasn’t all, cocky, charming, and well stereotypical male MC, he was quiet, introverted, and dare I say it? Shy!!! If you read the Sweet Series and are expecting a Kai keep going sweets, his guy is a sort of different hot – hot none the less though. I really loved the change we got see in his character, i loved, loved loved it ❤ for reals. So MUCH LOVE.

Side Characters: I don’t normally do these as often as I use to, but I felt these characters were very important and deserved to be talked about

Cassidy: She is Robyn’s younger sister and is all freedom and fun, while Robyn is responsibility and a tad more serious. She was a fun loving character that had a lot of growing she did herself in this book which was awesome! Its rare to see a “side” character grow but I think we really saw it in both the side characters, and watching their love grow and flourish was a beautiful thing, and its not all happy, rainbows and butterflies. So I really did enjoy that as well ❤

Rock: He was another fun loving character and one I worried a little bit about but there was something about him I knew that I could trust him. I really did enjoy his fun loving attitude and I am so glad to have seen how he turned out ❤

The ending: though i sort of addressed this. It was lovely, and part of me wants more, another part of me doesn’t. I think it ended enough that I would always be satisfied but the book nerd in me always wants more 😉

