17315544

Summary via Goodreads:

“You’ve owned me from the moment I walked into that music room. You’ve wrapped yourself in my heart and mind. I can’t get you out. I don’t want to.” ~ Rafael Van Rees

Sophie Fisher’s life is on fire. If she’s not ducking around corners or slipping out of windows to escape the debt collectors her father’s death has left knocking on her door, she’s dealing with her rebellious, fifteen-year-old sister, Lilli. And, as if that’s not enough, Rafael Van Rees crashes into her life—literally—bringing with him a past the public has no idea of. Can she unravel his mysteries before he unravels her, or will his presence finally force her to face the demons she’s trying to outrun?

Rafael Van Rees prides himself on being in control of his destiny, music and women. As far as he is concerned, his past is a black cloud in the distance–until he meets Sophie, that is, and his world spins out of control in more ways than one. He knows the darkest sins and secrets eventually reveal themselves, but when it comes to Sophie, he’ll stop at nothing to protect her from his past. Even if it kills him.

**Mature Content Warning** 17+ for language and sexual content

 

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

:O <= jaw is on the ground. This.Was.Killer.

Warning: I received this as in ARC in exchange for an honest review, and that is what I do.

Song Choice: “The Story” by 30 Seconds to Mars, “You’re All I Have” by Snow Patrol, “True Affection” by The Blow, “Falling” by Florence + the Machine

First Thoughts: I gotta tell you I don’t read a whole lot of Contemporary Fiction, its not because I am against them or anything, I am just more drawn to the sci-fi, paranormal, fantasy stufff. But Damn, damn, damn, this book had me hook line and sinker right away. I loved this. Loved it from page one to the last page. It was spectacular, there was enough “action/adventure”, mystery, and romance that I couldn’t pull myself even if i wanted to. So yes I totally recommend this for all readers around – especially if you are a fan of contemporary romances you will LOVE THIS, no doubt in my mind.

Thoughts on Plot: Holy sexual tension. It’s almost right off the bat, and I love it. So over all, this book was told in two different points of view, and I have to admit usually when this happens i still think the book “belongs” aka the story is for the girl – just how my apparently very sexist mind works XD, anyways…but for me. I think that this book belonged more towards Rafe than it did for Sophie I mean they had a pretty good equal amount of time, and backstory, and what nots, but for me it was more of Rafe’s story. Anyways with that said, let me go on more about the plot before I start (and probably never stop talking about Rafe) So like I mentioned I don’t read a lot of contemp. fiction but I think this is even a little different from most, its set in Vienna, and the main characters both are in the opera world which is crazy awesome, but don’t ever think that takes away from their bad-assery because it doesn’t. This have to deal with two people who have such difficult past, and their past are coming to bite in the ass – a little bit literally 😉 *suggestive eyebrows* Anyways there were a few things I was going O.O whoa, a few times I was going *fans self* other times I was pretty sure my heart was going to race out of my chest. It was just over all an amazing, amazing read ❤

Characters:

(I don’t always do these)

My Sophie:


Rafe:

About them:

Sophie: I LOVED HER. She is definitely not what I was expecting, well I shouldn’t expect anything other than a very strong willed, amazing, totally kickass MC from Cecilia but still. I love that when I found out that she was an opera singer, she still shocked me. She has a piercing on her lip, wears combat boots, and drives a motorcycle, yeah she screams awesome-ness. Anyways. There is more too it, also she is stubborn as hell, very strong-willed like i mentioned before, and she doesn’t let the world beat her down even though life hasn’t dealt her an easy hand. She does the best that she can and excels. she doesn’t let her mind fall head over heels for a pretty face aka Rafe she makes him work a little. She really was an amazing character I loved her ❤

Rafe: *fans self just thinking about him* Hot, hot, hot man. He is perfect mixture of Alpha male, but also still not so alpha it feels like he is claiming a prize rather than loving a woman. And trust me, he knows how to love a woman 😉 There is a lot, A LOT of history that we go through with him and every time my heart broke a little but I also respected the hell out of him because as Sophie rose above, so did Rafe and he did become such a better person in the end. I loved him there are so many sides to his man be prepared to be shocked, wowed, and falling head over heels in love with your newest book boyfriend – well you are going to have to fight me for him first 😉

The side characters: I loved them all and um Cecilia – we are going to have a chat about when Hawk and Dani’s book is coming out because I need it like yesterday 😉 haha ❤ xoxox

The end: It was a good ending for them ❤

