12570845

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

When her home is attacked by murderous vampires, 17-year-old Alexa is forced to leave her mother for dead in order to save her sister. She soon learns that she is the last known member of an elite race of supernatural Warriors, and is thrust into a world full of vampires and werewolves who all seem to regard her as some sort of savior. Meanwhile, Alexa battles a monster within herself that seeks to gain control; a monster that seeks blood.

The hidden city she finds herself in appears perfect, but Alexa’s instincts tell her that all is not right within its walls. When she is asked to attend a school of fighters, whose exams consist of gladiator-style competitions, she must decide who she can trust among the smiling faces. And, when she meets Kayden, a vampire she feels undeniably drawn to, she must decide if she can trust herself.

 

My Review (5 out of 5 stars):

So I guess the biggest question here is: Why the hell did it take me this long to read this?! For reals….

Song Choice: “Mama” by My Chemical Romance, “Bang Bang” by Nancy Sinatra, “Glory and Gore” by Lorde

First thoughts: Like I said before I am not sure why I waited so long to read this. This is a couple of my friends’ favorite I can’t understand why that wouldn’t be an indicator to read this. But alas I didn’t until now, and let me tell you, the writing: superb, the story: awe-shocking, the characters: to die for. In all honesty what are you all doing reading this review, – go, go buy this book read it in one sitting and just sit back when you finish and go…damn I need the next one.

Thoughts on Plot: So I really liked this. So much it was original, but also had a familiar feel to it, I could really get into it because I felt like all the information that were given wasn’t done so throw it your face then run away without you does that make sense? It was done so fluently that I was just going, alright, alright moving on. I need to read more, and more and more and more and more and more and more…then some more. haha. We have a main character who is a “paranormal” which was a whole new idea – a Sun Warrior – which no she doesn’t have the power to burn like the sun, nice try though 😉 I really liked this concept and idea it was interesting and fresh. I wanted to know more about the history of the paranorm I suppose, but that is the crazy part of me that loves paranormal more than i should admit hehe. Anyways there were “types” of vampires I don’t want to say vampires because that seems like the wrong thing to call them, so as the book calls them Searchers and oh shit…see this is why i had new words I can never remember how to spell them XD one second….Brocken… I suppose a part of me was wishing there was a bit of a better definition between the differences between Brocken and Searchers i mean I saw the difference don’t get me wrong i am not stupid, but I guess i thought they were the same “race” (cough vampire cough) but yeah i guess i was just curious. WHATEVER doesn’t really matter. And then there is my favorite Wolves!! YAY. i mean…no i mean YAY! I luv the wolves…anyways. So I really *cough hated cough* the class system sort of thing that was happening in the book but that is nothing new for me, and I am so damn excited to see where this series is heading there was a lot of introduction in this book – well duh its the first in a saga (which is four books) and I thought it did an amazing job of both being informative to the reader and introducing us to a whole new world….did you have just have an Aladdin moment because I did. Anyways off course again bad me…and also this book still had its own action that we weren’t left going….boorrinng just info, info, info. SO MUCH LOVE. UGH CAN’T GET OVER IT. Okay so there was action, mystery, just plain awesomeness.

Relationships: Now usually I don’t talk about relationships but I felt this book deserved it. I totally and utterly respected what happened in this book. When we first keep Kayden (LOVE THAT NAME – curse my friend who stole it from me and named her kindle that before i could name mine…O.O awkward) okay so when we first meet him instantly attracted, and while i thought that was going to be it, and we were going to start our long-lived romance i was so wrong! hahaha Oh i love and totally respect H.D. for what she did here. Totally fucking awesome :D!! While Alexa is drawn to Kayden and i mean how can you not be? She doesn’t immediately go: OKAY I LOVE YOU NOW! She tries to keep her distance, and I really don’t feel like she never cheated on one guy or the other aka Jackson (WOLF YAY) and God forbid i ever take the vampire’s side but that might actually happen for me I don’t know I love Jack I do but the chemistry isn’t there and to me i think this was a purposeful decision for H.D. (at least i am going to choose to believe it is 😉 ) so awesome, sososo awesome

Characters:

Alexa: Fucking loved her. Seriously. Ahh she was the awesome mixture of just totally badass, but also relaxed and not “i got a giant chip on my shoulder, hear me roar” she was mostly really levelheaded and she was passionate, and loyal to those she deemed worthy and I find that a very admirable. She while a Warrior tried only to fight out of necessity and tried not to fight because she got kick and giggles out of it, of course we all have a dark side…yeah okay cheesy but deal with it :p…so anyways there is really no way to put how awesome she was, unless you read this book and you will just understand. She was witty, had the most hilarious traits ever – like laughing at horrible, inappropriate times, which i can totally relate to, and always having a sassy comment even if it was just in her head. I just really enjoyed how unique and an overall well rounded, and amazing character she was

Nelly: I…*scratches head* I know that we are supposed to trust her without a doubt in our minds, she is Alexa’s younger sister, and I get that i really do, but there is just something that I feel like i can’t quite trust her as much as i know i should. I am not sure why but there it is. But overall I don’t know i just kept thing Nelly was a lot younger than she actually was.

Jackson: He was the sweet, funny one. I think that he might be hiding something as well though :/ which concerns me and maybe that is another reason i was so resistant to falling for him. I mean i always fall for the Wolf…always… hmmm, anyways he was a rock for Alexa and for that I respect him and i do truly hope he doesn’t get hurt in the end.

Kayden: Give me a man with an accent, and a body like a Greek God and you got me hook line and sinker, only there was more to Kayden was he looking for Alexa from point one, so while we don’t get a whollllee lot of alone time with him I know beyond a doubt that is he a good guy and one that I really can trust, though i hated some (most) of his decisions I also in a sick way see why he did them and I cannot wait to see more from him.

The ending: *eye twitches* I wasn’t expecting that… yeah i am going on with this series and with the style HD has going on here I have a feeling she just got herself a life-long fan. 😀

