perf5.250x8.000.indd

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

Even though her father is running for President of the United States, Grace St. Claire is as normal a girl as they come. She’s clumsy, shy, and an outcast among her peers. She even manages to nearly die in a freak accident in front of the entire school. But when Grace survives a vampire attack she quickly learns that she is anything but ordinary.

There’s something about human Grace that has all the supernaturals around her going crazy. Her best friend’s brother suddenly wants to date her. Her worst enemy has sworn to protect her even against her wishes. Someone with very powerful magic wants her dead, and the vampire that attacked her has developed an obsession with making her his eternal mate.

In order to survive—and not as Count Dracula’s undead bride—Grace dives head first into the terrifying world of the supernatural. She teams up with a charming but mysterious warlock who strolled into town causing trouble and spouting stories of a Prophesy and Chosen One that looks exactly like Grace. Together they must figure out why Grace is different, who wants her dead, how she’s connected to the Chosen One, and who they can really trust.

 

My Review: (4.5 out of 5 stars)

4.5 stars

how I felt finishing this

[image error]
*giggles* but seriously. What the hell. GIVE ME MORE. AND GIVE TO ME NOW.

First Warning: This is a second in a series but deals with characters from a very different part of the world, though one of my FAVES from book one shows up *does a little dance* And I don’t think there will be a lot of spoilers for book one in this review, but just in case ❤

Song Choice: “Don’t Find Another Love” by Tegan and Sara, “Drunk Again” by Reel Big Fish, “The Once Happy Heart” by Belle Mare

First thoughts: So I really liked book one and when i found out that this one was dealing with a whole new set of characters I was like…huh? After reading a page though I was hooked. I have a soft spot, aka LOVE, clumsy, witty, funny MCs and I think that is what really hooked me at first but this was so cool filled with a lot of action, a lot of mystery, ALOT, ALOT of hot guys….I mean.. no I really mean that. Seriously I stayed up until 2am trying to finish this but eventually I had to give up unfortunately, only to wake up, roll over grab Kale (kindle) and start again 😄 So yeah I was a little in love with this.

Kay thoughts on Plot: I already said this but it was fulled with a lot of action and a lot of mystery. There was a lot going on in this novel and I highly recommend reading book one before even thinking about starting this because quite frankly, we are thrown into the paranormal world fairly quickly and things just really just go go go. I really enjoyed the pace of this book, I swear to God i was addicted to this book. I didn’t want to put down for anything. I mean really who NEEDS to eat, go to the bathroom or function outside of books? I think you can all agree on that one 😉 Anyways so this was really cool, I really liked how we started off pretty quickly, and there was a lot of unknowns for awhile. There was a lot of betrayals in this book, at lot of highs and lows, which I think worked really freaking well with the over all idea of the novel and what with one of the main things… that I can’t talk about 😉 spoilers. Anyways so I really love the overall interactions between the characters and the overall problems that were dealt in this book. I felt the bigger issues were lightly touched on which helped develop the idea of this series, and while this book was learning more about Grace and how she acted, it was nice to see her on her own, and I cannot wait to see where this series goes. SO DAMN EXCITED.

Characters:

So my beef really with this book has to deal with the relationships between characters, they were really hard for me to try to figure out, unfortunately Gracie seemed a little wishy-washy at times so it was hard to tell how she really felt about people, there was supposed to be a lot of hate between her and Ethan that sometimes I just wasn’t feeling. Other times I just KNEW they would end up together but then not either….(I am not giving away anything i swear you will have to read to figure out what craziness i am talking about XD) anyways… on to the characters themselves, there were quite a few in this book.

Gracie: As I mentioned earlier I have a very softspot for uncoordiated, clumsy, witty MC, I don’t know why I just LOVE THEM, and Gracie was no exception. I honestly fell in love with her as our main gal right away, she was such a compassionate person, but I can see where some people might become annoyed with her, she was overtly nice, and since I am the same way I can relate so I didn’t care. She really put everyone above her own needs which to me makes her kickass, and amazing. I love how much she cared, and how much she really felt, it seems most authors want to stay away from the MCs that really FEEL to much *cough cough tears* but it was a nice change and I really, seriously, truly loved Gracie there is no way around it. I really just connected with her, I felt for her every moment, I was always rooting for Gracie.

Ethan: *narrows eyes* Its hard to explain how I feel about him since the book was told from Gracie’s POV, she “hated him” though i am not completely convinced of that. For most of the book he was just a bit of an asshole to be perfectly honest, he wasn’t nice to Gracie, he was entitled and none of this is in the sexy, oh he is just brooding, dangerous male sort of thing, he just was. I didn’t really start to care for him until about the last half of the book and even then i felt that I don’t know… I trusted him but that is about all i felt for him, then i felt sort of sad for him at the end… anyways…

Russ: YEAH RUSS IS BACK!!! he was one of my favorite characters from book one and I was super pleased that he was back, and wow what an entrance! While Russ was, Russ-like most times he took him a bit to get there, and he is different from book one, he has grown, and he is a bit more bitter than before. It broke my heart when I realized though I don’t think he will ever give up Dani. *heavy sigh*

Preston: HOLY HOT WEREWOLF. That’s all you need to know.

Cynthia: I hope to see more of her i really do. I think she really truly was one person the book that cared about Gracie.

That ending: FUDGE-R-RONI, I AM PISSED. GIVE ME MORE. NOW NOW NOW
seriously.
now.
thanks.

