17911250

Summary Via Goodreads:

Fire In The Darkness, Book #2 in the Darkness Series
Paranormal Romance

***This is NOT a YA Series but a New Adult(17+). Sexual Content and Language.***

It’s been four weeks since Ember Brycin witnessed what her powers are capable of. The Electrical Current Storm has turned Seattle, Washington into a natural disaster zone. The death toll is in the thousands with countless others homeless and hungry.

And Ember is the one who caused it. Something she will have to live with every day.

Those people who were unable to escape either turned quickly into gangs or live in shelters. Ember, on the other hand, can’t do either. With a price on her head and a Dark Dweller on her ass, she is constantly on the move. Both Light and Dark are hunting her for their own purpose to use her as a weapon or a pawn in the war between the Unseelie King of the Dark and the Seelie Queen of the Light.

Em needs help but doesn’t know who to trust: Lars, the mystery man Torin told her to find? Torin, the Seelie Queen’s personal knight, who has sworn to keep Em safe? Or Eli, who wants to turn her over to the Unseelie King, but whom she has an undeniable, intense connection with?

No matter what she chooses she will probably lose—her life or everything and everyone she loves.

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

First off: Percentages are lies.

Second off: This is a second in a series. So yes there will be spoilers from book one there is no way around that, no there will not be spoilers for this book if there happen to be some they will be
a) hidden
b) i will warn your ass
c) a lot, i will warn you a lot, not to look unless you want the book ruined or you have already read it, or you happen to be the author herself.

Song Choice: “All i want” – originally by Kodaline but I love the cover by Shannon Saunders, “Explosions” by Ellie Goulding, “Dark Paradise” by Lana Del Rey, “Too Afraid to Love You” by The Black Keys and i going to stop myself because i can think about a 100 more 😄

First thoughts: HOLY FUDGERS. (i am trying to swear less) This was…well explosive, amazing, heartbreaking, awesome, wonderful. I am just in like shock i think still from that ending. God damn. That is one way to end a book sorry sorry getting ahead of myself. Alright so we are going to find out that what we think we know as the truth, its not, and when you think you got it right, you are so very wrong trust me. don’t even try to figure this out because you won’t. So many new surprises, so many new revelations, so many more new questions to be answered. You are going to be in for quite a few hundred shocks.

Kay Thoughts on Plot: So God seriously this book has overridden my mind, its consumed me. How am I supposed to go on? Ughhhh fine, fine, fine. So we leave book one with quite a nasty little cliffie, but me being the weird ass that I am always taking breaks between books in series I waited a bit, why I don’t know. But we leave Ember is quite a little state, she is on the run, and looking for a mysterious Lars all the while trying to keep people – all peoples off her tail. Especially a sexy-ass Dark Dweller. Anyways there was a lot of stuff going on this book, there are actually two parts in this book – literally, but I felt when part two was introduced it was introduced a little wait, i could a definite separation but i get why Stacey did it there and i respect that, no big deal. There was the first half then there was the second. Ugh some of this really has to do with characters so I don’t want to jump into that yet. So like i was saying though in the first thoughts, you won’t be able to guess because when you think you know, you really think you know, you don’t. Okay there are somethings that i figured out and I was right about, but honestly if i hadn’t taken so long to read this (curse you life!!!! getting in the way of my READING!!!) okay so anyways i probably wouldn’t have seen them coming because the pace in this book was amazing, while you think you are in a lull not really. But never do you feel overwhelmed. So love, love, love, love. Omgod, yes I think i have to say it -> exceeded book one. There I said it, I loved book one don’t get me wrong but… I LOVED this book.

Characters:

So I don’t do casting often and this book is a little hard, so imagine these characters altered slightly

Ember

Eli

Torin:

About them:

Ember: Now Ember was awesome she really grew in this book, she was always a little different, neither was she hard, nor was she the soft love-y dubby character either, she was always in between. I think this book really shows that off, but Ember does some serious growing up, she has a lot weighing on her shoulders and its time that she starts to really take matters into her own hands. I loved it. Seriously she was so amazing, I just want to say exactly what I am talking about but i can’t. Okay so as much as she wants to give up, as much as it would be the easier option and trust me at some points i was just thinking to myself as reading, damn i am exhausted for you, please just… *sigh* stop… but she doesn’t, she is much better then me. Anyways so moving on from that. She is just AHHHHHHH i love her. So real, so passionate, and really she has to deal with a lot of shit i don’t even know how she manages. So many surprises await her, and yet she is determined. She is loyal. And god damn is she sassy – i love sassiness ❤ makes me happy

Eli: He really isn’t the typical love interest, we know from book one he isn’t like every other guy. It’s not even so much he is overtly Alpha – oh he is when he wants to be – but he isn’t the love-y kind of guy, he isn’t going to throw pretty words at her – almost direct quote – but i think he is what she needs and I think she is what he needs. They have a lot of tempter issues with each other but the chemistry CANNOT AND WILL NOT BE DENIED, talkaboutsexualfustration… what? but seriously 😐 anyways again moving on. I really liked Eli as a character, he is really, really different from most guys that i read about and that is something i admire, he is an ass but not enough you are going, god i fucking hate you – oops swear word…got take that out for amazon…sorry – but enough you narrow your eyes and go…im not sure i should be mad at you or jump you Damn sexy man.

Torin: Torin, Torin, Torin, what to do with you. I just don’t know. I really just don’t know. Like my heart (mybody) wants Eli, but my brain is all like well look at what he has sacrificed, look at what he has done for her? OR has he? But he has, hasn’t he? UGH you make me confused Torin 😦 that is all i can say about him…well he is a real sweetheart

Ending: 😐 curse you Stacey. but not really. but maybe just a smidge.

