Tags

, , ,

Summary provided by Goodreads:

Harper Madison isn’t like other girls. She has extraordinary powers, but her inability to control them has gotten her kicked from so many foster homes she’s lost count. Shadowford Home is her last chance, and she hopes Peachville High will be the fresh start she needs. But when evidence ties her to the gruesome murder of a Demons cheerleader, Harper discovers this small town has a big secret.

MIGHT CONTAIN SPOILERS

“Ever since I lost my adoptive family and was put into the foster care system, I’d been looking for a place where I could fit in. All I ever wanted is to belong somewhere. To have a family who truly care about me and wanted me in their lives.”

Harper Madison has not had an easy life, she’s been in seven fosters homes in just one year ever since her only adoptive family were victims of a big fire caused by her when she was just 8 years old, and the only thing that can save her from end up in juvenile detention is staying at the Shadowford home (an especial place for troubled girls like her).

At the beginning this book was very promising, I liked that Harper (main character) was strong and different from the other girls. However, when she drank Mrs. Shadowford’s tea everything began to change inside Harper’s mind. She started to act very selfish and sometimes very obnoxious, it just wasn’t the same cool personality from the beginning. I think It was almost like she was drunk, and that exasperated me a lot. She started to worry about her economic status because she couldn’t buy things as expensive as she wanted, so she could fit in with the other cheerleaders. I know this is part of the spell, but I just couldn’t stand her. Furthermore, I was disappointed because we don’t get to see a lot of times how she uses her abilities! I guess in the sequel we can know more.

I didn’t like too much the romance in this book. I mean, she met Jackson for a couple of days (they spent 10 minutes with each other or even less), and then, after he reveals something to her out of nowhere they kissed because she feels a connection. What kind of connection? I don’t know.

I’m not very into that kind of romance unless you give me a very well-developed excuse.

For the positive side, when the story was focused in the riddle part was very interesting. I thought that I knew everything about the mysterious things happening, but I was surprised many times. like Agnes was a real psycho, I thought she was just annoying

Am I reading the sequel? I don’t know because the story is a little slow for my taste, and I didn’t care about Harper or any other character.

