Summary provided by Goodreads:

Jayne Sparks, a potty-mouthed, rebellious seventeen-year-old and her best friend, shy and bookish Tony Green, have a pretty typical high school existence, until several seemingly unrelated incidents converge, causing a cascade of events that change their lives forever. Jayne and Tony, together with a group of runaway teens, are hijacked and sent into a forest, where nothing and no one are as they seem. Who will emerge triumphant? And what will they be when they do?

4.5 Stars

Story: Lately I’ve been reading books about Faes after I read The Elfin by Quinn Loftis (excellent book by the way). Also, I was feeling kind of tired about wolves/vampires/shifters because most authors use the same formula (I mean, is not their fault because those “species” have a certain way to act or feel), so it gets repetitive. But, when I read about Faes is very refreshing and most of all…magical (yep, I love fairy-tales, magic and Disney).

This story was KIND OF (and when I said ‘kind of’ is just ‘kind of’ not the same!) reminded me of:

The Hunger Games

with a Spiderwick side

Writing:
I don’t like to complain about English grammar because mine isn’t perfect. However, I think the use of … Was a little bit annoying. So, when you had these little things constantly…it made you pause a lot of times… just frustrating…it didn’t let the sentence flow…see?

Characters:
I loved them all (but I won’t tell you much about it because the story is worth a shot) except for Sam but that’s because I didn’t get to know her. My favorite character was definitely Jayne because she was bitchy but also had a soft side.

Jayne:
“I’m apparently what someone might consider a ‘bad influence’.”

I didn’t know this was a YA novel because Jayne (female protagonist) had a way to insult people (or just about anything that made her mad) which made me love her because she won’t take shit from anyone. She’s doesn’t like her life “I’m on autopilot, going through the motions, waiting for life start to happening,” she’s really rebeld (but so was I when I was her age). She lived with her mom and her mom’s boyfriend until she almost castrated the guy.

Tony Green:
“You can call me anything you want, just don’t call me late to dinner.”

Was Jayne’s best friend since two years ago. Besides of being usually scared, nervous and awkward he was a geek with oversized glasses who wore funky clothes. But, he was also a gentleman: “He always holds doors for girls, pulls out chairs, offers them drink and stuff.” he was very loyal and he knew how to act brave when necessary. I really liked that the author didn’t try to make Tony and Jayne a couple, their friendship was real to the point they looked like brother and sister. It was very refreshing because when a boy meets the girl they would usually end up together or have a crush with each other, but Jayne and Tony’s sibling-love was too cool for that.

Ending:
I couldn’t believe what was saying Tony. In fact, I will try to forget what he said because that was just wrong!

