15809856

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

“We have a new assignment for you, Mr. Reinhardt.”

These words are not comforting to me. At eighteen, I am a gargoyle who has been demoted because I broke the rules. Now I have a new mission, a new mark to protect. But I don’t expect Emma Chase. I don’t expect to question my own race. I don’t expect to care for my own mark. And I am not prepared for what I find at The Acropolis.

 

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

This was….awesome.

Song Choice: (yeah i am going to get so much crap for this but) Blurred Lines by Robin Thick, “Middle Distance Runner” by Seawolf, “They” by Jem

First Thoughts: So, Goodness its been a really, really long time since I started RK Ryals other series that happens in the same universe, i was almost i think 30% into the book before i realized it XD. Anyways I realize again how much I love her style, its not so sophisticated it feels like you are reading nonfiction, but its also very mature that you don’t feel like its entirely YA – even NA it just feels classier, and yeah. Anyways this book – awesome.

Thoughts on Plot: So while i haven’t finished the other series (which I mean i really should go back re-read the first and finish it because damn this woman can write) but I really liked the idea of this book. This isn’t about what we expect the good guys to be and the bad guys to be. For the most part when I was reading this i was mad about the system, I wanted to hate Conor because he was acting like well sort of racist to the Hybrids. We got to see the world in two different points of view, we saw his, we saw Emma’s. Granted I think there should have been a bit more backstory for Conor, sometimes his hatred was told to us, but never shown to us. I didn’t really understand he always seem to be on Emma’s side but then he would say he wasn’t….okay so moving on. For the most part i enjoyed how the relationship developed. I liked what this book brought to the table and I think it was more of standing up for what was right even if its against everything you believe. i think this was a wonderful set up for a relationship that can continue to grow and i am damned excited about it

Characters:

Emma: She was awesome. I like really off the wall, strange main characters, they really bring in a new mix, and I loved her. I loved immediately finding out that she is LITERALLY afraid of everything, she is shy – extremely so – but it doesn’t make her weak. Never, while she takes a bit to really go up and stand in front of everyone she does what she has to when she has to. She doesn’t back down, she doesn’t cower, she fights, and she is awesome. I really did like her, and even for being shy one would think she would be a bit socially awkward but she was pretty witty. She was a very complex character and I am seriously over the moon about her she was awesome!

Conor: He was interesting. I liked getting his thoughts in this book – if i am going to be perfectly honest I don’t remember him from the other series, I remember the basics of that book which again i need to re-read. Anyways! He was a mixture of the want to be the best that he could be, he wanted to believe what he was doing right, but he does let his pride go, he steps back he looks at the bigger issues and he makes the really tough ass decisions. I don’t know he is supposed to come off as the player boy, but I couldn’t ever see him as that he was too serious, too mature to be anything like that, I think that was old Conor and we were meeting new Conor in this book and its cool. I did really like him but I am concerned about him slightly, what he had to do might destroy him. :/ only time will tell.

Will: I hope he gets a bit bigger part in the next book, he is really strong character, he has a lot of passion and a lot of guts ❤

There were some characters i have a feeling will be causing all sorts of problems in the next book and i cannot wait – i am sure it will be kickass hahaha so no reallll cliffie, I figured out the last BIG surprise pretty early. 🙂

