17375125

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

DARKNESS OF LIGHT is a Mature YA(16+)/New Adult Paranormal Romance.

**Warning: The Darkness Series is not YA, but a NA Series.
**Book 2 FIRE IN THE DARKNESS is out!

Freak. Witch. Crazy. Schizo.

Ember Brycin has been called them all. She’s always known she’s different. No one has ever called her normal, even under the best circumstances. Bizarre and inexplicable things continually happen to her, and having two different colored eyes, strange hair, and an unusual tattoo only contributes to the gossip about her.

When the latest school explosion lands her in a facility for trouble teens, she meets Eli Dragen, who’s hot as hell and darkly mysterious. Their connection is full of passion, danger, and secrets. Secrets that will not only change her life, but what and who she is—leading her down a path she never imagined possible.

Between Light and Dark, Ember finds a world where truth and knowledge are power and no one can be trusted. But her survival depends on finding out the truth about herself. In her pursuit, she is forced between love and destiny and good and evil, even when the differences between them aren’t always clear. At worst, she will incite a war that could destroy both worlds. At best, she will not only lose her heart but her life and everyone she loves. Once the truth is out, however, there will be no going back. And she’ll definitely wish she could.

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

This…was…amazing. Absolutely amazing. For realises. Awesome.

Song Choice: “I Don’t Care” by Apocalyptica featuring Breaking Benjamin, “Say Something” by A Great Big World, “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J

First Thoughts: While you don’t actually FIND information out until the very, very last half of this book, it is totally worth it. Normally I am the type of person who gets really annoyed if we take tooo long getting to the big reveal like I figure you need to tell me by the second half of the damn book. XD But this, this was different i didn’t mind to much because so much else was going on, I was trying to decision who were the “good” guys and the “bad” guys, who could I trust? Does that make sense? Welp even it doesn’t I am sticking with it. So overall this was really awesome, and it really is bringing in some new ideas that I am just tickled pink about! I canNOT wait to start book two ❤

Thoughts on Plot: So as i mentioned before we take forever and a day to get information about who and what she is, and no i am going to tell you so HA! You have to read it to find out. And it is really well worth the read. This really did feel like a set up to a series, lately i have been reading a lot of the series that do different characters for each book, which is all fine and dandy i love it to be honest, but I do love a series that keeps with the same characters, but at times I stop and think, well their whole story has been told in this one book, what could possibly happen next? Why do I care when I have my happy ending? This, this was the pinnacle of what a good start to a series is. It starts us out confused and trying to figure everything out ourselves, we are as lost as our girl Ember. The writing felt really raw to me, which is meant in the best way possible, it felt real, it felt gritty, it felt awesome. I really really did love it. Okay so going on, this was a lot of character development, and relationship developments. A lot of questions were purposed, and not a whole lot were answered – another very awesome thing. There is so much more and I cannot wait!

Characters:

Ember: I fucking loved her. She was actually witty, and I know some authors will say you know in the book how the girl is so witty but we never quite see it, oh you see it here. Ember is just full of sass and fantastic, totally out there but obvious come-backs. I adored her. Seriously! She was awesome, she is compassionate but she isn’t no sissy, she is kickass and will not take shit from anyone. She doesn’t care to be beat on, to get the girl who takes the insults, she doesn’t let them stick to her, not really, but when you attack her friends, all bets are off. She is my kind of girl and I loved her. I thought she was a pleasure and made this book so amazing as it already was she just added to it. Seriously i would recommend reading this book just so you can read some of things she says, they are fantastic.

Eli: He is a bit of a jackass, well not a bit, he really is just a jackass, and i am not quite ever sure i know where i stand with him, one thing is for sure, this man radiates sex, like not that fake kind, every interaction with him really does make me just think instinctive and raw. He is not someone you mess with. Really honest to god wow…so much sexual tension it isn’t even funny. Anyways moving on from that. I loved him, while he really was a jackass there is so much more to this man, so soso much more and I am waiting for him to show more, give us more. He will I know he will but be aware he is not the type that will pretend to be mushy, or be like “me man, me no feelings” he legit acts as he if doesn’t give a shit, but you pay attention to his movements, to subtle hints you will see how much he really does care even if he doesn’t know it.

Torin: Now I am a little concerned I don’t like love triangles, they are messy, and to be perfectly honest, piss me the right off. But this I am going to try to be okay with this, I am interested in seeing where it goes. Torin is also a bit of a mystery and I cannot wait to find out more about him.

So the ending, epic. I am chomping at the bit to get the next one. So later kiddie cats, I got a book to read 😉

