17855801

 

Summary via Goodreads:

Ava Paskell is not your normal young woman. She’s twice as strong as girls her age and she has a problem controlling her emotions. When her dad insists they spend the summer together in a small, strange Canadian town, she knows her life is about to change. But one of the biggest life changing moments is meeting Cyrus Carlston. The powerful bond they share from the very beginning scares her as much as it thrills her. As her life is put in danger and she gets closer an closer to the truth, one thing is clear, Ava’s dreams are about to become her reality.

 

My Review: (4.5 out of 5 stars)

 

*claps like an idiot* this was soooo goooooood just sooooo goood (but in reality i am going to smack a 4.5 stars on it – I have a reason so… 😛 )

Song Choice: “All I Want Is You” by Barry Louis Polisar, “Belated Promise Ring” by Iron&Wine yeah. that is all for now because its 2 am … huh i need to stop doing reviews at 2 am

First Thoughts:
Me: Brain why did we take so long to read this?
Brain: Because you be cray
Me: Wouldn’t that make you cray?
Brain: I suppose
Me: I don’t think we have an answer to our question still.
Brain: *shrugs*
So in other words what has been taking you cats so long read this book! I will admit though I am a HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE (in case you didn’t get that HUGE) enthusiast of werewolves. Seriously. I love them I really do. It’s hard lately it seems to find a werewolf book that isn’t all about the woman’s breeding months – sorry *shrugs* My point is: this was a fun, entertaining, slightly maddening, fast paced, totally kickass read. Do I recommend it? Hell yes I do.

Thoughts on Plot: I thought this was a very interesting, new take with werewolves – not so much with how they change or anything like that, it had to be more with society. I have read the super pack-y like books (love them) i have read the not so pack-y books (loved them as well) and so in other words i am well versed in werewolves 😉 this was interesting, it was a very backwards community where the woman are second-rate and have no choices, no opinions, nada. But don’t worry, don’t worry a revolution is on its way! Really this book moved so fast that i didn’t realize where i was in the book until i had to stop for work, or going to the bathroom – i mean really who NEEDS to eat? Anyways it was really light-hearted at parts, where you could just sit back and enjoy the show, or there were really romantic parts that made me swoon like no one’s business – seriously Cyrus is up there with top BB (book boyfriends). Anyways and there was action, while it might have been pretty freaking easy to find out who the real “master-mind” evil of the book was – I think that was sort of the point, I didn’t even really care about finding out before the characters or it was revealed to us. I was too into the story. The writing really did just capture you and for me it was like watching an episode of my favorite show. Sosososososo goood. Though I know this is part of a series, it read almost as a stand alone.

Oh the drop! Okay so the for the reason i dropped it down to a .5 i just felt there were some parts i thought personally could have been expanded on and i wouldn’t have been upset about that all, just at times it felt we were moving maybe just a little too quickly. but that is all, really it was fantastic
Characters:

Ava: Our five foot, eight blonde, sweet, athletic, sassy-pants, smart-ass, knows how to stand up for herself kickass heroine. I really loved her, she was a little bit of everything, that kickass warrior who can take care of herself, that never ending spirit, that sassy, smart ass girl who can keep her mind around a guy and make him look like a fool – because it needs to happen every so often, and of course, that sweet feminine side that really needs to be there as well. She was a very well rounded character who didn’t let her emotions completely rule her, she liked to take a step back think things through then decide. I really enjoyed her. I thought she was awesome.

Cyrus: Did I mention this man will steal your heart? Seriously he isn’t that brooding, you-belong-to-me now hear me roar kind of guy, he was fun, sweet, and obviously cared about Ava, but more than that he was passionate. He wanted to make a difference, he was well-educated, and just over all again a very well rounded character that i truly did enjoy.

Now the ending: Like i mentioned before this felt like it could be read as a stand-alone. It really really does, at least for me. I really like this author’s style though so I will stick with her, and see what craziness Ava and Cyrus will have to deal with in the next books ❤

