12995248

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

All 18-year-old Celeste Garrett wants is to head off to college and make those fun, yet ill-advised, choices college kids are known for. And maybe to spend some time with the hot cameraman she just met. Instead, because of a pact her ancestors made in the 17th century with a mythical creature, she has to save the world.

While normal kids are slamming energy drinks and cramming for exams, Celeste will get her adrenaline rush fighting a fire breathing dragon. She wants to meet friends in the quad to exchange lecture notes, but first she must exchange blows with a shapeshifting demon on the rooftop. Life isn’t always fair for a superhero, but at least she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her brother and sister as sidekicks, they alternate between saving lives and getting on each others’ nerves. Together the trio encounters unspeakable odds, mystical forces and comes face-to-face with an image that will haunt them forever—their grandmother in a leopard print bikini.

Okay, little side note here. If a psychopathic killer asks if you want to see a trick, say no. That’s the smart thing to do. I, on the other hand, responded, “Bring it.”
-excerpt from THE CONDUIT

 

My Review: (5 out of 5 stars)

To put simply: This was fantastic. I can’t even….I loved it.

Song Choice: “Time Is Running Out” by Muse, “Murder in the City” by the Avett Brothers, “Into The Ocean” by Blue October

First thoughts: Seriously, why hadn’t anyone told me about this book before? I had come across it many of times, with its old cover, and that isn’t what turned me away from it – no, I just I don’t know I was always on the edge of, should I? Shouldn’t I? and then something else would pop up. Okay so my advice if you are doing that stop it. Stop it right meow, pick this book up and read it. Read it right now! You won’t regret it. This is a fast pace, action-adventure book that I adored!

Thoughts on Plot: So I really enjoyed this book – obviously, because that is what I have been saying for the past few sentences XD. I am not trying to be annoying but holy God this was so good. Not only do i think that the plot itself was original, entertaining and engaging like you read this and you won’t want to stop of that I am almost positive. The writing though – how do i describe it? It was almost light-hearted fun times, but very serious underlining that it was so powerful it wouldn’t be ignored. SOSOSOSOSOSO GOOOOOD. Now this wasn’t a normal – well i suppose it would be considered YA but the maturity levels of the main characters i would call it more Adult if that is what you are worried about – but anyways it wasn’t about girl moves to new town, boy is mysterious and have a secret, and they fall madly in love and she wants to know secret but its too dangerous blah blah blah its nothing like that oohhh no! This is about family, I loved the dynamics of the siblings because it feels so real – and considering I have two sisters and two brothers i win on knowing these things 😉 hahaha. Anyways there is a love interest but he is sort of pushed off to the side for the larger part of the story which is something you will just have read to find out about hahahaha i am evil evil evil i know but i don’t care, it is so worth just waiting a bit. ❤ ❤ So amazing i loved it. I loved the pace of this book, the action, the humor, the everything

Characters:

Celeste (Cee): I think that I might have an MC crush on her…probably. She was just awesome. She was the middle child but she acted like the oldest she was the one who held the family together in the face of a crisis but she isn’t perfect, not by any means. She was entertaining to read from her prospective, she was really…real. Does that make sense? She didn’t feel like this untangle character that was created to be this semi-better and non-realistic character she was down to earth, had stupid, awkward thoughts like the rest of us, she was completely and utterly relate-able. she will easily be considered one of my favorite MC’s of all time.

Gabe: Was the perfect….hotter hehe i can say that i am not related to him and he is only two years younger than me 😉 …. brother. Annoying as well. In that older brother way – like i mentioned before this is a book about family and the ties between the siblings were created beautifully and seen throughout the whole book. What to say about Gabe he was infuriating at times, cocky, but obviously cared about his family, and he didn’t act like the overbearing big brother.

Kendall: She was the perfect looking little sister who doesn’t even realize how beautiful she really is. She was the lover and the sweetheart, while at times she seemed a little dense on things it fit her character, it took me many times to sit there and tell myself, she is only 15 she is only 15 she is only 15 she is only 15 years old it makes sense but reading from Cee’s prospective i just assumed everyone else was older XD but no Kendall was done well to show the difference in their ages.

So the end. Make sure you start this book on Friday, and you have the other waiting in the wing because you will need it. 😉 hehehe loved it. Alright off to read the next book later kiddie cats

