18480144

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

What’s Love??? series

Book 1, Another Shot At Love

Imogen Gorecki has a problem—her twin sister just got engaged, and guess who’s the best man? That’s right, her scum-of-an-ex-boyfriend whom she caught cheating with a bottle-blonde, with fake breasts and a stripper’s flexibility. There’s a disturbing possibility her eyes will never recover.

Gen needs a date for the engagement party, but finding Mr. Perfect in a time crunch is proving impossible. Just when she’s about to give up, she face-plants into the crotch of the sexiest guy she’s ever met.

Matt Sesnick is everything Gen wants in a man —except he’s not interested in a relationship. Can she convince Matt to take another shot at love, or will Gen’s pregnant, hormonal older sister, her bridezilla twin, and all of her past Mr. Wrongs get in the way of their happily-ever-after?

Continue the series with Book 2, coming soon February 2014

 

My Review:

This was HI-larious! so, so, sososososososo gooooood!

First warning: I was given this in exchange for an honest review, and I would like to apologize to Niecey Roy this was supposed to be finished forever ago but ugh *shakes fist at life* Life got in the way 😦 but with that said, I believe in giving honest reviews even if I was given a book, cool? cool!

So anyways!

Song Choice: “All I Want is You” by Barry Louis Polisar, “Textbook Love” by Fleet Foxes, “Oh, It Is Love” by Hellogoodbye

First thoughts: This was so funny and I was pleasantly surprised by that. I remember very clearly when Niecey had asked me to read this in exchange for an honest review, I was a little on the fence because usually my genre is paranormal, fantasy, scifi, stuff like that, usually I don’t do contemporary and when I do I like suspenseful stuff. But when she sent me the blurb, I laughed my ass off. I thought to myself, yeah I might be a little stockpiled right now but it could be really good. So I said yes, I am glad I did, this was REALLY GOOD. So before I get carried away as I do, so funny, so romantic, and a bit cringe worthy embarrassing moments where you just want to hide behind your hands but then look anyways 😉

Thoughts of Plot: I was again pleasantly surprised here. I – sorry to admit it – was thinking okay this is going to be the norm right? The girl falls for boy, boy is a bit of player but “changes his ways” but then catches him in a comprising position, NOPE. Niecey didn’t go run of the mill with us – which honestly I think she could have and I would have still enjoyed this as much I did this way… does that make sense? Whatever in my brain it does. 😉 anyways. So while maybe its more predictable for people who normally read this genre it was a nice pleasant surprise for me who doesn’t usually because it wasn’t the normal miss-communication sort of thing, or just in general the couple isn’t open with each other. So on top of that awesomeness, I find it while a lot of authors do achieve a certain amount of humor, sometimes it can VERY difficult to write really good funny ass scenes only because a lot of humor now is physical humor, its something you want to see, verses read, or be told about. I thought this nailed it. Perfectly. Not only did this book read as more like a movie, like … how do i make this make more sense? Do you get what i am saying? It was amazing written so well in fact that i could picture everything pretty clearly in my head. Which i mean come on that is A HUGE HUGE bonus in my book ❤ anyways. moving on there were parts in this book i just KNEW something funny was about to happen and i couldn’t even think about holding in my laughter. Oh did I mention I have explosive laughter, yes explosive – if you are wondering what that means, it means that when i laugh people on the other side of the country – if not in China can hear it. So on top of it being funny, it was so sweet and romantic, i was cheering for the couple the whole way through and was just tickled pink with there relationship.

Characters:

Imogen (pretty sure that is how she spelled it…?) Gen, Gennie, Gennie-bear, you know 😉 : So i loved her! She was really funny herself. She was quite the character though, while at times she had this sarcastic side she was also very sweet, to me she felt like a real person, and that is amazing. She dealt with some serious crap and I love how strong she is, and it annoyed me that everyone tried to make her the victim but i was loving that she never let it get to her. She wasn’t and she wasn’t pretending to be. Sometimes i just wanted to jump in the book and scream at everyone for her but she was very level headed and dealt with it in a calm matter. She was sensitive and very colorful. I really thought she was a fantastic character. Being a twin myself I loved her relationship with her twin, while you are close its not that you are the same person – far from it, but sometimes things you just share. Anyways… moving on

Matt: Wow. Swoon. Worthy. Seriously my thoughts throughout most of the book was: okay where can i buy one? Hahaha for reals though, where can I buy one?! Yes things were odd when he first meet Gen but he took it in stride and he was an amazing guy for most of everything he did, if not more. He was seriously….*swwoooonn* Yup… swooon.

Roxanna: I just wanted to say that i thought she was a really fun character and I enjoyed her parts in the book and i was glad as the best friend she didn’t really disappear after being used for one scene ❤

So there were quite a few other awesome characters in this book but i don’t really do side characters i use to way back when but…yeah no more sorry. 🙂 they were awesome though.

So I know this is a series, will I go on? Yup. Am I sold on Niecey Roy books? Yup. ❤

