16637812

 

Summary Via Goodreads:

18 year old Sophie Jean is pretty good at acting normal. Sure, she’s not exactly happy, but happiness is nothing compared to being like everyone else. She can pretend she’s not allergic to the sun. She can hide what her ex-boyfriend did to her. She can cover up the scars she’s made for herself. Ignore anything. Forget anything. Then Myles enters her life, and he has more than a few secrets of his own. When accident after accident keeps happening to Sophie, she can’t help noticing that he’s everywhere. That he knows too much. That she’s remembering too much.

It’s one thing covering up her own dark past, but does she really need to worry about people finding out just how much Myles likes her? Or that despite how much she doesn’t want to repeat past mistakes, she kind of likes him back? Not to mention the fact that she now has to conceal that Myles drinks blood-that he says he’s about four hundred years old.

She almost forgot about that part.

But Sophie has no plans to ruin the normal life she has created for herself. She can deal with this little glitch, no problem. Even if word has gotten around to the wrong vampire about Sophie and Myles, even if she’s putting the few people she loves at risk. Suddenly, those who were monsters before are just people, and the monsters? They’re real. Now being a normal human being is the least of her problems. Now she has to stay alive.

 

My Review: (4.5 stars out of 5)

 

Life got in the way while reading this but I did it!! and This is really a 4.5 star rating.

Warning: I got this book in exchange for an honest review, and you know what I do that, honesty baby is the way to go 😉

Song Choice: (There are quite a few so bare with me) “Dream of Flying” by Brian Cain, “Heavy in Your Arms” by Florence + the Machine, “Skin” by Zola Jesus, “Funeral Song” by Laura Gibson, “Wash.” by Bon Iver, “Beach Baby” by Bon Iver.

First thoughts: This was awesome. I really think one of the biggest shining things for me in this book was the writing style. The voice of the character so very strong, it was unique and to be perfectly honest I loved it <3. So awesome – i am working on expanding my vocab list past “awesome” :p so anyways getting over that, if you are a little on the new paranormal scene i think this would be a great starting point, the paranormal isn’t overwhelming and to be perfectly honest this was – and not in a bad way at all – border line contemporary fiction, i have a feeling the paranormal is going to make a lot more of an appearance in book two. Okay so overall this was a bit of a heavy read, but i enjoyed it. I really did.

Thoughts on Plot: So the overall plot, good really good. I don’t read a whole lot of contemporary fiction – and like i mentioned before yeah the paranormal influence wasn’t too heavy in this book – at least in 75% of the book. I mean we find out fairly quickly what Myles is – GASP! its in the summary so its not a spoiler :p – anyways. But there is a lot of growing to be done here, this is a story about a very broken girl becoming whole again, learning how to live. I LOVED IT. I think i might actually kiss you Nikki seriously. I respect why most authors tend to try to breeze over certain issues because well we need the plot to move on, but this, this was different and that is why i totally loved it. We took time with Sophie. Anyways the last quarter of this book really got the meaty – actiony parts but i enjoyed our journey to this point. All was awesome, like i mentioned before if you are a newbie to the paranormal world i think this is a good beginner book, if you are a seasoned paranormal reader like me then i think this is a good almost bridge between contem. and paranormal (but don’t worry there is paranormal for ya) ❤ I really like Nikki’s versions of vampires in this book – awesome, awesome (i am working on that vocab list after this review i swear!) and no sparkle vamps here 😉

Characters.

So yeah i want to cast just two of the characters cause its super late and yeah :p

Sophie (Sunshine)

sophie

Myles (without beard)

myles

Kay so how do i feel about them?

Sophie: I mentioned before some stuff about her, i don’t want to go into super details so we are going to call them her demons. And boy does she have some MAJOR demons, it was hard reading from her POV because at times I – god i cannot believe i am about to say this – i sympathized with her, i understood why she was doing some of the things that she was doing, and i don’t AT ALL believe in what she does, which i know probably neither does Nikki but it doesn’t mean that at some points I couldn’t help but be like, okay I get it. I get it. That is how powerful of a character Sophie was for me. She was so strange because even to the readers it was like there was this outer shell she wanted us to see, then at times you could see within the cracks you could see the real her that hid behind all that spunk and sarcastic-ness amazing-ness that is her. She has so much to offer, and like i mentioned before her voice literally JUMPED OFF THE PAGES, wonderful! just omgosh wonderful!!! I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT

Myles: Now here is where my rating dropped a bit, and okay before i say anything let me say this: i have a horrible disease its called Alpha Male disease it forces me to want them always…its a problem really. And Myles is a little to laid back, and this is going to sound a lot harsher than i want it too but i don’t know how else to say it – he was a bit of a pushover in my opinion. Innn the beginning of the book at the end he seemed really start be growing. Now with all personal attractiveness to Alpha males aside I do need to state, that I don’t think Myles could have been super Alpha male. I think he was the character Sophie needed, and that is why I do love him as well. He wasn’t written to please us, he was written for Sophie. Does that make sense? Welp there it is. He does start to act like “me man, you woman, you must listen to me”- ness near the end not quite to that extent but a bit and i love when it starts to shine through – seriously i have a problem it can’t be helped, much like Christoper Walken’s need for cowbell….anyways now that no one understands that SNL reference moving on.

I have to HAVE TO SAY THIS: i FUCKING hated (and i try not to use the f-bomb in my reviews sure i will swear but i refrain from that one) Sophie’s mother. 😐 for reals i was going to kill that woman myself. WOW. seriously WOW. ugh, UGH i am just getting mad thinking about her so i letting it go.

Jade: i LOVED him, seriously he was such a wonderful brother! I am glad he didn’t disappear in the first half of the book like it seems brother’s tend to do in books family members in generals. anyways loved him. I loved Trei (Tree) and Boo (as in Peek-a-Boo) – such fun names! – as well, they were good supporting characters ❤

The ending i think that it was a good ending, there really wasn’t a like OMGOD I AM GOING TO KILL YOU for ending it like that, ending. Which is always nice. And yes i will continue on with the series ❤

