Rivulet Tour Banner

Tour page: http://gcrpromotions.blogspot.com/2013/09/rivulet-tour.html

cover
Unfathomable forces have always contested Genevieve Indiana Falcon, known as Indie. The curse of her cold touch entraps her just as the grief ignited in her past torments her. Yet, her mysterious ability to dream while awake saturates her in the belief that she was not always anguished. There is hope that one day a true peace in her soul can be found.
Foolishly, Indie assumes she has contained her life in an odd balance, and she cherishes the visions she sees of the enigmatic boy that held her in a lost time, but can never reach. She grieves for a life she fears she’ll never possess, and that grief is a weapon she uses against her aunt who stands between her and her inheritance.
Weeks away from her twenty-first birthday, the date where she would assume control over her family legacy, a night terror robs Indie of the balance she was clinging to. Like the dream she had before she lost her family, it predicts a fatal catastrophe on the horizon. The fight between life and death, good and evil, began the moment her thundering heart awoke her.
Everything changed after that dream. The one thing that keeps her curse at bay is stolen, and then the enigmatic boy arrives in the flesh. Face to face with her fiery born-again lover Indie realizes that the only way she can prevent the tragedy before her is to surrender everything she was, is, and could be.
Can she bend the laws of nature and fight the improbability that fire and ice could ever be one? As far as Indie is concerned, there is not a myth, spoken fate, or curse that is stronger than her stubborn desire to have it all … including him.

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18484457-rivulet

____________________________________________________________________________________

Rafflecopter

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/74d2e517/

____________________________________________________________________________________

jamie

About Jamie

Jamie Magee has always believed that each of us have a defining gift that sets us apart from the rest of the world, she has always envied those who have known from their first breath what their gift was. Not knowing hers, she began a career in the fast paced world of business. Raising a young family, and competing to rise higher in that field would drive some to the point of insanity, but she always found a moment of escape in a passing daydream. Her imagination would take her to places she’d never been, introduce her to people she’s never known. Insight, her debuting novel, is a result of that powerful imagination. Today, she is grateful that not knowing what defined her, led her on a path of discovery that would always be a part of her.

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

My Review: 

5 stars

WWWWOOOOOOOWWWWWWW….wow. WOW. (no I am not saying World of Warcraft a lot) Just wow.

Warning: I was given this in exchange for an honest review J and this is part of a blog tour also so honesty is the best policy, I think yes.

Song Choice: “Arms” by Christina Perri, “Seven Devils” by Florence and the Machine, along with “Only If for a Night” by Florence and the Machine, and lastly, “Naked as We Come” by Iron and Wine.

First thoughts: This. Was. Beautiful. Really. It was. I couldn’t get over who beautifully it was written, and wow talk about managing to shock me! Damn woman! Jamie you are very very crafty, she lures you in, like yeah you think you are, of course you are…of course. You keep thinking that way babe, you think you figured it all out….probably not. Anyways moving on the characters amazingly well developed, awesomely written, plot shocking, new, interesting, and very intriguing. Overall this book was an A++ for me. I really did love this.

Thoughts on Plot: Like I already mentioned I thought this was wow shocking. It was really interesting I don’t want to say specifics because I don’t do spoilers but really, wow. Okay half this book I thought I had figured out half the time I decided you know what I am just going to sit back and let it happen but at the same time I wanted to try to guess …. I failed a couple times…. A lot of times. So many times. Anyways I thought that it was quite well done, at times I felt so convinced on something, other times I was questioning (these are all good things but again I can’t going into specifics). The times you are supposed to feel as hopeless as the characters you do, or as elated, or as blah blah blah are you getting the point? Yeah? Awesome. Okay but I will admit there were a few times I know that we were supposed to be in the dark with Indie but god I was so confused that I wish that the reveal came just a little bit sooner. It wasn’t so bad that I was pissed off that it was like that just in general sometimes it just takes a bit longer to get there. Relationships were a bit part in this book so I just want to spend a sentence or two saying I really thought they were really well done. Indie’s two best friends are guys and YES they did date at one time, (you know what I mean right? Indie dated both the guys – at different time, before they became friends)

Thoughts on characters:

(NOW I don’t do this for very book, but I have been doing it more frequently and I wanted to do it for this book so this is my casting for the characters!)

Indie:

indie1

Mason:

 mason

Gavin:

gavin

Wilder:

wilder

Phoenix/Sebastian

phoenix-guardian2

Guardian:

phoenix-guardian

So about them.

Indie: So I am slightly confused…she was supposed to be weak? She was supposed to be timid. And she was supposed to be I don’t know non-conferential is what I was getting from the way she talked about herself. But I didn’t see that, at all. Which don’t get me wrong here, I loved it. She was this very generous, loving, broken woman who was also very snarky, kickass, and totally a smartass. I loved her. I could see moments where she was breaking down a bit but I don’t blame her ….at all at the moments she acted like that. And honestly I thought she was a really amazing MC I really liked her. Like I said before who she thought she was and who she really was didn’t match but isn’t that the human complex most of the time? Anyways as the female MC she was top-notch she never really annoyed me, she NEVER ever did the whole love triangle thing even though we have a whole lot of hot gents, she was true to one person. Awesome MC. Awesome.

Phoenix: He was….wow…swoon-worthy if you like your men alpha male, that hot sort of possessive, and yumm-ie. Oh yes. I suppose my thing about him was though, there wasn’t enough of him. I also wasn’t quite convinced of his actions/decisions/reasonings. I thought a lot of the times he was giving up to easily which bothered me because I know that man is a fighter, I know he is. But yes….hott-ie.

Mason: He was fun, sweet, and dammit if I didn’t want him. 😀 he was a good friend in all seriousness. He really was protective of Indie and always tried to make her smile. I loved that he was that, he was a good friend, yes there was one part in the beginning when I thought….oh shit this kid still has feelings for her, like feelings feelings like more than bbf feelings you know? Luckily that was the only time I felt that, and I think it worked as a way to show they really did have history.

Gavin: He was the serious, down to earth, computer nerd with omgosh the best morals ever. I loved this kid simply for his one moral which was: all or none. He wasn’t about cheating – which thank you, thank you, thank you because I don’t believe in it either, and I don’t know you just don’t run into someone that flat out says that. I loved it. Anyways for the most part he was pretty quiet, and seemingly kept to himself but I could tell he truly did care for Indie and for Mason as best friends.

Wilder: Was as his name suggests a bit wild. He was the wild card, hot, passionate and in the next moment cold and unfeeling in the next. He was a puzzle that I am not quite sure we will figure out in this book. If you do please let me know because I would like to know. Anyways. So that was Wilder.

Guardian isn’t a huge part in this book hence why I am not going to talk about him. (yes I realized I did a picture for him, it’s because I might be a tad in love with…him… just saying.

So yeah no on the villains I am not talking about them mostly because I can’t find a way to do without giving something away. So no thank you.

The ending: Well it truly wasn’t the end, even it says that 😉 the end was good, not really cliffhanger-y but enough that you and I will want to come back for more! Yay! I am really curious though whether we are keeping with the same MCs in this book or splitting off to others, which really it could go either way in my opinion, and honestly I think I would be happy with either way :D.

