Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

den Daylesford is a sixteen year old Nephilim girl stuck smack bang in the middle of a war between angels and demons. And the bad thing is that she shares both of their blood. When her mother takes her to the Michaelite Sanctuary in London to try to get rid of the deadly trait that has started to appear – one that hasn’t been seen in a long time – it could stop Eden from forming any sort of relationship with anyone, including the tempting Asher. Eden has no idea just how powerful she is…

Will she learn to embrace her new ability and accept her new role, or go back to her old life of an ordinary human teenager?

Will she be tempted?

The enticing first book in the spin off novella series to The Legend of the Archangel. Set after events in The Chronicles of Fire and Ice.

My Review: (4 out of 5 stars)

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……………….3.5 stars.

Song Choice: “Time Is Running Out” BY Muse, and “I Wasn’t Prepared” by Eisley.

First thoughts: I am conflicted. On one hand I really liked this. On the other hand….I had some disagreements with it. Overall as this is my first thoughts, I thought this could have been expanded on, honestly I think it would have worked quite wonderfully as a full length novel, if not a longer novella. I will go more in depth about that later. But if i was to take that statement out of it i thought it was a very interesting, fun read. Quickly paced, with both a mixture of light and dark humors/tones I thought it was really cool.

Thoughts on Plot: So here is where I was mostly conflicted about. I thought there was soo so so so so so much potential for this to be a full length novel that i was wondering why we were rushing through parts that could have been expanded, and slowed down on. The story was developing fast, and don’t get me wrong I LOVE my reading materials to start off fast and going. Which this did, but as much as I love that, somethings in this moved a little too fast for me. And as my friends who have read L.L. Hunter’s other series and i kept bothering saying that i thought you HAD to read the first series that this was a spin-off first (you don’t by the way) but i was convinced for awhile that you did. That isn’t to say that i didn’t like this book, I really truly enjoyed it I just wish that more time was spent developing relationships, and the world.
Now my second thing about this is a bit of my own philosophy… i shouldn’t say philosophy… i don’t really know what to call it but it has to go into a sort of spoiler. its not that spolier-ish but i know someone will get mad if i don’t hide it.

(view spoiler)

Kay but i did mention earlier this story moves fast and i love that, the writing is a lot time is what helps with that, I really enjoyed the mixed tones of light, romantic feels, while also still feeling helpless and dark. Awesome 😀

Characters:

Eden: She was kind of awesome. I really liked her. she made awesome decisions. :D!!! i am not being sarcastic. anyways she was sassy but also i felt that there was so much more we could have learned about her. But when she talked she had a snarky come back and was ready to beat you down with sass. She was very real to me because at times she seemed almost indecisive which is totally awesome because aren’t we all?

Asher: Hey there cutie. He was interesting character. I thought he had some swoon-astic lines that i will be dreaming about for the days to come 😉 but at times I wasn’t sure whether i wanted to punch him for being such a guy or hug L.L. Hunter to making him also very realistic, being in his head felt real, it was awesome. 😀

The ending. 😐 YOU …. NOT NICE. NOT NICE. Yes I will totally be reading the next one, and look forward to other works by L.L. Hunter.

