Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

When I fell in love with Brandon Beck, tasted my first kiss in his arms, I believed deep in my bones that we would always be together. Nothing could ever tear us apart. And you know, I was right.

Until the flood came, I was right.

That day, standing on the roof, I was sure I’d lost everything. Brandon Beck’s body had been swept away. The one boy that was meant for me was gone.
That was what I thought, anyway. Two years later, I caught a glimpse of him.
Why would the love of my life stalk me from the shadows, why would he hide away for so long?

Maybe it was all in my head.

Or was it possible… that Brandon Beck had never died at all?

Until the Flood is a 140 page New Adult Werewolf Romance novella. It focuses on how we find ourselves pulled back to the ones we love, no matter what has changed inside of us.
Sometimes, we change more than we could have ever imagined.
Ages 17+ for violence and adult content.

My Review: (4 out of 5 stars)

* also yes this is an adult read, yes there are two adult scenes in this book*

Hmmmm….3.5 stars I think

Song Choice: “The One that Got Away” by the Civil Wars

First thoughts: As reading this as a novella I think that was pretty good. It didn’t take long to get through it, there were some new interesting ideas going on here, but I will admit for me some things felt a bit… awkward? I will go in more depth momentarily…Overall it was a very nice short story about two people finding there way back to each other.

Plot: Kay so I liked this idea, it was really interesting to me, second-chance romances aren’t really my thing because for the most part I believe that you break up for a reason, but these two didn’t break up, they were ripped apart. A sudden flash-flood practically destroyed her town, no actually it did, all her high school friends, family members, her boyfriend’s family members…gone, only a few survivors, and unfortunately this book just grazes over this…Honestly I felt that this novella could have expanded on this more, I would not have been opposed to it at all, actually I think i would have rather enjoyed it. It would have for me made a better, well-rounded back-story. Kay so getting off that point, the idea of the werewolves in this book was different from what I have read, and let me tell you I am a werewolf-alochic, its a problem really, i think i love werewolves too much for my own good. And i am always interested in seeing what someone might do with them, and Cynthia didn’t disappoint, they were an interesting mixture, I really like that.

I need to do this in a different section….

Relationship: So when I said things felt awkward this is what i meant. They haven’t seen each other for two year, they were together in high “officially” for 6 months but before that were friends i am pretty sure, so yeah i can understand her sense of loss, and her want to hold onto I don’t blame her at all. I don’t know i guess this is more of a character thing… so i am going refrain from saying that at the moment, but it felt like sometimes their relationship was just…awkward. They want to jump right back into where they were but they are 18 years old now … “technically” adults, both went through a lot of shit so i am okay with calling the more mature than the average 18 year old. But at times their relationship felt strained, like Brandon was stuck in the past while Fiona well wasn’t. if that makes any sense… and at times for me that caused this strange, unsettling feeling for me.

Characters:

Fiona: uuuuuhhhhhhhhhhh…. my first impression with her was good, I liked her she seemed to be that awkward stage in life where she was insecure but also she was forward she knew what she wanted and after dating for I don’t know a couple weeks/months and they still hadn’t kissed she takes it upon herself to do it i was like hell yeah! even if it was awkward, silly, but it was so very sweet. But then after the flood she never mentions, NEVER mentions her mother, who she also lost. I feel that would be a big deal here…just saying. Okay and she makes a lot of stupid mistakes….decisions but in the end she seems more mature than Brandon and she was very independent. Her loyalty to Brandon is commendable. Overall she is really not the worst character i have run into but she had some major faults unfortunately.

Brandon: Here is where i will got with that statement i was holding back on, he seemed very stuck in the age of 16 years old. I understand he was missing for two years, but I would think that what he went through would have changed him some but i don’t know he was kinda of childish at times, and i wish i could say it was in the boyish charm but since it was entirely in Fiona’s POV i don’t know i was getting the sense that she was slightly annoyed so therefore i was slightly annoyed with his antics, and yes he was different as well. He does not act like the adventurous young chap we meet at the beginning of the book, and he is loyal and does say/do some really sweet things, i did like him. I really did.

Villains: For me we spent too much time on one of them and not enough on the other. I knew the other would come into play but i was waiting for his appearance until way after i thought he would show up. *shrugs* maybe that is just me.

In the end I don’t think this was a terrible read at all, I did enjoy it, I did have a good time reading it.

