Image

Image

Synopsis

Dr. Dora Adler’s life has been in disarray since the beginning of the zombie apocalypse, but when she gets bitten by one of the undead, her whole world is turned upside down. Held captive in a secret underground lab, the tall, muscular hunk in the next cell is her only hope for salvation. Unfortunately, he claims to be a werewolf. Yeah, and she’s supposedly a witch.

Dirk Gunderson is an alpha Arbor pack werewolf. Captured and collared, he’s sold to the zombie lab in hopes his blood serum can create a vaccine. He needs to escape, but not without the hot little brunette witch.

In the midst of enemy werewolves and the hordes of undead, Dirk and Dora’s sexual tension ignites a blaze hotter than the desert highway. Along their journey, they battle the inevitable: a werewolf must never take a witch as a mate.

goodreads-badge-add-38px[1][1]

Purchase

Image

About the Author:

I write fantasy and paranormal novels with a strong romantic element. I love to create stories that combine my passion for mythology, romance and werewolf lore. Under my nom de plume, Sadie Winstone, I write steampunk and Victorian era historical and alternative novels.

And to satisfy my taste for the zombie/werewolf genres, Apocalyptic Moon, by The Wild Rose Press an epic paranormal romance, is officially released: May 10, 2013. Available on all formats on Amazon, The Wild Rose Press and soon, Apple, Nook, Kobo. Buy links on my website www.ravenauthor.com

Lycan Gladiator by Corvallis Press coming soon. Book 1 in the new revised Wolf Maiden Chronicles series. Please note, my original books in this series will all be revised and re-published so do be patient.

More works to follow.

I have a BS in Zoology and graduate studies in Biology. I have taught high school Biology, Environmental Science and Anatomy/Physiology. When not in my den writing, I enjoy world travel, steampunk conventions, hiking, raptor rehabilitation and wolf sanctuaries.

I also teach online workshops on wolf lore ancient falconry and animal lore for Romance Writers of America and other writer groups. If you are interested in my workshops, please contact me.

Links

My Review:

Four stars

Wow. That was quite the adventure.

I received this book for a blog tour in exchange for an honest review. And that is what I give all the time honestly honest. So thanks to Eva Gordon (the author) and Saskia Book tours

Song Choice: “The Mating Game” by Bitter:Sweet, “Invasion” by Eisley, “Cough Syrup” by Young the Gaint

First thoughts: Wow! Okay I will admit this was my first actual zombie book – when I saw actual zombie I am not talking about like Dearly, Departed where some zombies still have their minds and can still feel human emotions. Now I am talking about moaning, groaning, eat your braiiiiinnnnnssss kind of zombies. I have never seen watched The Walking Dead (don’t kill me!) I just don’t all that much TV to begin with. Anyways so I was a little like…zombies? Apocalypse? Then I saw werewolf – and I was like hell yeah I am just slightly obsessed with werewolves…just slightly. 😉 anyways so yeah I was a little nervous going in but once I started reading I was like hell yes! This is not only super interesting – it goes through the biology of the idea of zombies which yeah is oddly enough in my group of friends and I am just guessing her now common knowledge, but for those not preparing for the Zombie Apocalypse it tells you about it. And I am getting carried away in first thoughts so here we go: entertaining, education, exciting (I am thinking of e-words), erot…;) I think you can figure out the rest of that one hehehe – just kidding there are only a few sex scenes.

Thoughts on Plot: Wow talk about explosive, it moves and starts you going fast I loved it! I love books that are going to get me into the nitty gritty, and with Apocalyptic books, or dystopias I understand people want to world building before we jump right in, but it’s sort of like we are starting at the beginning stages with Dora – the MC girl, and there is a lot of world building going while we move through the story and I wasn’t lost or confused. The book is filled with a lots of different action it’s not all running from zombies and killing zombies – don’t worry there is that, but there is more as well. There is so much more! Like I said this book was quite the adventure! I enjoyed every moment of it, though near the end I was thinking, what else could possibly happen to these two Dirk – the Male MC – and Dora. They were an interesting couple as well a bit of that hate-love first strike up not like hate, hate but they fought and there was chemistry. Also their relationship in general yeah okay so there was the true mates but that was added afterwards they were already getting along quite well, and learning when to push each other. Wow my god they had a relationship! Hahaha I was being a brat sorry! Anyways back to the plot, fast paced, exciting, interesting and I really don’t think it would bore you.

Characters:

Now normally I don’t do too many casting but I am finding myself doing them more and more I find it quite entertaining actually. So here we go.

Dora:

Image

Dirk:

Image

Fang: (guess who he belongs to)

Image

Now you want to get to know them a little?

Dora: Is a Doctor goddammit not a veterinarian. And as much as I appreciate a girl making a good first generation Star Trek Joke – cause I do. That got old after about the 5th time. Sorry but it’s true. It became her go to joke and I did like the humor that Dora tried to bring in to the book and most times it worked sometimes it didn’t. But yeah sometimes one joke just loses its funny after being told so many times – sorry but it’s true. She was an interesting MC she was quite a young doctor and a lot times I had to remind myself she was only 27 years old. Don’t doctors actually become like official doctors around like 25? 26? Hell if I know I am an English major but she was quite talented for being so young. She is very smart and curious. She takes a while to believe the unbelievable but in the world filled with Zombies and hot ginger werewolves you best start being in fairytales. Cause you are living in one….(giggles) anyways I liked her she had a few good moments of freak outs but mostly kept her calm and cool. I didn’t blame her for freaking the fuck out I mean I would probably be the person who dies second in a zombie apocalypse. Anyways I did really like her.

Dirk: Huh…I love gingers. I LOVE werewolves. I LOVE LOVE LOVE alpha males. And yet I wasn’t 100 and 10 percent sold with Dirk. I love the fact that Fang belonged to him that was fantastic. Anyways back to the fact that I am not 100 and 10 % sold on him. I liked him yeah but there were times I don’t know he just rubbed me the wrong way it might have been certain parts I don’t think are allowed for a review. But for the overall part, yeah alpha werewolf ginger male? Hot yes. He was loyal and demanding and overbearing and stupid at times. But man could he handle a machete. At the beginning of the book he is sort of anti-humans not enough to be like I hope you all die, but some of his past that comes to light I think I don’t know not enough weight was pressed on it, or maybe it was how I was reading it I am not sure. Anyways in the end he is definitely not a bad character I thought he was a well-rounded character much like Dora was.

Other Side characters: I liked them they all had these separate personalities and qualities to them that I really liked. The other villains than the zombies – well done, interesting. Um people take this as it is fiction and don’t start and uproar about some of the “villains”. I am not going to say what because I don’t want to defer you from the book cause I thought it was really good.

The ending: I think that this was the end of Dora and Dirk’s story for me, now if they popped up in other people’s stories from this book because I would totally be alright reading other characters’ stories such as Falcon’s, Rave’s, I am sure there is someone else that I am not thinking of at the moment. But yeah. Yay!

