18046743

Summary Via Goodreads: 

Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.

Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life.

My Review (2 out of 5 Stars)

So I did this as a buddy read with the fantastic amazing, lovely, Nellysa and we had a lot of the same opinions on this book.

Song Choice: This is dedicated to Torin, “True Affection” by the Blow, and “I Don’t Care” by Fall Out Boy for Raine, and Eirik and Cora. 

First thoughts: Okay I understand that this book is taking place in high school, I get it I really, really do, but GOD, these characters! okay going to just calm down for a bit. I will go into depth about what it is about them that frustrated me. And i am really going to try to keep my cool because i don’t like being an asshole and i am not going to try to start now. Unfortunately this book had a lot of plot issues for me as well, the idea of the Runes was okay i guess i shouldn’t even say it but all i could think was City of Bones BUT that might also be because every other commercial on TV is reminding me how the movie is coming out in two days. But it also had what I like to refer to as the House of Night Series set-up. Not a whole lot happens until the last 10% – 15% of the book. And before i get too carried away and start on plot right here i will stop with that. The whole Norse Gods stuff super cool, loved it, wanted more of it, so so so so so much more of it. So i am going to go into plot because i keep starting too anyways. 

Thoughts on Plot: Okay if you like a book where you don’t find out about what paranormal they are until 86% into the book than okay sure read this, but as a avid paranormal reader the only books that tend to do that are books that are introducing a whole newly created paranormal and they do a whole lot of world building (like the paranormal world) this no. I was – well to be honest – slightly…sort of just disappointed. We went through this whole thing and i was expecting more I guess. The pacing was off, I am not going to lie, I was supposed to read this in two days – Nellysa did, I didn’t both because life got in the way for me this weekend, and because I had to keep stopping. I see there was the attempt at character building, and trying to give space to the reader to figure out the paranorm themselves, which is fine but seriously give to me by 50% or are i am going to start wondering why i am going on. I am sorry but its true, maybe if i wasn’t teased so many times i could have handled that better, but i don’t like to be teased that much, for that long. Like i mentioned before the House of Night Series set-up (for me those books was this nothing happens, nothing happens nothings happens, end of book: EVERYTHING HAPPENS) No. Just no. I a) don’t want all this new information crammed into one section of the book b) i don’t like to be dragged around like that c) it might have made me loose interest in this book if i wasn’t buddy reading this honestly. Okay so the plot, a lot of drama, between people, a lot of things i did not like. Villains that weren’t very clear at all. I started thinking it would be this person but then it was this person but while that is shocking sometimes this book just confused me a bit. And i will also like to mention there were parts in this book that it felt like it was trying to have grown-up moments – like almost super sexy moments – but its just turned sort of awkward and uncomfortable for me. I don’t know maybe that is just me. 

Thoughts on Characters:

(really, really sorry about this)

Rain with an E – First off, huh? I am pretty sure my first impression of her was way off because i think her and Cora switched personalities within the first few chapters. anyways I am sorry but she was a hard character for me to even pretend to like. She was selfish, rude, pissing me off most of all the time, and trying to be the victim. Sorry. But seriously some of the things she says and does makes me want to go into that book and bitch-slap her to china. I am not kidding you. Okay I get it she is a high schooler, she is young blah blah blah, but she is obviously “in love” with Torin but is dating Eirik the whole book. And then gets mad and says how it is so painful to see torin with another girl, well you are doing the same exact thing. you can’t be mad about it, grow some lady balls and break up with Eirik if you feel so strongly about torin because all you are doing is stringing Eirik around and i wish i could feel bad for Eirik but i really don’t. Anyways it just makes you a hard character for me to like. but its wasn’t only that it was her reactions to a lot of things. And everyone calls her so loyal, and smart, and i was like huh? Sorry i really hate beating on an author characters because i do understand these are like your babies but i can’t even describe how much i did not like her. I am sorry 

Eirik: what the hell happened to his camera fetish? Also things were never resolved with him, ever. Also, also I don’t think he has a personality. He seems so damn indifferent to Raine in the beginning of the book, but then decides to take the next step, acts somewhat possessive sometimes – usually only when it pleases him – and then goes back to be sort of indifferent, even as being her best friend before he kind sucks at it. 

Cora: wow. what a bitch. seriously. you push your friend into relationships then get pissed when they start dating, then you start pushing into someone’s arms and don’t even say hey raine maybe it would be a good idea if you didn’t two time YOUR OTHER BEST FUCKING FRIEND? nope? nothing? no actually you just upset about her dating Eirik, which you cannot be upset about because you never say a damn thing about it. (seriously in the book it never states that she likes Eirik but we can all tell she does) 

Torin: OH SWEET MOTHER OF GOD WHERE THE HELL DID YOU COME FROM AND CAN I HAVE ONE? I don’t know where he came from to be honest. He was fantastic. some of the things this kid said – well swoon! yeah i want one. i loved him he was one of the bigger reasons I won’t give this book a one star. another reason is because i think this book has a lot of potential but its too condensed in one area and spread out in others. anyways yeah he was fantastic. 

The ending? Well cliffhanger-ish, if you really do enjoy this book you will want the next one of that i am sure, i think that no for me though. i do appreciate certain aspects of this book but well ontop of the fact i have about a billion books i have to read for my blog, i just no. no thank you. 

if you want to check out my progression or some gifs i used in the review check them here at this link: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/668736993

