Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

“I’m disfigured. Scarred. Ugly.
When I look in the mirror, I see a stranger. When I look over my shoulder, no one’s there…
Yet I feel watched. Hunted. Afraid.
And then he tells me I’m beautiful.
He tells me I’m safe.
I believe him.
Until someone tries to kill me.
Secrets abound, danger is near, and still… my heart desires a boy with whiskey-colored eyes and far too many secrets.
Secrets that could cost me my life.
To stay alive I have to look deep, beneath the masks everyone wears, to find the truth.
To find myself.”

My Review: (4 out of 5 stars from me)

Yay, another winner by Cambria Hebert!

Song Choice: “Arms” by Christina Perri, “I Need Your Love” by Calvin Harris featuring Ellie Goulding, “Holding out For a Hero” by Frou Frou, and just for fun, “Something Is Not Right With Me” by Cold War Kids hehe kay this was suppose to give a sort of view of the book, via music, now realize that this is not going to be exact, and that I (me no one else) picked these songs so others may have VERY different opinions, and know a lot better songs to pick but these are my picks soooo :p

First thoughts: Okay so let me say this first, I actually stumbled upon these books A LONG time ago like right around the time I decided I would get over myself and start reading e-books, (wonderful decision by the way), anyways! The biggest reason i was like ehhh, i am not sure about you is because I respect your religious choices, any of them, seriously that is your business, and I have no right to tell you otherwise, and I wouldn’t. And I don’t want people preaching at me. So When I was looking at this book I was scared that this might be a preachy book, BUT a couple of days ago I read Cambria’s Recalled and I ADORED IT! So i was like, welllll i want to read her other stuff, imagine my shock when I realized she wrote these as well, small world! Anyways so I was like lets dooo this!! Good Decision, good decision indeed! I love ABSOLUTELY LOVE this amazing balance Cambria finds between both Heven and Sam, the story yeah starts out heavier about Heven but it evens out and becomes a story about them both, which is I am sorry to say but is hard to find, and done well. I honestly think that Cambria does a swell job with that…. annnnndddd i got carried away here again… okay so Awesome job Cambria!

Thoughts on Plot: Ugh see this is why i try to read one book at a time… dammit, well i don’t regret doing a buddy read but now i am trying to remember pacing for this book and scared i might it get mixed with the other…. welp i think i got it. The beginning was a little and i am sorry to admit this but it was a little to high school for my liking to be honest, that is not to say ever that Heven acted like an annoying teenager because she didn’t she was blissfully free of the dreaded teenage angst. But I will admit also i was a little annoyed also on how long it took for us to find out exactly what Sam was, and i am not going to tell you so HA! And there were a few times in the fight scenes i felt a little disoriented but i think a lot of that had to do with the fact we were still in the dark about what Sam was so Cambria was trying to keep it under wraps still. But the story was interesting, there was a lot of action going on, since this was the first book in a series, i kinda liked how it was set up, it didn’t throw the occurring problem right away, the book allowed the relationship between Heven and Sam to grow, change and well develop. And there were other issues they were dealing with in this book that were solved in this book as well, but there is more the story! yay for more to the story!!! hehee

Characters!

Heven: She is a bit of a mixture for me. While i really loved her down to earth, and general personality for the most part there were things about her that bothered me. Sometimes she just didn’t think, and if you know me at all, which you probably don’t, I LOVE it when main characters do stupid things because it moves the plot along, even though you are sitting there going: bitch don’t go outside in your nighty (that did not happen in this book) and they do anyways, yeah i love when that happens. No Heven was just being stupid about stupid things. BUTTT i can’t say what because it would be a spoiler! but GAH, but for the most part i loved her she was really a great MC she wasn’t an annoying teenager but she does have scars on her face which makes her want to hide, and once she breaks free from her shell she becomes an even better character. I did like her though because she does grow in this book she becomes so much more, especially at the end you can see her grow, she is no longer the girl waiting to be saved but she is going to do something about it. She stands up for herself and she is pretty cool at the end and i cannot wait to see what the next book has in store for Heven.

Sam: Holy hot…damn. This boy saved this book for me a couple of times when i wanted to bitchslap certain people. Sure okay someone might say some of the stuff he says is cheesy but i will fight you! seriously come at me because this man, holy man-ness. Talk about swoon-worthy! And like i mentioned in first thoughts this book wasn’t entirely about Heven it was about the growth of Sam, and I LOVE THAT, i love it i love it i love it! He is such a fantastic character, even when reading in a guys POV in other books there are times where i just don’t really feel their love to the extent they say they have, but with Sam i felt it, i believed it, i wanted it…what? i didn’t… don’t judge me, you don’t know if you haven’t read the book! OH you want some Sam quotes? yeah, well even if you say no i can’t hear you and i am going to do it anyways so :p

“Your beauty overshadows it.” He said the words easily, as if they cost him nothing. Yet they were words that were more valuable to me than anything, and I was very afraid that they cost me my heart. The very heart I had been trying to protect. – In Heven’s POV 

“I think you’re beautiful.” “Half of me.” His hand rested over my heart. “All of you.” 

“But we had tonight. All I had to do was figure out a way to make it special.” – Sam’s POV 

“She looked beautiful and soft in my world of rough edges.” sorry i just swooned, and melted at the same time…..

“But he would never love her like I do.” – Sam’s POV 

alright there are about a million more i want to put but i will stop! i suppose…

The ending: Good, for awhile i thought it was a little draggy because we dealt with the biggest issue in this book but we were also being introduced to the whole of the problem of the series i am guessing/the beginning problems of the second book but once that started going i was like, well where is the rest? now i need to know whats going to happen next, not that its a cliffie, but i mean the whole series is out i think… or i know at least the next three are out so you are safe 🙂

