17304097

Summary Via Goodreads:

“Joclyn is in hiding, hunted by the man she still desperately loves. Ryland is gone, his mind erased, no memory of Joclyn remains. But, Joclyn’s heart desperately begs her to hold out hope. While, in reality the black eyed monster that possesses him, attempts to kill her over and over.

If it wasn’t for Ilyan, Joclyn would be dead by now.

Ilyan. The man who once stalked her, is now Joclyn’s protector, the only thing she has left. He protects Joclyn from the men who seek to end her life, and while she is haunted by dreams where Ryland begs her to break the bond between them.

Ilyan is there. Always there.

Ilyan trains and prepares her, teaching her everything she needs to know in the hope that one day she can avenge Ryland, if not protect herself from him.

And then there is her father.

The man who has never been there, is suddenly responsible for everything. And who he is has made Joclyn into something she never wanted to be.

The Silnỳ.”

My Review: (4 out of 5 stars)

WWWWWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWW….WOW..JUST WOW….

Song Choice: “The Girl” by City and Colour, but really it should be called The Boy as i am dedicating this song to Ilyan. “I Don’t Care” by Fall Out Boy dedicated to only Jos at the first half of the book “Somebody I Used to Know” by Gotye, and “Sleeping Sickness” by City and Colour for the certain characters/the whole book as well.

Kay first off this is a second to a series, so yes there will be spoilers from the first book, will there be spoilers from this book, nope not unless i hide them. with a warning because I am nice. Second off I really freakin’ like the first one, actually it was a favorite, and I am sort of sorry for going off the handle in advance!

First thoughts: What the fuck was the first half of this book? I am not shitting you, what the fuck? Okay i am sorry i shouldn’t have swore. What the fudge? I will say this, as much, and seriously there were a few times i was going to give up, i am being honest okay! i am sorry! anyways i was going to give up, and i have a feeling you might considered it as well, don’t. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DON’T because it gets fantastically better, and after lifting the haze of red, hot anger, i see what Rebecca was doing for the most part. And i will elaborate in characters I promise because that is where the source of my problems stemmed from, the characters. I love you still Rebecca…please don’t be mad!

Thoughts on Plot: I thought this was very interesting, I loved the plot in this book it moved a lot quicker than the first, but then again we know everything….well almost everything well, we know what we are dealing with and we have missions! What slowed the reading process of this book for me again was the characters…or character….but moving on from that one….for now… The plot! awesome, fantastic! loved it! i really didn’t guess certain things until we were almost upon them anyways for the most part it shocked me other times not so much, it broke my heart, and torn me to pieces, the second half though comes through as the stronger in both plot and character wise much like the first book, and very much like the first book this first half was us falling for the characters… i mean character, eh screw it! it was all about falling for Ilyan. Plot = good!

Thoughts on Characters:

Um! I would like to state there might be some very how do i put this…brutal terminology, and cruel things said out of hatred but i will also explain why you should still read this book even though certain characters (jos) makes you want to rip her freaking head off. also i will try to refrain from swearing!

Joclyn (Jos): *perfectly creepy smile in place, with eye twitching and all that jazz* I am completely calm right now….my right hand is not shaking like I just drank three energy drinks and ate a bag of wild berry skittles, (no seriously i didn’t do that, i would probably die because of the sugar overload) the point is…I WAS GOING TO KILL JOS. sooo that wasn’t quite right, i am pretty sure i said i was going to murder her with a rusty knife, nooo i think it was more along of the lines of i was going to find the must painful way to kill her, and i am not a violent person, really i am not, sure i kill a few bugs here and there but that is about it, okay so maybe i have murdered a few dandelions with the lawn-mower but those were accidents, don’t judge me! So not only did i want to murder her in the most grotesque way, i was about to stop reading this book because of her. Let me get one thing said, well it will turn into about a 100 but here we go

My personal philosophy: 1) don’t trust cheaters, if they cheat on you its for a reason, and obviously they don’t love you as they claim to do (i swear this has nothing to do with Ry and Jos i will explain this has a point i am not just being weird) 2) being friends with someone, taking comfort from the opposite sex who is not your boyfriend is not cheating, its being a friend when you have no one else c) STOP BEING SUCH AN ASSHOLE JOS. (which she did i swear i will get to that)

Liked my personal philosophy? cool! now to explain: The first half of the freaking book all Jos does is complain complain complain, she doesn’t even try to get help, when someone, cough Ilyan cough tries to comfort her she cringes, seriously i am not freaking kidding you she cringes. all of the time, you will read it at least once a page (i swear i do love you Rebecca bear with me!) and i was going to murder her because Ilyan was being perfect. And i will get to him in a moment. But let me finish Jos, while i understand that she didn’t want to “betray” Ryland, i totes respect her for it here is the thing, you needed to stop after Ry tried to kill you. yeah. remember how he did that at the end of the first book? but nope you remain loyal which is about the only worthy trait you had in the first half of the book that didn’t make me want to murder you in your sleep. So as much, and i know its a struggle believe me, it gets better, so so so so so very much better. and keep with it is so so so so so so so worth it!

Ilyan: *insert loving sigh and bats eyelashes like a schoolgirl* HOW CAN ONE CHARACTER BE SO TRAGICALLY PERFECT? BEAUTIFUL? MY EVERYTHING? did i just say my……awkward. but seriously okay this is how i saw this coming into this book. We knew about the past between Jos and Ry but we experienced with Ilyan if you don’t have even a smudge of love for him this might not be the series for you because i am determine to make sure its all about Ilyan and make him our number one man, and the story to be all about him. He was another big reason i pushed on in the first half of the book. while i guessed his “big secret” i was still heartbroken for him all around. He omgosh i don’t, i can’t. He is everything i am serious and I literally felt my heart break a couple of times because of his perfection of a man. I usually don’t go for blondes but bitc…i mean ladies back the frack off this man is taken! He made the book so very worth it in my opinion…well there were a lot of good aspects about this book but I am sorry the first half Jos kind of ruined things for me, but i promise promise promise it gets better and you do love her again near the end.

I forgot to mention this before. Another reason I love Ilyan over Ryland any day of the week is because I honest to God believe that he believes in her with all his heart, he doesn’t feel the need to give her a crutch or save her from herself, he allows her to grow and become her own person…even though she still has growing to do. While Ryland tries to do everything for her.

Ryland (Ry): *glares at and i stick out my tongue at you sir!* For reals! I didn’t have the same love for him as i did in the first book he was painted in such a new light in this book, and i understand i really do, he is under his father’s power he is not himself blah blah blah, don’t try to make me team Ry cause i will hurt you! seriously 😐 that is my serious face! be aware! i can’t talk about him too much, you know spoilers….

so the ending, NOT.NICE. THANK.GOD.THE.NEXT.ONE.IS.OUT.OR.I.WOULD.GO.IN.SANE.INSANE. and i am not going to kill Jos anymore! yay!

Also did anyone else use google translate for the Czech stuff? i totally did, i feel like i cheated a little but it was worth it!

