Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

“Love or Death? A simple question really. The choice seems obvious. But. What if you never knew love, what if your life was spent just trying to survive? What if you knew your fate before you were fully grown?
And then you died.
And you were given another chance. A better chance.
This new life depended upon one thing: your job. And so you agreed. You thought it would be simple. You thought it would be cut and dry.
It never is.
And now you are left holding the fate of someone else in the palm of your hand and you have to make the ultimate choice.
Love or Death?”

Review: (5 out of 5 stars from me)

Fantastic:  so extreme as to challenge belief; exceedingly large or great 

Song Choice: Well first to explain the song choice i have been lacking on explaining because i am lazy and slightly egoistical ;), anyways these are songs that I (me, the reviewer) has picked from my awesome itunes collection or otherwise. It is just another way to understand the book, in a way…sometimes the song is general, sometimes its specific. Kay? Kay! LETSS DO THIS! “I Know You Care” by Ellie Goulding. “Bring Me to Life” by Evanescence. “You’re All I Have” and “You Could Be Happy” both by Snow Patrol (yeah i caught that Snow Patrol song), and lastly this is a special song just for Dex: “Golden” by Fall Out Boy.

First thoughts: hmmm…fuck. How do I describe this unconventional, beautiful, funny, infuriating, and all around fantastic read? Oh well look i just did! ta-da! there is my review, just kidding, seriously that would be record for me though… Anyways! This really is unconventional story I almost, only because I just read a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, I want to say this is somewhat of a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, sort of. I know that this might not be the book for everyone because even near the end i was like…hmmmm…how is this going to work…cause i will hate blah blah blah if blah blah blah does blah blah blah but i will also hate blah blah blah if she doesn’t blah blah blah, there are a lot of blah blah blahs because i can’t tell you!!!! But this for my awesome knowledge of paranormal is pretty original and its not afraid to get its hands dirty. And no you little ones with sick minds, not dirty between the sheets, but staining your hands red.

Thoughts on Plot: I thought that the plot was very intriguing, another part that i really liked this book was that when going into a “supposed” young adult novel, I automatically think, yup this story is about the girl MC, for the girl MC, and yup yup yup, well nope nope nope! Its in alternating POVs, i know NOT THAT SHOCKING, you don’t have to be mean about it! *pouts for a second* But really this story is about – for me Dex more than it is about Piper. Anyways i will get to characters later though. Sooo, anywhos back to plot, for those who like stories that don’t dance around the paranormal for the first half of the book then starts to reveal it and what nots this is the book for you, because with the alternating POVs we not only get a little paranorm from Piper but a whole lot from Dex without being all cloaks and daggers about it. I really was so into the book that I wasn’t even catching the MOST OBVIOUS things ever! well i did figure out one thing which i was proud of but the point is that for me personally this book was so hooking that i didn’t want to step back and try to figure out the little bits i wanted to get to them as soon as i can by reading the book straight through. Near the end i had to take some breaks but like i said i will get to characters sooo hold your horses. Oh well actually you know what, last thoughts on plot: new, interesting, goes against the grain, and fantastic! excellent pacing

Characters: AHHHHHHHH I AM EXCITED!

Dex: aaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh still excited! How do i even begin? I know: Girls step back his boy is mine! hehehe. He was such an unconventional (i realized i have used this word a thousands times, i don’t have a limited vocabulary, well maybe a bit limited but i like certain words!) anyways! He was the bad guy, plain and simple. He had a job to do, and its not like one of those paranorms where its like, OHH well i was suppose to kill you but now that i saw you i love you so i won’t and instead i will protect you *and for some reason i am saying this in my version of mocking a man’s voice so you should too now go re-read it in a man’s voice! its much more fun that way!* He is literally trying to kill his target while falling in love with her. Its a fact, and you find out within the first 10% of the book which is usually the amount amazon gives in a sample so i call that fair game! Anyways! He grows so much in this book, I don’t even care there were the somewhat, and i know someone else has said this “cheesy” speeches he gives, i loved them! i loved him! i loved how he grew into this oddly very lovable character that still had grit, true grit….no i didn’t watch that movie while reading this book…maybe a bit…. anyways! I really did see this as Dex’s book, we weren’t just trying to save Piper, no this was about saving Dex.

You want some Dex quotes? Well too bad if you don’t because here they come!

“She kissed me back, her lips claiming what was left of my heart and tucking it safely within her. I would’ve kissed her for hours. I would’ve kissed her for a lifetime… but as my lips covered hers, something reminded me that this single moment would have to do. “

” I kissed her harder. I kissed her for the first time, the last time, and all the times in between. I devoured her lips and tightened my arms around her until there was no space between us, knowing if I had to die, this would be the way to go.”

Piper: She was a feisty little thing! I liked her while she was feisty she was also sort of reserved. She is a little bit harder to pin down than Dex, GET YOUR MIND OUT OF THE GUTTER! jeeezz… anyways Piper was a fighter, and stubborn but she was also sweet, and while i was scared for her as a character wise, thinking she was going to be super stupid she actually wasn’t and she was quite explanatory about things if that makes sense, and i can’t explain it more than that sorry i don’t want to give anything away. I loved that she was so passionate as well because she was, this stranger she didn’t know, this kid (UM SERIOUSLY HOW OLD WERE THEY?! THEY NEVER SAID, i know its under 21 but over 17/18…anyways moving on from that) she didn’t know saves her life and she takes time to try to find him even though he is really a no one. I think she was a really good character but she took the backseat to Dex’s story, i am sorry but for me this was Dex’s story and it will always be his story to me, and I want to hug Cambria Hebert for that. So thank you!

The villain: Well that was sort of Dex wasn’t it? I like how Death was portrayed in this book cause I have read other “reaper” books or other “death as person” books even you know Hades and Devils stories and while most of those books want to do the opposite and i respect them for it, to make Death the good guy, in the end this book got it right.

“That’s the thing about death. It doesn’t care about love. It doesn’t care if you’re not done living. It doesn’t stop… It keeps coming until it claims everything a person has, until there’s nothing left.”

So am i going to continue on? ummm yeah…obviously? Am i uberly excited to start the next one? Um yup. Will i look out for more of Cambria’s books, yes, yes i will because i thoroughly enjoyed her style of writing 🙂

