This is a Seconds in a Series, unfortunately i started reviews, WAY after i read the first of this and unfortunately I will not do a small blurb on the first because I can’t REALLY remember each an every detail. I know overall i really liked it. 

But here is a summary (via Goodreads) on Dark Kiss the first in the series:

I don’t do dangerous.  

Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back. 

Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me…. 

NIGHTWATCHERS 

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising…

 

Image

Summary via Goodreads: 

My kiss can kill.

I used to be ordinary Samantha Day, but that’s changed. Now, after one dark kiss from a dangerous boy, I can steal someone’s soul…or their life. If I give in to the constant hunger inside me, I hurt anyone I kiss. If I don’t…I hurt myself.

Bishop is the one whose kiss I crave most, but if I kiss him, I’ll kill him. Then there’s another boy, one I can’t hurt. One whose kiss seems to miraculously quell my hunger. They’re both part of a team of angels and demons that’s joined forces in my city to fight a mysterious rising darkness, an evil that threatens everyone I know and love. I just wonder if I’ll be able to help Bishop—or if I’m just another part of the darkness he’s sworn to destroy….

NIGHTWATCHERS: When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising…

 

My Review: (this got a 3.5 out of 5 stars)

Honestly I have to give this a 3.5 stars. 

Before I start with the whole reasoning behind that lovely 3.5 stars its time for SONG CHOICE: “When U Love Somebody” by Fruit Bats for the romance. and “Murder In the City” by the Avett Brothers for the brothers ;). And “Clementine” by Sarah Jaffe for Samantha. 

Kay now, I loved the first book in this series, i thought it was pretty interesting and new, showed some new sides of angels and demons and those in between. I went into this really excited where we had left off from the first, with that said, yes this is going to have spoilers about the first book, no it is not going to have spoilers about this one and if i do them they will be hidden. Kay? Kay. 

So first thoughts: I can’t remember how i felt about Sam very well from the first book, but in this book she was getting on my nerves a bit. But mostly my ratings dropped because of the pacing of this book. The first half kind of dragged on, and would never end. The second half wow, information, and just stuff overload. A lot, a lot happened in the second half of this book, and honestly felt a little rushed. I think somethings were suppose to surprise me but didn’t, literally i was waiting for the book to catch up to me because i figured some of it out way before it revealed it. In the end though i do like this series, but oh i don’t know i will get to the ending later. 

Thoughts on plot: well like i said mostly in the first thoughts that the pacing seemed a little off in this one, I can’t remember how well the pacing went for the first book to be honest because its been probably 8 months since i have read it, also i have only read about 100 and half books in between so please cut me a little slack here. Anyways in this one a WHOLE lot of waiting went into the first half of this book, a WHOLE lots of it. Waiting for this to happen, waiting for that to happen. Waiting for Sam to wake up and smell the roses, or i don’t know be smart? I am that weird person who would sit and scream at a main character for you know going outside in a storm when obviously the monster is waiting out there to eat her, but you know what? i am secretly loving them, and goading them on, i LOVE IT when they do stupid things, I LOVE IT. But Sam was just being plain stupid in this book. I mean the answers were literally sit in front of her but she wasn’t doing anything about it, just making all the wrong decisions. Again good sometimes, bad most of the times. Anyways the second half, holy wows. there was just so much that happened. I think that in the end this book wanted to deal with a whole lot but didn’t give us enough space to deal with it all. Anyways so the second half there is a lot going on. Do i think it is worth pushing through the first part…depends how much you like this series. If you really curious about that mysterious father of Sam’s that Aunt Natalie was telling us all about? Curious about if Sam will or won’t get her soul back? Then yes push through and do it. You will get the answers you seek… or will you?

Characters:

Samantha: like i said in plot, she was being just plain stupid in this book at times. She was being very angst-y BUT i would like to mention that i am also re-watching Smallville for like the 2nd time, and I’m in the High School years right now and there is just so much teenage angst right now its CRA! Anyways so that might be influencing my opinions and how i read this. But I mean i still like that realist personality of Sam while myself is more of a dreamer, i like how she says how things are and she doesn’t bullshit. most of the time. its hard to say without giving anything away so i wont, bwhahahaha. I liked her at the very end. She is very self-less and honestly that is a trait i like in my MCs but that might just be me. And there is point that you are going a little to far. 

Bishop: holy hot crazy angel. I really do like him but he seemed lacking when i really think about it, they have a few scenes of kissing, and what nots and a few moments of i love you, you love me, but without actually ever saying the dreaded “L” word, and no, no its not Lesbians, its love. They lacked in saying “I’m in lesbians with you.” Anyways more about Bishop, you get to learn more about his past, which i don’t know if it was just me but i felt like it was sort of glazed over. I guess in my crazy mind more, so much more could come of his past and maybe more will become of it. I liked Bishop but he was crazier in this book, and honestly he was more about getting the job done than anything else. I mean obviously he cared for Sam, i could see that. Especially since he wanted to do so much for her. anyways!

Kraven: holy hot demon! now at the end of the first book i was very, very excited about Kraven let me tell you! I don’t normally go for the blondes but his red eyed bad boy had me from grey-girl on! but unfortunately in this book he was a bit more devious than i wanted him to be at parts. And redeeming at parts as well. He was bit more serious in this book and again he was out to sabotage Bishop and Sam but at the same time he was being sweet, and well hero like. He was hard to pin down honestly. 

In the end some really shocking things happened and we just glazed over them. I was a little, now more than a little annoyed by this fact. again for me it all comes back to pacing, there was a lot happening in the second half of this book and if it was spread out more we could have taken more time to process some stuff. the extra characters like the extras on the team blurred into the background. it was a bit disappointing but the end. Alright um the end….well unexpected that is for sure. in a way it feels very final, in other ways i could see where it could go on. Will I go on? Depends on if this book series does continue on, also what the next book would be about.

