Stephanie Constante

Image

Bio:

I’m a lifelong lover of books. I have always wanted to be a writer but never thought it was a realistic goal to try and achieve until now. I studied psychology at Florida International University which will probably explain why there might be a psychological theme in most of my books. I have been working as a psychosocial rehabilitation counselor in Miami for over four years now and apart from the horrible pay, it is a pretty decent job.

When I’m not writing I read an endless amount of Urban Fantasy novels (my favs), hang out with close friends and family, make playlists on my iTunes, and obsess about anything from the UK, particularly their amazing TV shows: Doctor Who, Sherlock, Misfits, The Fades. If you haven’t seen them, please check them out, they are absolutely amazing.

http://stephanieconstante.blogspot.com/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/stephanieconstanteauthor

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6524811.Stephanie_Constante

SURPRISE!

So again none of the authors knew that I was going to do this. They are no way influencing this ness. I think that Stephanie is a fantastic person, not only does she love amazingly good TV but she is really fun to talk to. I love that I feel comfortable enough that I can talk to these amazing women/men (but in this case women) about the books they write or just stuff in general. Stephanie definitely fits in that category. So aside from being an awesome person in general, let’s talk about her writing for a bit. Now the first two books that I read by Stephanie were part of a her Draconi Series. That’s right if you are thinking dragon-shifters you’d be correct. I read these pretty soon after I started the blog so if you go looking for them check under fantasy it will be easier to find. They were amazing! I fell in love with the fact that it wasn’t instant love or anything like that, these two in her series FELL IN LOVE. And now I am all for insta-love as well it starts the story and gets it moving, but at the same time I like conflict, I like my characters to fight for what they have. Which they can if there is insta-love but sometimes its missing. Now her new book while the romance is a little less, it’s not less amazing. It was really amazing! The first half is getting to know the characters and the second half is action, action, action! I love that Stephanie really can go from high fantasy to scifi. She is amazing writer and worth your time.

INTERVIEW!

Awesome Questions….

1)         What made you decide to write in the first place?

When I was little, I loved telling stories and hearing them. I always liked writing. I went through my poetry phase in high school where I mostly wrote about Buffy the Vampire Slayer, lol. I was and still am a colossal dork. I never saw it as something to make a career out of, just a hobby, until I heard about authors self-publishing their work and I knew that I needed to at least try it out.

 

2)         What gives you inspiration? Is there something that halts the progress in particular?

Usually rereading older books inspires me to create new ones. I think about how things will be if there are different settings or characters involved. After reading a biography of Mary Shelley and skimming through Frankenstein again, I thought about what it would be like if Dr. Frankenstein had a daughter and she fell in love with his creation. Thus the story for Pygmalia started churning away in my brain. Baptism of Fire was a different take on Beauty and the Beast.  What hinders my writing the most is my job. I write for a living. Sometimes I write eighteen paragraphs worth of notes a day about the clients in my psychosocial rehabilitation group. When I get home, I really have to push myself to focus my thoughts and get into the world I’m building. I have to also remember not to be so technical and dry when I write since that’s the way I have to be for my client notes. Music also helps a lot, I usually make three of four soundtracks to go with the book I’m writing to get me in the zone.

 

3)         What is some (cause picking one is just too hard) of your favorite books, and do you take anything away from them for your own writing?

I love the Wicked Lovely books by Melissa Marr, I love how dark they are. You just really feel that angst in her writing. I haven’t taken much from her books but I turn to a lot of classic novels. I reread Wuthering Heights and I’m working on something that has a similar tone. I love that whole, “loving someone you know is bad for you,” type stories. Still debating on giving my characters a happy ending or not. >:o)

 

4)         What’s one of the scariest moments of publishing your own books?

OMG, there are so many!!! There’s always that constant thought in the back of your mind that people will dislike your characters. I love my characters, it sounds kind of silly but when someone doesn’t like them, it’s like someone telling my they don’t like friends, lol. It’s hard not to get defensive but that hasn’t been too much of an issue . . . yet. Getting someone to edit your work is really hard as well. You take a chance on someone and if they mess up, people turn to you and you can’t blame anyone but yourself really, so that’s something that you just learn to deal with and move forward.

 

Kay now for some fun questions:

 

1)         If you could meet any character, ever, who would it be? (Why if you desire to share) also can be one of your characters.

Geez, I don’t know if I can pick just one! I guess at the moment I’d love to party with Tyrion Lannister. He would be so much fun to kick back and have a few cold ones with.

2)         If you can choose from:

a.         a pony farm, unicorns included if desired (or dragons)

b.         a library filled with books you would be interested in reading

c.         to go to the moon

…. which would you choose.

Shut up, for realsies? I can’t pass up a Pony/Dragon farm!! That would be sooooo epic. Eek! So where is this farm you speak of and when do I get it??? :oP

 

3)         What is your favorite type of paranormal (mythological, supernatural, whatever you can think of) creature?

It used to be Mermaids but lately I’m loving Shifters. I love the idea of beings that are able to transform into something else, doesn’t matter what.  I’d totally love that power.

 

4)         What book should I read next just kidding! But what’s on your next to read list?

I’m currently reading Passing as Elias by Kate Bloomfield; it’s a pretty interesting story so far. There’s also a book coming out in July by Melanie Harlow called Speak Easy. I’m really excited about that.

***THANK YOU SO MUCH Stephanie! Best Whovian I know!***

Stephanie’s Books!

Image Image Image

Pgymalia:
http://www.amazon.com/Pygmalia-The-Rebellium-Series-ebook/dp/B00D4FHQQY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1371305643&sr=1-1&keywords=pygmalia
Baptism of Fire:
http://www.amazon.com/Baptism-Fire-Draconi-Series-ebook/dp/B0097QL78W/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1371305675&sr=1-1
Incendio:
http://www.amazon.com/Incendio-Draconi-Series-ebook/dp/B00AUBP3LU/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1
QUESTION: Got Three Chances to win a copy of Pygmalia

What kind of shifter would you like to be and why? 

***Also if you do win a copy, be kind and write a review 🙂 ***

