Airicka Phoenix 

 

Image

 

Bio:

Airicka Phoenix is the best-selling author of The Touch Saga, The Dare Trilogy and Games of Fire with short stories in Whispered Beginnings: A Clever Fiction Anthology and Midnight Surrender Anthology. When she’s not hammering away at the keyboard, she can be found banishing pirates or crawling through the attic looking for lost treasure with her kids. She loves baking, gardening and reading. She also likes to travel and take pictures of everything she comes across. When asked, Airicka describes herself as a sarcastic basket case that has an unhealthy addiction to chocolate, old movies and really bad jokes. She loves to laugh, make friends and write. If she could have one wish granted, it would be to spend one day as a fly-on-the-wall inside Stephen King’s mind. If she could have two wishes granted, she would ask for a castle dedicated entirely to her overwhelming collection of books.

Social Networks:

Twitter (@AirickaPhoenix) – https://twitter.com/#!/AirickaPhoenix

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Airicka-Phoenix/252135634831614?ref=hl

Design Page – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Airickas-Mystical-Creations/462373910480084

GoodReads – http://www.goodreads.com/AirickaPhoenix

Pinsterest – http://pinterest.com/airickaphoenix

Author Site – http://airickaphoenix.com/Author

SURPRISE!

So NONE of the authors, or PAs knew about this sorry Kimberly even you didn’t know bwhaha. This is the part where I get to have a little bit of fun and tell you how I feel about the author, and their writing in general. Now, I think that Airicka is fantastic, and while I am at it I would like to do a shout out to Kimberly Schaaf because she is an absolute doll and a half! She is Airicka’s PA and designed us a new banner for our Facebook page, and yay! She was super helpful as well, so THANKS KIM!!! (Thank Kim everyone!) Alright now Airicka is a total sweetheart as well. So on to her writing shall we? Now I fell in love with the sarcastic, but loving voice of Fallon from Airicka’s first book in the Touch Series “Touching Smoke”. And things took a dramatic (in a good way) change in the Standalone/part of the Touch Series in “Touching Eternity” Amalie was well heartbreakingly beautiful. Let’s not forget “Games of Fire” which I mistook for a paranormal romance, I was misled though. But it was still a fantastic book. It is obvious to me that Airicka can write a wide range and I am excited to see what she has in store for us in “Octavian’s Undoing” which is due to release at the end of this month? Either way Airicka’s books manage to pull in you into the story and doesn’t let go until you finish even then you are still stuck in the story for weeks on end.

INTERVIEW:

*skips into the room, which is a completely acceptable thing to do, I assure you.*

Hello everyone! Thank you for having me.

 

1)         What made you decide to write in the first place?

Well originally, I wanted to be a unicorn, but… lol. JK. I started to write because my gr. 3 teacher asked us to write a short story with pictures and, me with my obsession with Beauty and the Beast, took matters into my own hands and rewrote the entire thing. It was morbid and a little gory for an 8yrold, but I’ve always had problems with the way the movie ended. Lol.

 

2)         What gives you inspiration? Is there something that halts the progress in particular?

I’m like an ADD squirrel and I wish I was lying about that. I’ll be chugging along, minding my own business, lost in a world of writing when something sparkly catches the corner of my eye and ooo! There’s a new plot. Yes, truthfully, it really is that easy. As for halting, children with a ton of questions (why is the sky gray? Why do birds fly? What is the meaning of life?!), children with a ton of complaints (Moooooommmmm!!! favorite key word). Hunger, bathroom breaks (hate this one!)… but you just have to go with it and make sure you remember to take breaks.

3)         What is some (cause picking one is just too hard) of your favorite books, and do you take anything away from them for your own writing? 

Okay, I’m going to come right out and say this… that is the meanest question on the planet and I am glowering at you through my computer as we speak for asking it. Do. You. Feel. It?! It’s kind of like asking which of your fingers do you like because we’re going to cut the rest off. Yeah, okay that’s a little extreme, but you know I’m right. *grumble* If I HAD to pick a favorite book or two, I would have to say the Harry Potter series will always be my #1 favorite series of all times and I strive to always take something away from everything I read because I believe books are for learning things and every author implants a tidbit that you might never have known about. For example, in Harry Potter, I had no idea you could travel through the fireplace. Quite fascinating. I’m looking into trying this one out once I get a fireplace installed. Will keep you informed of my progress.

4)         What’s one of the scariest moments of publishing your own books?

Well I first walked into this enormous publishing world, I literally felt like a flea. I felt small and totally lost. I knew absolutely nobody and from everything I was reading on blogs and other places with ‘information’ about how new authors were not accepted into the writing world and how it was an author eats author world (not literally, of course… I hope). I was completely freaking out. So basically starting off and everything about it are the scariest moments of any author’s life (unless you have children then it’s probably the second or third scariest moment of your life), but that first book will be everything you love and hate.

Kay now for some fun questions: (oooo, I like fun questions!)

1)         If you could meet any character, ever, who would it be? (Why if you desire to share) also can be one of your characters.

I want to meet Spencer Rowth from Games of Fire, and not for the pervy reason you’d think (get your mind outte the gutter!). I would love to see if he’s as snarky and smirky as he is in my head.

2) If you can choose from:

a. a pony farm, unicorns included if desired (or dragons)

b. a library filled with books you would be interested in reading

c. to go to the moon

…. which would you choose.

Uh… Library, of course. I don’t think there’s even a single doubt in my mind. Then I’d steal the dragon and use him to guard the doors. Nothing says do not disturb like a pissed off dragon, me thinks. 😉

 

2)         What is your favorite type of paranormal (mythological, supernatural, whatever you can think of) creature? 

The phoenix (come on, you saw it coming!). I love phoenixes. I love what they stand for and what they represent – rebirth, second chances.

 

3)         What book should I read next just kidding! But what’s on your next to read list?

Um, my tbr list is so long, so disturbingly, ridiculously long that I could probably build a house with all the books. But I’m very anxious and excited to Read Today Only by Derinda Love (http://www.amazon.com/Today-Only-D-Love/dp/1484935640). I’ve heard amazing things about it and I know the author who is a dear friend. She’s absolutely fantastic and I’ve heard incredible things about the book so I’m quite excited. It’s definitely next on my list.

 

Thank you ladies so much for having me visit your blog. You know what I fan of yours I am so it’s just wonderful to be here to sit down with you and chat with your lovely readers. I hope we can do it again someday soon. ❤

**A Special Thanks to Airicka, and Kimberly, you guys are amazing!**

Airicka’s Books:

Image Image Image Image

Games of Fire:

http://www.amazon.com/Games-of-Fire-ebook/dp/B00BFIR2HU/ref=pd_sim_kstore_2

Touching Smoke (Touch Series 1)

http://www.amazon.com/Touching-Smoke-Touch-Series-ebook/dp/B008RB72NW/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Touching Eternity (Standalone/1.5 Touch Series)

http://www.amazon.com/Touching-Eternity-Series-Standalone-ebook/dp/B00AQQDVTU/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Octavian’s Undoing

(To be Released but Add it to your Goodreads looks good)

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17725095-octavian-s-undoing

SOOO Airicka is gonna pick the winner of 1 of each of her books, ANNNNNDDD an ARC copy of “Octvian’s Undoing” excited? I know I am!

QUESTION: 

So if you had to pick any super power, what would it be and why? 

(as pre-usual, if you win, please write a review, its the kind thing to do)

