Image

Summary:

College-bound Lexi Adams leads no ordinary life. Premonitions dictate her every move compelling her to rescue strangers day and night. After years of self-sacrifice, she decides to ignore one, but innocent people die. So, when the next premonition depicts her own death, Lexi has a decision to make.

Except more complications arise when a series of strange illnesses and murders devastate her small town, and co-worker Jessica Nelson insists Lexi can help. According to Jessica, everyone is born with an inner energy called Essence. Only a select few, Amethysts, can control Essence and heal people. Jessica claims to be an Amethyst and asks Lexi to join her and a group of her friends as they track the murderers.

Lexi considers helping them only to find out that not only do Jessica’s friends have a hidden agenda, but they also harbor extraordinary abilities. Even more unsettling, they have connections with the Ray-pacs – the sadistic killers who are preying on human Essence. Ultimately, Lexi must decide if life, not death, equals salvation. And if so, is she willing to make sacrifices and join her friends in eradicating the Ray-pacs?

Amethyst is the first novel in the Guardian series, a spellbinding young adult, urban fantasy series laced with paranormal elements.

FREE in eBook format at Smashwords.com, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Kobo, and Diesel.

My Review: (this got a 3.5/4 stars out of 4 from me)

YAY FOR FREE BOOK

Note: Free, and it was pretty awesome. free.

I feel like i want to give this a 3.5 (but a very high 3.5 obviously)

Song Choice: “Another Lonely Day” by Ben Harper, and “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J There are my song choices that i think reflect certain aspects of the book, yay! The song that i was listening to as reading the last chapter that i think ended very nicely for me was an instrumental called “In Reverence” by David Tolk, try that! BWHAHA so there is that.

First thoughts: While I thought this was a very interesting, new concept and I did really enjoy it at some points I felt almost like it was going to do a total 180 on me and be like HA, just kidding! Like it was misleading me but not really because i think it was my own crazy brain doing stupid stuff. I thought that yes this was really good book, and yes i think that is worth checking out. There was just something I guess that feels slightly off for me as I am writing this review. I guess one thing I recognize is that I felt like it was going to go Prophecy on my ass, and I was like no please don’t. There are so many prophecy books. I did like the twist though. YOU KNOW i think i figured out what bothered me so much. But i’ll talk about that in plot.

Plot: Didn’t have to wait to long now did you? It took FOREVER for her to get answers, and not because of her fault at all. And i get that this is the first book in a series, and i get it we want to take things slow but i was going mad with the whole, oh we will wait until next weekend to tell you. UM JUST TELL ME RIGHT NOW! Thats not to say that this book was mostly sitting around waiting for answers, some things were revealed through other means, and there was other action going on. I read it fairly quickly, it didn’t felt like i was rushed or like it was dragging or anything like that so yeah it was a pretty well paced book only information i wanted to learn wasn’t learned to very very very very VERY end of the book. I guess that was my biggest problem we could have spread it out more, and i didn’t understand why it was so important that everyone was there for her to learn this new stuff because really only one person did the talking and i am starting to rant and ramble a bit so i am going to let it go. seriously letting it go. So this is a new type of supernatural…paranormal? person that I have yet to have encounter. I do think that it was really interesting though. But the info was kind of smushed together hence my anger from a moment again i am letting go again.

Thoughts on Characters:

Lexi (Alex/Alexandria): I had a hard time believing that she was only 18 to be honest. I kept thinking that she was a lot older than just recently graduated from High School, that is compliment i promise. I loved her she was really mature for her age. When I read the summary i thought that she was going to be bitter of this gift that she has and that is why she was willing to ignore the premonitions but that isn’t the case, and that is very misleading my opinion so if you are thinking she is going to be super antsy and all that fun stuff she really isn’t. She feels such guilt over the life that was lost, and I totally respect her and I really did like her. I thought while though she was sort of calm and cool about most things she was witty, smart, and when she need to be a bit saucy.

Yes there were two love interest, but one of the amazing things about Lexi was that she didn’t do the annoying i love him, but i love him too thing. She acknowledges her interest in both guys but knows pretty much off the bat who she wants to be with and she doesn’t try to string one along while with the other. Once she makes up her mind, she made up her mind.

So Jason: He is very rude actually. At first i thought that he was trying to be snark-y in that sexy kind of way but really he just seems like an ass. And it really doesn’t get explained again until the end. I mean he does stop acting so standoffish and rude but he still does have this i don’t know how to put it really but this sort of wall between him and Alex as he calls her. Anyways it took awhile for me to warm up to him but i did, and I did come to like his type of humor and i could see that he was kind of sweet in his own strange way.

Ash: Now he was fun. He is adrenaline junkie who disappeared about at the half way, 60% mark but I know in the summary for the next book he reappears which is why I am willing to talk about him. Anyways Ash is a huge ass flirt, he is arrogant and very VERY straight forward, he is the type of guy that says exactly what is on his mind without thinking of the consequences. But yeah i really did like him. He was charming, and HOLY HOTNESS there first kiss, wow. talk about wow. I can’t wait to see more of him.

The other characters were pretty well done as well, there were a couple extras that help and are bigger parts of the plot but i am lazy and don’t want to go into much depth about them.

The ending… um no. Cliffhanger? meh not really, but the second one is out anyways so you have nothing to worry about. Will i read the next one? Well thanks for asking that is really sweet of you! Anyways probably. Most likely i will. I really want to know what will happen.

