Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

“Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.”

My Review: This got a 4.5 stars out of 5 from me

HOOOLLLYYY… FUCK-ASUARS.

THAT ENDING? HOLY… FUCK… okay Um…wow. What am I suppose to do? I don’t even know. Functioning is not turning out well, in all reality i should wait like a year until the next book comes out to do the review on this one. But that is a horribly bad decision.

Alright Let’s DO THIS THING!!

Song Choice: EASY! “All These Things That I’ve Done” by The Killers paired with “Smile Like You Mean It” also by The Killers. There are just so many songs that I would like to assign but I am going to go with one, maybe two more. “I’m Not Calling You a Liar” by Florence + Machine. And nope i am going to end it with that. Reasonings, well spoilers. (And yes i imagine myself saying that like River Song, everytime, if you don’t know who that is, well you need to look up Doctor Who and hole up for like a week and watch it.)

First Thoughts: I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Kiersten White, I loved the Paranormalcy Series. I really did, everything from Evie, to the paranormals to the plot, to Lend. My GOSH I LOVED LEND. Anyways. So now that you know that. Initially yeah i was excited to check out her new series, I mean usually if you like one author’s things maybe you will like what they also have to write. Thinking this might be the same style, BOY that was a surprise. While yes i can see some of the aspects of Mind Games in Paranormalcy, well i suppose it would be the other way around, but i am keeping it as is. But it was also so completely and utterly different, and that was refreshing. Its nice to know that characters are recycled, or plot either. Now I love sci-fi as much as I love paranormal, but its hard to find really good sci-fi with powers and all that jazz without it turning into completely and utterly, Government, and experiments. This yes might have had some of that aspect really it wasn’t a story about that. So move onto plot? I think yes.

Plot: OH MY SWEET JESUS. I am slightly at a lost right now. I had it all planned out in my head, what i wanted to mention, what i wanted to comment on, but my mind was blown and now my thoughts have scattered so I am terribly sorry if its a bit jumble-y. Kay while I will admit, and this is why I feel slightly wrong giving it a complete 5 star rating, it really did remind me of Shatter Me at points. Not with the dystopia or anything, but with the main character, well Fia. While they weren’t the same on any level there were similarities. But i will get into that during characters. I loved, which i don’t like a lot of people will agree with me on this one, and i totally understand that and respect that, anyways I loved that a lot of this book went back into the past. I would openly say half, it would do maybe like two chapters here and now (present in the book) then do a chapter of whoever’s chapter it was in the past, whether it was 10 years, or 4 years, to 3 months. I found it fascinating, it shaped the overall story better. Looking into these girls past throughout of the book verses throwing it all at you in the beginning. Risky, yes. For me personally? I thought it worked better, both gaining information at the right moments.

Here is one of the really great things about this book that i loved, loved, loved was how it really dictated how you read it. Does that make sense? The book allowed you to know what it wanted you to know. when it wanted you to know. You felt how the characters/the story wanted you to feel. At least that is the experience that I had. And i absolutely ADORED THIS. Words can’t describe how jealous i am of this writing style, i think that its hard to achieve and Kiersten White did it beautifully. I like to pretend (but not really pretend, because its true) that i have this super-power and i am sure many other readers do as well, to predict what a book will do, and most of all the times I am right. I couldn’t even fathom thinking I could understand what would happen next in this book.

Characters:

**Told in the shifting between two sisters Annie (the older, and blind sister) and Fia (the other sister)

Kay we are going to start with Fia: OMGOSH. So while i loved her character completely and utterly she was the one who sort of reminded me of Juliette from Shatter Me. There was a mention of being shattered apart, and its a great analogy that doesn’t belong to Tahereh Mafi by any means but I just associated it with her because I did love Shatter Me as well. Anyways so i really liked her almost off kilter personality, and how she was really unstable for the most part. I felt with her the most. I felt so lost, so very very very lost. And yes if you read the book i hope you are catching the three things, its a thing that Fia does in her characters. (oh i loved that the sisters yes were slightly similiar as sisters are, but they are completely different as well, as ALL SISTERS ARE. trust me i am a fucking expert I have a twin sister and an older sister. Trust me i know sisters). Anyways back to Fia, she is dangerous i don’t know how else to put it. She can fight like no one’s business, and she has to do horrible, horrible, horrible things. While its obvious to her that she is slipping into this empty shell of a person she still in the end cares. She cares about life. She cares about other’s lives. But most importantly she will do anything, absolutely anything to protect her sister. (okay a way to think of it is as Sam and Dean’s relationship but with girls!) I love that she is this total BA but still has this strange innocence to her that you can’t quite shake no matter how much you try. It was an interesting, complex character and i really liked her.

Annie: NOW i am slightly unsure how i feel about Annie to be perfectly honest. I don’t know if i want to hate her, or call her as courageous and passionate? (seems like a bad choice in words) to keep her sister safe as well. Annie makes mistakes i get that, but at the same time i become so committed to Fia without even trying that when i should be siding with Annie and i should be connecting with her as well, i almost start resenting her a little bit. But I get it, she does want to keep her sister safe, in the end she does try to make everything better. Annie was a good strong character as well.

James: MOTHER OF FUCKING GOD. This kid had me thinking that down was up and up was side-ways, and everything in between. I still don’t know entirely how i feel about him if i have to be 100 and 10 percent honest here. I want to hate him, i want to love him, i want, i want, i want so much. I don’t think i can write about him without giving anything away so i won’t.

Adam: total sweetheart and i adored him. In the end i understood. I did. (sorry if you didn’t read the book you are going what the fuck is she talking about? i can’t explain sorry, spoilers)

The ending, well i think its obvious on my feelings about that. Total mind-fuckingly awesome, and omgosh i am still reeling over it. probably will be for awhile to be honest. Cliffie? Ehhhh… i don’t know if i can really call it a cliffhanger, shocking yes. cliffhanger? i am on the fence…

if you’d like to check out status updates you can here: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/388758717

