Image Image  11022222

Image

Hey there!

So this is going to be an odd post. See here is the thing, I started this blog after I started to read a lot of indie books, well I forced Andrea (who isn’t died, she just actually you know, has a life) to do this blog with me, after I started reading a whole lot of indie books, and I wanted to get the word out about them! But yes crazy as it seems I read mainstream stuff as well, HarperTeen, HarperAdult as I like to call it, and etc, etc. Well this is a series that I love dearly. And i just finished the fourth book and so I am going do a collective thoughts on the series, a little… a lot less in depth type of review that I usually do. And a short special thing on the last book that is up on Goodreads. So before I do that, HERE IS THE SUMMARY TO THE FIRST BOOK, and FIRST book only, because a) other summaries may contain “spoilers” and i think that is cheating. so i guess there is only one point….alright LETS DO THIS!

Summary via Goodreads For Touch of Frost:

“My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy; a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody’s head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest. But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I’m determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why; especially since I should have been the one who died…”

Now for my Overall thoughts on the series as a whole/other stuff:

Plot-wise: This in my opinion is very, very odd, but horribly intriguing new thing, I don’t want to call it paranormal, but it sort of is, I don’t want to call it mythological but its is. I don’t want to call it fantasy, but it sort of is, I don’t want to call it a mystery, but it sort of is. So i am going to call it a jumbo of awesomeness. This isn’t vampires vs werewolves, and its not angels vs demons, NO KIDS this is honest to God: Spartans vs Ninjas, Gypsys vs Valkyries, every type of warrior there has ever been, in very type of culture. For reals! So not only is it.. at least in my experience, original, but the writing and the pacing oh my god! Talk about amazing. This woman can write. I can remember the first book, it was during summer, i didn’t move from the spot on my couch in the basement until i finished the first book. You want to know what i did when i finished it? Ran up the nearest Barnes and Noble and got the next one. You want to know what i did after that? returned to my spot. After that i realized the next one didn’t come out for a couple months so i cried, and screamed, and had a good time. So what I am trying to say is that this is amazing.

Now not only is the plot worthy of your time, money, and ever loving devotion, but the characters? WOW THE CHARACTERS! Now some of my favorite characters god they range but, as much as i love a lot of my MCs, I do have a few that just stand out a little more than the others, sorry! Kat from The Lux Series, Celia Wird from “Sealed With a Curse” there are a few more I promise but this isn’t about them sorry.

No this is about a whole group of amazing characters that i love dearly.

Gypsy Girl/Gwen Frost being one of them. She is just awesome incarnated. Gwen is the best. Always and forever, she is one of my most favoritest MCs ever! she is just all around awesome-ness. She is spunky, compassionate, sassy, and is unbelievably brave.

Logan Freaking Quinn, is LOGAN FREAKING QUINN ‘nough said! but really i love our Spartan Man and yes i am going to steal him and make him mine forever…what? i didn’t say that… but seriously, girls watch out i am going to steal him.

There is Daphne: the unlikely Best Friend also as fierce and Bad ass as Gwen. She is spunky and fun and I truly do enjoy this techno-girlygirl- warrior.

Carson: shy, sweet, but brave and loving.

Kenzie and Oliver: our other Spartan men. Love them as well they are great supporting characters that are friends with Logan first and Gwen wins their hearts pretty quickly.

And every one else: awesome. (give me a break we are four books in, with a whole lot of characters to deal with so give me a little leeway here).

Kay thoughts on the last book, well for a better “review” you can check it out at Goodreads, i did something very unusual for myself and used a bunch of gifs so you can check out those and my statuses throughout the book there if you want: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/373675476

Now for the “review” if you haven’t read this series you can read this i am super vague about everything.

Review of fourth book: (sort of) 5 out of 5 stars  as if you had to ask

Words don’t describe how much I love this series. Well they do, but not quite as well as seeing my reactions its actually kind of funny to watch according to my friends and family.

Now for the real type of review that i do, but shorter. I started reviewing stuff late last year, but here is the thing i started this series, a year or so ago? AND I LOVE IT, i truly truly do but i never did reviews before so here is me catching up!

Song choice…god damn that is hard. i want something light and fun because this book have that great light, fun feeling to them but …. not really, i mean its all really serious and down to earth, its just a great mixture of stuff, so i am going to go with “My Lovely” by Eisley, and “Let’s Kill Tonight” by Panic! At the Disco….. yeah i went there.

So there is the fantastic thing about this series, aside from it being inventive, interesting, intriguing and utterly and totally amazing. The writing is even better! The plot awe-inspiring and addictive. The writing will have you reading until the dawn breaks on a new day because you were foolish enough to start reading this at like 7 pm. Silly you! Silly me! Anyways the point is that while most of these books in this series literally is the span of a day or two, sometimes a week, that is exactly how it feels when you read it. It most so fast, and so well paced that its like working with the span of time of the book. Its just AWWWW-MAZING. I don’t know how else to describe my love for not only this writer but this series.
I’d have a baby with this series, and honestly I don’t even know if I want children. I would probably kill to protect this book

Kay for this book, plot awesome, fast paced as always in this series. I am going to make this real short for me because yeah. I don’t want to do a whole long thing and i don’t want to give anything away. I loved it, it made me biting my nails, had me sick to the stomach with worry, had me laughing, had me almost in tears, a fleet i promise you. So yes I LOVE YOU JENNIFER ESTEP… shit did i just say that out loud…. oh shit…. um awkward? NAH I DON’T EVEN CARE CAUSE ITS TRUE!

The rest you have already read up there about characters 😉

wonderful series. best even.

