Image

Summary Via Goodreads:

“Some secrets change your life forever.

Have you ever felt invisible? I do. Everyday. I can’t get close to anyone, and people can’t get close to me. Everytime I feel a friendship beginning, something inevitably happens, and I become invisible again. Unseen. Ignored. It’s been a part of me for so long that it’s hard to imagine anything different.

Then the Saguinox arrive, and my life is forever altered. People are fascinated by these beautiful creatures who look and talk like us. They’re alluring. Seductive. Intoxicating. And two of them are going to my school. Rhys is everything I shouldn’t want, but his eyes are like something from a memory. I can’t help but be intrigued. He’s the only one who can really see me.

Some secrets you’re better off not knowing.

I had been found on a cold winter night with nothing but a blanket, and ashes covering my skin. My mother saved me from death, and took me in with love. But she couldn’t save herself. I didn’t think heroes were real anymore until the day Kaiden saved me. I couldn’t believe in miracles until the day he revealed I was the miracle they had all been hoping for. Deep inside I always knew my past mattered.

I just didn’t know my life would depend on it.”

My Review: This got a 4 out of 5 from me

THAT IS NOT A NICE WAY TO END A BOOK GODFREAKING DAMMIT. okay i am calming down… give a minute…
MSPOIHGFAS;KJDGHPIH okay i’m good.. maybe..no i am good.

Song choice time! This one was a really hard one so the best that i can come up with right meow is “Soldier’s Poem” by Muse, and “Dead” By My Chemical Romance.

First thoughts: This isn’t a happy tale, honestly I went right into this just reading the summary. I thought this was going to be a story about finding acceptance, and finding love. BOY was I in for a huge ass surprise. This book made me feel as trapped and hopeless as I imagine Kenna felt in the book. I thought at for sure that I would just have to give up because it felt so heartbreaking at points that i wanted to give up. Only i kept going, i found reasons to hope, and before i knew it i was almost done with the book and i didn’t even realize how much time had passed. My thoughts first thoughts though? Yes i would recommend this, would i say its for everyone? no. If you don’t like books that have darker themes, not too dark where we are talking rape or anything like that but anyways it might not be for you. But if you are willing to try something new then yes. I say hell yes.

Plot: I really liked the idea that it was presenting. My first real experience with aliens in the book form has been the Lux Series and they are amazing, but from what has spurted from that, or i just discovered because of my liking for it, has usually been the friendly aliens that have another alien race are bad, but the ones we know are sweet and kind, and want to save the world. Well thats not the case here. I don’t want to go into much because you know spoilers and all that. This was interesting, intriguing, but there were moments i was so lost that google maps couldn’t find me directions. So i will admit there are a few of those moments but it becomes…sort of clearer? later. Don’t stop that you from reading this because honestly it was two MAYBE and that is a BIG maybe three times. There was a lot of action in this book, its more adventure heavy then romance, but there is romance. Again i don’t want to say anymore about the plot because i don’t want to give anything away. Okay while i am at it, this isn’t just aliens, this is so much more and i like the other different creatures/beings that are introduced.

Characters:

Kenna: is literally invisible people, think Princess Dairies movie with Anne Hathaway when she gets sat on by that guy in the courtyard, people literally do not see her until they bump into her, and i don’t think that is ever explained…hmm now i am wondering why… anyways moving on. She is a sweet girl though, but she is lonely and i can’t blame her to excited when a handsome new boy notices her, really sees her. Her conversations are a bit stranger than i suppose i was expecting from someone who doesn’t have any friends, but she is charming, and pretty witty when she needs to be. She has a lot of compassion, and that worries me slightly for the future but can’t say why 😉 i think at times maybe she is a little too forgiving. (huh i am just wondering…about something else too…there were quite a few unanswered things that i want answered…) either way though when i expected her to bend and break, she didn’t she was strong and a survivor.

Rhys: I don’t know exactly how i feel about him right now. As any tall, black hair, glowing golden eye alien i am instantly attracted, i mean come on how can you not be? But he is charming with Kenna one moment and totally cold the next. There are a few incidents in this book where the POV shifts to his POV which is interesting and gives you a better insight to him. But i can tell that he cares for Kenna even if he is a hard person to crack. He is flirty with her, but when needs to be he is very serious and unforgiving in his mannerisms. i will admit he is a little hard to like.

Kaiden: Kaiden on the other hand, well i sort of fell in love with him the moment we met him. I have a soft spot for Gingers (also i might be convinced they are going to take over the world one day and i surround myself with them so that i will be safe…i am not crazy…nope…not at all) He is funny, and just good old fashion boy-ish charm with being a man while he is at it. He is going to be break my heart and i know it because well it won’t be his fault. But i love him, i really do.

Kay so the ending? well obviously i was pissed. Well i am pissed. freaking steaming…anyways damn cliffhanger, being all cliffhanger, mother freaking god….okay seriously i will be stewing over this for awhile….anyways in GENERAL there were a LOT, ALOT ALOT of unanswered questions that i am dying to know the answer to. So yes i will be reading the next one in this series, as soon as possible i might add, i don’t think its out right now but will be checking that out.

