Image

Summary via Goodreads:

“A chronicle of my time living in a zoo . . . I’m not really sure where to start, and you may have trouble believing me even as I tell you my story. My family did. They laughed the first time I told them, so now I just say it was all a crazy dream. You see, I died in a totally preventable car accident . . . or so I thought. When I opened my eyes, I was shocked to discover that I had been resurrected into the year 2282 and, just as unbelievably, was locked up in a zoo! A HUMAN ZOO! Oh wait, I mean the People’s Past Anthropological Center.

The Global Government created the Centers because all of the different cultures of the world had, over centuries of time, slowly absorbed into one uniform culture. Everything and everybody felt the same, and the world didn’t like it. So, to help the people of 2282 find cultures they thought worthy to live their lives by, they used time travel to zap the people of the past into the future. They created enclosures to house their live human exhibits. And that’s what happened to me. I became a research project, a source of entertainment. I was a prisoner who was over two hundred years away from my family and friends.

Most of my time in the enclosure was spent trying to escape. I also made friends, lost friends, fell in love, was betrayed, was held captive within captivity, and lots of other fun stuff. There were some shocking moments and some devastating moments . . . It’s a lot to recount, but I’ll try my best to tell you all about my time travel . . . PAST, PRESENT, and FUTURE.

I’m Emma, by the way.”

My Review: This got a 3 out of 5 stars from me)

Jumping right in….I almost am considering a 2.5 stars but i think the very last half of the book saved this to a three stars, and mind you a 2 stars doesn’t mean i hated it, it just means i thought it was okay, i got by what it says when you hover over it.

Song Choice: True Affection by The Blow, only Kale would be the girl singing the song (representative-ly of course, and the boy “she” is singing about would be Emma)

First thoughts: Um God i don’t think that this is a good idea. Alright I really did love the idea of this book, when I read what is about the summary or what nots i was like hell yes i want to read this, and if am being honest the plot is what kept me going up until about 70% of the book, maybe even a little later, because i seriously HATE Emma, the MC, and i will explain why so don’t go all postal on me yet, because i do have actual reasons. But then about half way through the book it started to feel a bit like the Hunger Games, it does kinda of get rid of that a little after, and i don’t care if a book has some of the same ideas but i think since i was already royally pissed off when i hit this point it didn’t help matters.

So Plot: Like I said before I was really excited about the plot, i liked the idea that was being represented. I thought it was very interesting, and I haven’t ever come across something like this in a very long time i think i had seen another like adult book with almost the same idea but i cannot remember its name, and it didn’t grab my attention as much as this one did. I thought that it keep the story moving even though at some points i pulled away from it and thought to myself, well how ARE they going to do anything because i mean they are in a Zoo best thing that can happen is the escape, and if they do that book over? nah! it throws in a couple a twist that i guess i didn’t really see coming, and a few things that i did see coming. Either way the plot was good for the most part, i guess i was very curious about the outside world, outside of the Zoo what the world was like in the future, but we never go out there. Don’t worry it does have a happy ending, so calm down. Anyways the only other thing again is the Hunger Game feel it had for a moment but again i was royally pissed off about other things than so shall i rant to you know about why this book cannot go over a three stars for me? sure why not.

Characters:

Emma: i REALLY hate you, seriously i think i still hate you even if you had a BIT of a character change at the last quarter of this book. So let me start from the beginning, When you arrived at the Zoo you were kinda of a bitch to the other girl whose name is escaping me at the moment i will think of it i am sure, anyways you were a bitch to her and i let it go because i understand you scared, lonely, and want to escape and she is kinda of okay with everything that happened, understandable, but then you got all super possessive over her WAVING? to the Cowboy across the way James. Seriously? Calm the frick down. Then (i am not even going to touch relationships – the romantic kind – yet) anyways then when Paul? Henry…the all American Boy whose name also escapes me sorry i am bad with names, anyways when he and Kale arrive and James has been missing for awhile you are a bitch to them as well. Um hello? they just got dumped here like you did not a couple months before, the least you could do is TRY to be nice…and just BECAUSE SOMEONE HAS A TATTOO DOES NOT MAKE THEM AN ASSHOLE, stereotyping and i am not being joking-y about this just being serious. Okay so moving on, then okay i respect you stuck to your guns about the not mating thing in order to stay in the zoo you were okay, but then when you are dropped at a worse Zoo the first thing you do is kiss a guy you DON’T KNOW after just watching a bunch of people killed, and women being taken away by Vikings most likely to be raped until having millions of babies, MAKES SENSE TO ME?!, then you are still an ass to Kale (the guy she didn’t to want mate with), and Victoria who we don’t know how old she is but i think she is suppose to be pretty damn young. Like okay i get you are “big strong woman” who doesn’t need anyone’s help, and you are all “badass” but that doesn’t warrant you the right to be an asshole to a girl who is from Western times, (late 1800s), taken from her sister, and all this and be like SUCK IT UP BITCH, like what the hell? you ARE the bitch. Times like 10, then you are all like oohh James, even though he is a total ass, and you are all like eww Kale! even though he is the saving grace of this book. I literally i wanted to rip her hair out everytime she said Ugh, or made some mention on how “strong she was” (mentally not physically) because you aren’t you just are just stupid really. i am sorry to say this but she had to be one of the worst MCs i have come across in a very long time. i didn’t like her she was rude, mean, and thought the world of herself when she was not that good a person, if she hadn’t changed somewhat at the end, very suddenly as well, i would have given this book a 2.5 stars.

Now for Kale: The most amazing man ever. Seriously him and this plot was the saving grace of this book but i do hate him for being so in love with Emma when she obviously is stupid. Anyways letting that go for now. He does so much to protect her, and he doesn’t ever try to force himself onto her, in any sense, because if he really wanted to stay in that zoo he could have forced her to mate with him. He didn’t and he protected her more times than i count. Anyways this about Kale i will talk relationships in a bit anyways he is unbelievably sweet, and caring i loved him.

James is an ass as well. He is the cowboy.

Now lets talk about relationships and more reasons to hate Emma shall we?

Emma and James: Sure they are cute at first the whole writing on the walls with mud, i was like ahh that is so sweet, but when James escapes for the first time, he doesn’t even acknowledge her which pisses me off to no end because if that isn’t a clue right then and there i don’t know what is. Then when they first me he LEAVES Victoria on her own after Vikings had just come in and killed people and took women…problem? i think YES, and he kisses her, then he is unhelpful, acts like he this big tough man but never really checks up on Emma, if you can’t see that he is an ass after all that well he does something to secure that in place. And i don’t think that Emma should be “heartbroken” over a two minute relationship, sure she has the right be upset about what happened but not about the man.

Emma and Kale: after all that he does for her, and he does a lot, and you can see it in all his actions she still treats him like she is better than him, that he isn’t really worth her time, especially after they are punished the second time, and he comes and holds her how she didn’t fall in love with him right then and there is beyond me. And it takes her FOREVER to realize how she should feel about him, and it takes a couple tries too she almost gets there like two times before suddenly it slaps her in the face, and when she does realize how she feels she almost starts acting like a NICE person its crazy. Here is the thing Emma, YOU CAN BE COMPASSIONATE AND “STRONG” at the same time its crazy i know but seriously bitch i hated you because of you lack of compassion.

So the ending, well it ended with a happy ending that i am not so sure that Emma deserves but that might because i hate her so much. But i think this is suppose to be a series? And i don’t see how unless the next one is about new characters, and will i read that one, i honestly don’t know, because if the MC is anything like Emma or if it is Emma no i can’t do that to myself again i won’t.

if you are interested you can check out more reviews, or my status updates here on goodreads

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/596591048

