Image

 

Summary via Goodreads (yeah by Goodreads not me) : ““Then it is settled,” Felix declared. “Come hell or high water, when this is all over, at least one of us here will not make it out alive.”

When Bronwen Snow is pulled from her cottage in the middle of the night, she finds herself seeking the help of three mysterious boys who reside in an abandoned castle deep in the hillside. With only a hasty handwritten note and a vague sense of dread to guide her, Bronwen is forced to put her trust in the eccentric and willful Felix Cavara and his eternal curse – immortality.”

 

 

My Review: (this got a 4 out 5 from me on Goodreads)

And it was Beautiful.
Honest to God up until about 98% this book was going to get a 3.5 from me but the ending was, awe-inspiring that i don’t have the heart to stick with the 3.5, this book gets a solid four stars from me.

Two of my favorite lines – and this had a lot of good lines

“I’ve lived many years,” He said, “but I have never love so deeply, and so unconditionally until this very second.”

“I will live eternity loving you.”

Um, okay, wow. Still reeling over how beautiful of an ending that was. Usually i don’t talk about the ending until the end of my review, but holy hell i honestly believe that anyone should read this for the ending.

Okay time to get to my normal type of review, and find you a song! “If I Ever Leave This World Alive” by Flogging Molly and/or “You Are the Moon” by The Hush Sound

So first thoughts, well i think you should stop reading this review and go ahead and read this book thats what i think. But i will admit that there were quite a few things that bothered me about this book and i will go in more depth about that later. But it was light-hearted and fun. I was laughing and awwing at almost every turn. I think that if you are looking for a fast paced, and good read then you have found it.

Now with that said, let me tell you more about my feelings on the plot: Okay i have mentioned before that i love when books just jump right in the story, well there is jumping right into it and then there is jumping in the middle of everything and i was a put a little off balanced by how quickly this started. It was all, bam, slam, and go! And i was like WHOA, WHOA calm right down now! Give me a moment to get this around my head. i guess one of my big problems with it was the lack of any concern by the MC really that she is thrown right into this.
Oh because that summary sucks by the way here is my short version because i understand why it is the way it is:
Bronwen is awakened at midnight and told by her grandmother to go to the castle up on the hill and seek help. She must do this, she is in grave danger. There are three boys, well boys is a very objective term i promise you ;), curses, danger, humor, and all around fun!
So that is my summary i hope you enjoyed that… i know i did. I don’t like doing summaries i don’t want to accidentally give anything away. Okay so going back to what i was talking about, i was really unnerved on how well Bronwen was taking everything and she never asked once, WHY the hell is she in trouble? Yeah don’t worry you have to wait sometime to find out. Deal. It was more than that, it is a hard thing to do so much humor and trying to throw in serious moments as well, and there were quite a few scenes in this book that achieved that, other times it fell a little flat for me. I was wondering how sincere the moment truly was, you know? Well you don’t because you haven’t read the book yet which i don’t understand why you haven’t. Really i truly believe all the things that bothered me was truly worth it all. Okay so i guess that was all that really bothered me. Oh well there was some parts that seemed really anti-climactic, but oh wellll.
I will say this, the plot was like i said fast paced which was really nice because i like a book that keeps you moving and on your toes. I loved the humor that was in the book, seriously yay! And again that ending! OMGOSH! swooning.

Okay characters!

Bronwen: while i am still pissed that she was SO willing just to accept things as they were right off the bat because i mean, if that happened to me i would be demanding answers until i was blue in the face or Felix was on the ground holding his manly bits because i just beat the shit out of him. But hey that is just me. I liked Bronwen though for the most part, she was truly an amazing character. She was self-less, and very caring. She was sweet but strong. She was funny, and i really don’t recall her going into those moments that every MC seems to have when they are teenagers, that being them going, “oh i am soooo ugly!” “how could he possibly like me?!” yeah no i don’t think she does that. At least i don’t recall her doing that… hmm i am not sure. But either way i still liked her even if she does do it and i just don’t remember.

Felix: At first i think i hated him, i think i truly hated him. Then i started to like him, then i started to love him, and then i started to doubt my feelings for him because as much as i loved his non-broody like personality, thank god we finally have a light-hearted MC man! OH god! I like a man who can make me laugh- is that so wrong? It might also help he was black hair, and HOT! what? no but seriously he was. then i loved him again, and i think i sort of hate him right at the moment but at the same time i don’t. i think you can label our “non-existent” relationship as complicated if you want, that might be easier. Oh and my, my this boy is a smart one, but secrets dont make friends my friend!

